Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Latin American Studies Online: Early Latin American Books

Digital Exhibits on Early Latin American Books

Southern Methodist University's Bridwell Library: Faith and Devotion in Mexico 

Curated exhibit on Catholic devotional beliefs and practices in Mexico in the eighteenth and nineteenth centuries as documented in images, novenas, sacred poetry, historical accounts, and a variety of other sources.

Southern Methodist University's Bridwell Library: "Heresy and Error": The Ecclesiastical Censorship of Books, 1400-1800 

See especially the section on censorship in Mexico

Digital Resources (Libraries and Finding Aids/Collection Guides) Featuring Early Latin American Books

Primeros Libros de las Americas 

Collaborative project among international libraries which allows researchers to search for digitized versions of 16th c. Latin American books by owning institution (library), language, year, printer, author or keyword. There are also bibliographies available.

John Carter Brown [Brown University] Library Digital Book Collections 

Collections Include:
+ Indigenous Languages Collection
+ Portugal and Brazil Collection
+ Spanish American Collection

Catálogo Colectivo de Marcas de Fuego 

Collaborative Project of Mexican Libraries to help readers identify the Marcas de Fuego (brands) various institutions and printers used on early colonial Mexican books.

Texas A&M University Libraries Digital Book Reader 

Digitized copies of 16th century texts at Texas A&M University Libraries

Southern Methodist University's Bridwell Library Dios y Su Pueblo 

Guide to Bridwell Library's collection of nearly 400 Mexican religious imprints.

Ibero-American Electronic Text Series 

Project developed at the University of Wisconsin-Madison devoted to Latin American and Iberian works in the Humanities. Digitizes Latin American and Iberian texts from the Middle Ages to the present.