Skip to Main Content
The Library

Latin American Studies Online: Articles

Accessing Articles Online and Setting up Alerts!

Once you find citations to some interesting articles, click https://lgimages.s3.amazonaws.com/data/imagemanager/13635/uc-elinks_mini1.gif find the article online.  This will also take you to more information about finding articles in the few journals that we don't have online. 

A great way to keep up with new periodical publications is to use BrowZine to create customized list of your favorite scholarly, peer-reviewed journals and News Sources (64 max), which you can access on the web (via BrowZine.com), through a mobile app, or both as it syncs your account across all devices. 

Subject or Regionally Specific Databases Useful for Research in Latin American Studies

americanismo (CEEIB and Redial)

Portal providing access to Latin American resources identified by two scholarly networks dedicated to scientific and academic cooperation between Spain and Latin America: the Consejo Español de Estudios Iberoamericano (CEEIB) and the Red Europea de Documentación de Información (Redial) sobre América Latina. Includes links to online periodicals, unpublished presentations, digital libraries, and bibliographic databases.

ClasePeriodica 

CLASE indexes articles published in over 1200 Latin American journals in the social sciences and humanities. PERIODICA covers over 1400 Latin American journals in science and technology. The merged database has over 400,00 citations dating back to 1975.

Consejo Latinoamericano de Ciencias Sociales (CLACSO) Virtual Library Database

Contains the publications of 159 research organizations in Latin America and the Caribbean that form the membership of CLACSO. Spanish Language.

Dialnet

Carries over 1100 open access e-journals, primarily written and published in the Spanish language. Dialnet is produced and hosted by the Universidad de La Rioja in Spain.

Handbook of Latin American Studies

The Handbook of Latin American Studies is an annotated bibliography of Latin American Studies literature produced by research librarians at the Library of Congress.
For the print version, see:
Handbook of Latin American studies. Austin [etc.] : University of Texas Press [etc.].
Geisel Reference, Request from SRLF ; Reference, Geisel Floor2 West, Offsite (SRLF) ; F1408 .H33 ; Library Use Only, AVAILABLE
 

HAPI: Hispanic American Periodicals Index 

1970-present. Lists journal articles on Central and South America, Mexico, the Caribbean, the U.S.-Mexico border region, and Hispanics in the U.S.

LAPOP

Vanderbilt University's LAPOP carries out surveys of public opinion in the Americas. Every two years it carries out the AmericasBarometer survey (which FSU subscribes to), which currently covers all 26 Latin American countires in North, Central and South America, and the Caribbean. Each year also it publishes dozens of academic studies and policy-relevant papers on more focused topics.

Latindex

Sistema regional de información en linea para Revistas científicas de América Latina, el Caribe, Espana y Portugal; Regional system of online information for scientific magazines of Latin America, the Caribbean, Spain and Portugal. Does not index at the article level. Allows for browsing and searching of periodicals by title, subject, region, country, and publisher. Excellent source to verify publication information.

REDALYC

Red de Revistas Cientificas de America Latina y el Caribe, Espana y Portugal (Web of Scientific Magazines of Latin America and the Caribbean, Spain, and Portugal). Does not index at the article level. Allows for browsing and searching of periodicals by title, subject, region, country, and publisher. Excellent source to verify publication information.

SciELO

Scientific Electronic Library Online, covering over 400,000 articles from 1000 academic journals published in Latin America.

[Brazil] Fundação Getulio Vargas (FGV) Centro de Pesquisa e Documentação de História Contemporânea (CPDOC) do Brasil

Center of Research and Documentation for the Contemporary History of Brazil

[Central America] Academico Enlace Centroamerica

Portal to published and non-published Central American research resources, institutes and organizations.

[Central America] Metabase: Bibliografía en Red

MetaBase se permite accesar y ubicar recursos bibliográficos disponibles en bibliotecas y centros de documentación en Centroamérica.
Encuentra una biblioteca por el URL: http://www.metabase.net/busqueda2bib.phtml?qm=a
Pone el programa en su computadora por el URL: http://www.metabase.net/acerca/

[Central America] Central American Journals Online

[Central America] Repositorio Centroamericano

The SIIDCA-CSUCA discoverer provides access to the contents and complete texts of institutional repositories of CSUCA's universities.

More General Databases Useful for Latin American Studies Research

Please note -- the following are alphabetized, except for a couple of groups by theme (Film Resources and Music Resources) which you will find at the end

Academic Search Complete Licensed by UCSD

Multidisciplinary database that indexes and abstracts articles in more than 10,900 journals and other publications in English, Spanish, German, French, Italian and Portuguese; full-text is available for over 5300 journals.

