Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Latin American Studies Online: Access to eBooks

Important Information for Accessing Ebooks

1. Please make sure you have downloaded the VPN client and have it set for allthruUCSD,  See the necessary directions/links here.  To make sure you have properly set up your VPN, test it here.

2. Please make sure you are using the best browser for your particular computer.  Unless you are using an actual PC, you probably need to use the most native browser to that system -- such as Safari for Apple, Microsoft Edge for a Surface Pro, and Chrome for a Chromebook. 

MORE HELP USING UC LIBRARY SEARCH:

There are many resources to use to find books at UCSD, as well as in the broader San Diego, California, and Global Community.  UC Library Search (displayed and accessed at the center of the UC Library Homepage) allows users to search the local UCSD and UC wide catalogs, as well as WorldCat – which identifies holdings across the globe.  UC Library Search also incorporates records from many databases (so you can search for articles at the same time that you search for books, microform, government documents, and more) and it also includes faceting, which helps you to narrow down the results of your search by format, subject, or other criteria.  See also the Keyword Search Strategies and Tools Box by Scrolling Down on the Tips for Effective Online Searching tab of this guide.

PLEASE CONSULT THE ATTACHED GOOGLE DOCUMENT FOR DETAILED INSTRUCTIONS ON USING UC LIBRARY SEARCH.

Additional Resources

Please see the Guide to eBooks for important information on 

  • searching for and accessing UCSD ebooks in general
  • major ebook collections that UCSD subscribes to
  • the differences between (and advantages and disadvantages presented by) different platforms
  • citing ebooks

See the Dissertations & Theses Box At the Bottom of This Page (i.e. Below)

 

Temporarily Expanded, Free Access to eBook Collections

Continuing e-book collections with free access:

  • Google Books ~ Advanced Book Search: Search the full text of over 15 million books. Most books published after 1923 are not available to read online, but can be previewed and located in libraries.
  • HathiTrust: Partnership of academic and research organizations offering a collection of millions of digitized materials from libraries around the world, include the UC San Diego Library.  In addition to the titles to which we normally have access, we now have Emergency Temporary Access Service (ETAS), giving us access to 20.30% more of the Hathi Trust collection.  In order to access, you need to login at www.hathitrust.org using active directory.  Once you've done that, you can search for the title and then borrow it by clicking on "temporary access."  For more help, consult the following links: ETAS overviewpolicies and terms of service for member libraries, and information/FAQs
  • CQ Press Electronic Library Licensed by UCSD  Find reporting, analysis on US Congressional issues in the news and coverage of the status of bills, votes and amendments, floor and committee actiity and backroom maneuvering. Includes: CQ Almanac, CQ Researcher Plus Archive, CQ Weekly, Political Handbook of the World, Politics in America, and Supreme Court Yearbook. All include information on Latin America particularly in the context of US-Latin American relations.
  • IMF e-Library
  • IMF-World Bank Library
  • UN Collection on Critical Global Issues

Vendors who have temporarily expanded access to e-resources:

  • See the UCSD Open Access Research Guide which includes a page on "Vendor Love," featuring vendors who have temporarily expanded access to e-resources
  • Openedition.orghttps://www.openedition.org/ (which provides access to nearly 10,000 ebooks and 535 journals mostly in French but also in Spanish, Italian, German and English)
  • Digitalia: http://www.digitaliapublishing.com/ebooks (a major provider of Spanish language ebooks which is currently providing free loans to their entire collection.  UCSD owns a number of these, but if you find something particularly useful, please let me know so I can purchase for the permanent collection if we don’t have it already).
  • Redshelf (the platform UCSD Bookstore uses): https://studentresponse.redshelf.com/
  • Vitalsourcehttps://get.vitalsource.com/vitalsource-helps
  • Cambridge University Press Online Textbooks via Cambridge Core (nearly 780 unlimited-use titles) until June 15, 2020.  Please note that these works are provided as special institutional access, not open access.  Thus, users from off-campus must use UCSD AnyConnect client VPN with the 2-step-secured allthruucsd setting, or the campus EasyConnect Web VPN, following instructions on this pagehttps://ucsd.libguides.com/webvpn/basics.  Please also note that these textbooks are rendered from HTML and do not provide take-away PDF chapter downloads, thus it is necessary to stay connected to read through a book. Here’s the main Cambridge page, with subject lists, for Textbooks: https://www.cambridge.org/core/what-we-publish/textbooks.  Title cataloging is also in process (so that you will be able to find and access the titles in ROGER).

Dissertations and Theses

Dissertations are unpublished book-length manuscripts completed in order to earn a Ph.D.  Master's Degree theses are generally shorter, focused and well-documented research papers.  Various subject-based databases index and abstract dissertations and some theses.  These include:

ProQuest Dissertations and Theses  Licensed by UCSD

The Dissertations and Theses database from ProQuest cites 2.3 million works issued by graduate institutions in North America and beyond from 1861 to the present. PDF full texts of most UC dissertations starting about 1997 are available online at no charge.

University of California ETDs

To limit to ETDs, click on the thesis box in the menu on the left. To limit to a particular campus, select the drop down option and the campus you want to search.  In the upper right hand corner, you can search by keywords -- for example anthropology master to limit to Anthropology M.A. theses.  If you know the name of the athor or title of the thesis or dissertation you are looking for, you can also resort that way and browset through to find it alphabetically.

Additional ETD Links   

Use this UCSD LibGuide for more links to ETD (electronic theses and dissertations) repositories across the globe.

Undergraduate Theses -- places to search and access include: