Research Experience for Undergraduates (REU): SURF Summer Program: Encyclopedias & Handbooks

Comprehensive overview of biodiversity (including marine diversity), the services it provides, and the measures to protect it. Major themes among the 400+ articles: evolution of biodiversity, systems for classifying and defining biodiversity, ecological patterns and theories of biodiversity, and an assessment of contemporary patterns and trends in biodiversity.

This comprehensive resource is a good place to start your research on all aspects of oceanography or marine sciences. The 3rd edition, for 2019, includes authoritative information arranged in 6 volumes covering marine biogeochemistry, marine life, ocean dynamics, seafloor processes, technology & instrumentation, and human impact in areas such as pollution and climate change.

This authoritative resource covers all aspects of atmospheric sciences with topics ranging from climate variability, air-sea interactions, global climate change, greenhouse gases, to weather prediction and the impact of climate on the oceans. There are almost 350 articles and over 1,900 figures and photographs presented, many in full-color. This is a good resource for anyone interested in the fields of atmospheric, climate, and environmental sciences.

This is a comprehensive, 15 volume, online encyclopedia that covers such topics as meteorites, planets, earth’s mantle, crust and core, surface & groundwater, marine geochemistry, sediments & sedimentary rocks, and organic geochemistry.

This is a comprehensive, 11 volume, online encyclopedia that covers such topics as earthquake seismology, mineral physics, geodesy, geomagnetism, crust, mantle and core dynamics, and evolution of the earth.

A great resource with topics arranged alphabetically, dictionary style, with helpful bibliographies at the end of each entry. The publishers introduce this encyclopedia by stating: "Modern reefs have evolved through the massive environmental changes of the Quaternary with long periods of exposure during glacially lowered sea level periods and short periods of interglacial growth. The entries in this encyclopedia condense the large amount of work carried out since Charles Darwin first attempted to understand reef evolution. Leading authorities from many countries have contributed to the entries covering areas of geology, geography and ecology, providing comprehensive access to the most up-to-date research on the structure, form and processes operating on Quaternary coral reefs.

This encyclopedia, know as eLS for short, is an easy to search, up-to-date collection of articles by scientists and scientific historians in the fields of biochemistry and physiology, cell biology, ecology, genetics, microbiology, molecular biology and virology.

The Encyclopedia of Earth (EoE) is an electronic reference about the Earth, its natural environments, and their interaction with society. The EoE is a free, expert-reviewed collection of content contributed by scholars, professionals, educators, practitioners and other experts. EOE content is mainly articles on topics, places, and biographies, plus international reports, brief definitions, and some eBooks, videos, and sound files. Topics covered range from biological diversity of living organisms, atmospheric sciences, biogeochemistry, oceanography, ecology, forestry, fisheries, marine biology, agriculture, aquaculture, to environmental engineering, environmental economics, and environmental sociology.

NOAA's National Centers for Environmental Information describes their great website as: "Climate Data Online (CDO) provides free access to NCDC's archive of global historical weather and climate data in addition to station history information. These data include quality controlled daily, monthly, seasonal, and yearly measurements of temperature, precipitation, wind, and degree days as well as radar data and 30-year Climate Normals."

This second edition was published in 2017 and is a very good introduction to climate change mitigation. It contains sections on assessment of greenhouse gas emissions, economics of international climate policy, carbon markets, implications of climate change for the petrochemical industry, impact of climate change on biodiversity, sea-level rise, and hazardous storms.

This publication is a collection of reports that were prepared and produced with support from the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA), through the Coral Reef Conservation Program. The reports, white papers, and sections in this publication are authored by specialists in the field and several conservation working groups. Edited by NOAA specialists, this publication is part of the NOAA Technical Memorandum series (NOS NCCOS 97) and the NOAA Technical Memorandum Coral Reef Conservation Program (#7).

This books is described as "a one-of-a-kind examination of oceans that offers important perspectives for researchers, practitioners, and academics in all marine-related fields." It addresses such topics as the role of oceans in the origin of life, tidal bore, thermal effects, ecosystem services, marine creatures, and nutraceutical and pharmaceutical resources. Also included is information on the origin of volcanic eruptions, earthquakes, tsunamis, internal waves and tidal bores.

This collection has over 440 marine and aquatic sciences full text handbooks. Easy to use and search interface and each book can be downloaded as PDF or read online. These books cover a variety of topics such as algae, biology & ecology of many sea creatures, marine ecosystems, fisheries, and marine toxicology.

This book covers conservation issues pertinent to major groups of marine organisms, such as sharks, marine turtles, seabirds and marine mammals; plus key habitats, from estuaries, wetlands and coral reefs to the deep sea; and from local and regional to international initiatives in marine conservation. A great resource for students and researchers that pays appropriate attention to the underlying marine biology and oceanography and how human activities impact marine ecosystems.

This book deals with biodiversity, habitat diversity, structures and food webs in various oceans of the world. It covers pelagic and benthic ecosystems, coral reefs and seagrass beds, and hydrothermal vents & ridges. With chapters dedicated to phytoplankton biodiversity, and coral ecosystems.

This book is for anyone enrolled in introductory geophysics courses who have a general background in the physical sciences. It can also be used as a reference book for graduate students and other researchers in the geological and geophysical sciences. This online version of the second edition has been revised to reflect the most recent advances in geophysical research.

This is the official website of the World Meteorological Organizaton. They describe their website as providing "OFFICIAL weather observations, weather forecasts and climatological information for selected cities supplied by National Meteorological & Hydrological Services (NMHSs) worldwide.The NMHSs make official weather observations in their respective countries. Links to their official weather service websites and tourism board/organization are also provided whenever available."