Anthropology Plus  Licensed by UCSD

Indexing database for anthropology, archaeology & related topics. Indexes articles in 2500+ scholarly journals, 1870 to present. Combines databases: Anthropological Literature (Harvard/Tozzer) and Anthropological Index (Royal Anthropological Institute)

Bibliography of the History of Art

Indexes and abstracts art-related books, conference proceedings and dissertations, exhibition and dealer's catalogs, and articles from more than 2,500 periodicals covering European and American art from late antiquity to 2009. For more recent publications (2008- ), use the International Bibliography of Art.

Bibliography of Native North Americans Licensed by UCSD

Access to journal articles, books, and other publications covering all aspects of native American culture and history from the 1500s to present. Includes Latin American (not just Mexican) material.

Bibliography of World Slavery

Lists about 25,000 scholarly works published since 1900in all academic disciplines and in all western European languages on slavery and slaving, worldwide and throughout human history, including modern times.

Border and migration studies online Licensed by UCSD

A collection that explores and provides historical background on more than thirty key worldwide border areas, including: U.S. and Mexico; the European Union; Afghanistan; Israel; Turkey; The Congo; Argentina; China; Thailand; and others. Featuring at completion 100,000 pages of text, 175 hours of video, and 1,000 images, the collection is organized around fundamental themes associated with border and migration issues.

Business Source Complete ​Licensed by UCSD

Dates of coverage vary, some journals back to early 20th century. Abstracts and full text in virtually all subject areas related to Business, Management and Finance. Journal and magazine articles; also books, industry reports, company profiles, SWOT analysis, much more

CIAO: Columbia International Affairs Online Licensed by UCSD

Full text of working papers, conference proceedings, policy briefs, economic indicators, and other resources in international affairs.

CINAHL Plus with Full Text (Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature)

Communication & Mass Media Complete Licensed by UCSD

Coverage varies, but some back to early 1900s. Articles in communication, mass media, linguistics, and film studies. CMMC offers cover-to-cover ("core") indexing and abstracts for over 370 journals, and selected ("priority") coverage of over 230 more, for a combined coverage of over 600 titles. Many journals have indexing, abstracts, PDFs and searchable cited references from their first issues to the present (dating as far back as 1915).

Communication Abstracts Licensed by UCSD

1963-present. Abstracts articles, reports, papers, books from a variety of publishers and research institutions in all areas of communication studies (mass, interpersonal and new communication technologies).

Communication Studies: A Sage Full-Text Collection

Contemporary Women's Issues Licensed by UCSD

Abstracts and some full-text articles from more than 1500 publications, offering a multidisciplinary focus on gender issues.

CQ Press Electronic Library Licensed by UCSD

Find reporting, analysis on US Congressional issues in the news and coverage of the status of bills, votes and amendments, floor and committee actiity and backroom maneuvering. Includes: CQ Almanac, CQ Researcher Plus Archive, CQ Weekly, Political Handbook of the World, Politics in America, and Supreme Court Yearbook. All include information on Latin America particularly in the context of US-Latin American relations.

Criminology: A SAGE Full-text Collection Licensed by UCSD

Includes full-text of 17 journals published by SAGE and participating societies, some journals go back 20 years. Subjects covered: Criminal Justice, Juvenile Delinquency & Justice, Corrections, Policing, Forensic Psychology, Family & Domestic Violence.

Defining Gender, 1450-1910 Licensed by UCSD

Defining Gender is a collection of over 50,000 images from 669 original documents relating to Gender Studies. The sources come from libraries and archives throughout the world, including many from the Bodleian Library in Oxford, England.

EconLit Licensed by UCSD

Abstracts journal articles, books, dissertations, and working papers in economics. New records added monthly. Produced by American Economic Association.
Economist Intelligence Unit Portal
Provides full-text access to over 20 journals published by Sage on topics in education such as curriculum and theory, research methods, diversity, counseling, budgeting, law, standards, and technology. Coverage for some titles dates from 1976. Updated monthly

Education Source Licensed by UCSD

1929-present. Includes more than 2,850 academic periodicals, full text for more than 1,800 journals, 550 books and monographs, education-related conference papers, book reviews and over 100,000 controlled and cross-referenced names of educational tests. Coverage spans all levels of education from early childhood to higher education.

eHRAF Archaeology

Empire Online

ERIC (Education Resources Information Center) Licensed by UCSD

1966-present. Sponsored by the U.S. Dept of Education; provides access to educational-related literature. Coverage includes journal articles and non-journal sources in education. ERIC is updated monthly.

Ethnic NewsWatch Licensed by UCSD

1960-present. Full text U.S. ethnic community newspapers, newsletters, magazines. Includes African-American, Arab/Middle Eastern, Asian-Pacific, European-American, Hispanic, Jewish, Native-American. Searchable in English and Spanish.

Family & Society Studies Worldwide Licensed by UCSD

Publications indexed are drawn from a wide range of social science disciplines including anthropology, sociology, psychology, demography, health sciences, education, economics, law, history, and social work. Covers 1970-present.

FRANCIS Licensed by UCSD

International index to journal articles published from 1984 to present in the humanities and social sciences, with special strength in religion, anthropology, history of art, literature, economics.
Gender and Land Rights Database

GenderWatch Licensed by UCSD

A full text database of publications that focus on the impact of gender across a broad spectrum of subject areas. 1970s-present.

HeinOnline 

Full text of law reviews/legal periodicals plus primary sources such as the Code of Federal Regulations; Federal Register; Foreign Relations of the United States (FRUS); Treaties and Agreements Library; United States Code; U.S. Attorney General Opinions; U.S. Congressional Documents; U.S. Federal Agency Documents, Decisions, and Appeals; U.S. Federal Legislative History Library; U.S. Statutes at Large; World Constitutions Illustrated. Includes additional databases: National Survey of State Laws; Religion and the Law; Subject Compilations of State Laws; Women and the Law (Peggy); World Treaty Library

Historical Abstracts Licensed by UCSD

1954-present. International database for research on history of all regions (except the U.S. and Canada) from 1450 to the current decade.

IMF eLibrary  Licensed by UCSD

Provides comprehensive access to International Financial Statistics (IFS), Balance of Payments Statistics (BOPS), Direction of Trade Statistics (DOTS), and Government Finance Statistics (GFS) databases. Also provides access to the International Monetary Fund's recent publications, including periodicals, books, analytical papers, and statistical tools.

JSTOR Licensed by UCSD

Search by subject or browse full text of more than 2000 titles, predominantly scholarly journals in social sciences, humanities, and sciences, to their earliest issues. Many titles extend as far back as late 19th or early 20th centuries; most recent 3-5 years often not included.

Military & Government Collection Licensed by UCSD

Offers current news on all branches of the military and government through a collection of periodicals, academic journals, and other content pertinent to the increasing needs of those sites.

MLA International Bibliography Licensed by UCSD

The primary database of citations to journal articles, monographs, book chapters, and dissertations in the fields of non-Classical
literatures and folklore. Important source for linguistics and non-technical aspects of theater & film. Ca. 1890 - present.

PAIS Archive Licensed by UCSD

Lists articles, books, and government publications on issues of public policy, including politics, government, economy, marine policy, law.

PAIS International (Public Affairs Information Service) Licensed by UCSD

1972-present. Lists print and electronic articles, books, and government publications on issues of public policy, including politics, government, economy, marine policy, law.

PolicyArchive

PsycARTICLES Licensed by UCSD

1894-present. A database of full-text articles from more than 100 journals published by the American Psychological Assoc., the APA Educational Publ. Foundation, the Canadian Psychological Assoc., Hogrefe Publishing Group, and the National Institute of Mental Health. Updated weekly. Articles are indexed in PsycINFO.

PsycINFO Licensed by UCSD

1597-present. From the American Psychological Association. Provides access to scholarly literature in the psychological, social, behavioral, and health sciences. Includes journal articles, books, chapters, and dissertations. Includes approximately 2,500 journals. Updated weekly.

Psychology: A SAGE Full-Text Collection Licensed by UCSD

1941-present. Provides full text of over 30 journals published by SAGE and participating societies. Articles are indexed in PsycINFO.

Project Muse: Scholarly Journals Online Licensed by UCSD

Search by subject or browse full text of scholarly journals in the arts and humanities, social sciences and mathematics. Coverage begins 1995 or later, depending on the publication.

Sociological Abstracts Licensed by UCSD

1963-present. Abstracts journal articles, monographs, dissertations, conference proceedings, other research covering sociology, social work, and related social sciences. Also includes selected web resources.

SSRN: Social Science Research Network/Political Science Network

TRAC: Terrorism Research & Analysis Consortium Licensed by UCSD

TRAC provides detailed profiles of terrorist groups and vulnerable regions. Also includes articles on ideologies, targets, tactics, and current chatter. For more information, click the "How to Use" link in the database

Web of Science Licensed by UCSD

Indexes over 18,000 journals in all subjects (coverage back to 1900 for science and social science journals), as well as 80,000 books and more than 180K conference proceedings. Includes the popular "cited reference search" to identify papers which have cited a previously published work or author. Can also sort by "times cited" and find related articles based on commonly cited works.

Women's Studies International Licensed by UCSD

1972-present. Abstracts of journal articles, books and other materials drawn from a variety of women's studies databases, including Womens Studies Abstracts (1984-present).

World Bank e-Library  Licensed by UCSD

The World Bank e-library is an online, fully cross-searchable portal of World Bank documents. The collection consists of World Bank publications and Policy Research Working Papers, plus each new book and paper as they are published.

Worldwide Political Science Abstracts Licensed by UCSD

1975-present. Research within the political science discipline and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration/policy. Use the UC-eLinks button to find full text, print, and/or request the item from another library.

FILM:

New York Times Film Reviews

1960-present complete; selective 1929-1959. Film reviews published by New York Times critics, may be searched by genre, critic, and country of origin. Free registration with Times site is required.
Film Index International

Film Index International is a major information resource for entertainment films and personalities produced in collaboration with the British Film Institute.

Film and Television Literature Index Licensed by UCSD

1987-present; limited 1970-86. Covers writing about film and television for scholars, students and the general public. Subjects include film & television theory, preservation & restoration, writing, production, cinematography, technical aspects, reviews
Database of anthropological documentary films, covering every region of the world, featuring the work of many influential documentary filmmakers of the 20th century. Includes transcripts, interviews, previously unreleased raw footage, field notes, study guides, etc. As of August 2015, has 1,844 videos (1,319 hours). Individual films are also cataloged in roger.ucsd.edu - search on title "Alexander Street Press. Ethnographic online videos"

Kanopy Licensed by UCSD

Includes over 26,000 videos available. The videos come from leading producers such as the BBC, California Newsreel, Criterion Collection, First Run Features, Kino Lorber and PBS, with more content added each year. Many of the films are from independent and specialty producers, with a focus on documentary films.

LGBT Studies in Video Licensed by UCSD

LGBT Studies in Video is a cinematic survey of the lives of lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender people as well as the cultural and political evolution of the LGBT community. This collection features award-winning documentaries, interviews, archival footage, and select feature films exploring LGBT history, gay culture and subcultures, civil rights, marriage equality, LGBT families, AIDS, transgender issues, religious perspectives on homosexuality, global comparative experiences, and other topics.

MUSIC:

International Index to Music Periodicals (IIMP)

Full texts of articles in a range of music journals and magazines. Now known as Music Periodicals Database.

International Index to the Performing Arts (Full-Text) (IIPA-FT) Licensed by UCSD

An index to over 200 journals and magazines in the fields of dance, drama, film, theater, opera, puppetry, circus, and other forms of performance art.

Music Online: Contemporary World Music Licensed by UCSD

A growing database of audio tracks to include reggae, world beat, world fusion, Balkanic jazz, African film, Arab swing and jazz, and traditional genres such as Indian classical, fado, flamenco, klezmer, zydeco, gospel, and gagaku.
Music Online: Smithsonian Global Sound

Smithsonian Global Sound for Libraries, produced in partnership with Smithsonian Folkways Recordings, is a virtual encyclopedia of the world's musical and aural traditions. The collection provides educators, students, and interested listeners with an unprecedented variety of online resources that support the creation, continuity, and preservation of diverse musical forms.

Music Online: The Garland Encyclopedia of World Music Licensed by UCSD

Articles on ethnic and folk music worldwide, describing national and specific musical genres, practices, instruments, performances, and the cultural context.

Music Periodicals Database

This database provides indexing and abstracts for several hundred international music periodicals from over 20 countries, plus full text for more than 140 of the indexed journals. The majority of the records in the database are from the most recent ten years of publication. Some complete journal runs are included, with indexing back to 1874. Covers the full spectrum of subjects and all aspects of music, including music education, performance, ethnomusicology, musical theatre, theory, popular music forms and composition

Naxos Music Library

Primarily classical music with over 100,000 tracks from 6,500 CDs. Includes the complete collections for Naxos and several smaller labels. New titles added monthly. Also includes jazz, pop and rock, and music from around the world.

Oxford Music Online Licensed by UCSD

The most comprehensive online music encyclopedia, combining access to Grove Music Online with the Encyclopedia of Popular Music and other reference resources.

Open Music Library

Over 1,000,000 articles from 650+ journals, many of them peer reviewed, 200,000 scores, and 4,000 videos.

RILM abstracts of musical literature

An international scope and focus on scholarly publications. Coverage is 1967 to date for the current database and the early 1800s for a combination of RILM and RILM Retro.