Skip to Main Content

Data Science Orientation: Find Books / Ebooks

UC Library Search


UC Library Search

Use the new UC Library Search to find books, journal articles, media, government documents and more from our Library collection as well as the other University of California Libraries.  The search from the Library homepage will search all of these collections, but you can use the Advanced Search or start on the UC Library Search homepage to search our collections only.

 

The Library Catalog option will limit your search to books, media, journals (but not articles), government documents, and anything else in our collection. You will get print AND online materials, unless you select "Available Online" under the Availability facet to the left.

Click on the title to bring up the full record to get the link for the ebook, the availability of the print book, or both.

 

O'Reilly for Higher Education

The Library licenses many ebook collections to support your research and learning while you're here at UC San Diego.

One collection in particular that may be useful is O'Reilly for Higher Education (OHE), an online collection of more than 40,000 ebooks, videos, and tutorials across multiple publishers (including O'Reilly), with an emphasis on computer science, data science, and engineering. This is a great resource for books and tutorials about Python, data analysis, and data science methodologies.

Unlike our other licensed online resources, OHE does not use VPN. However, you will still need to login with your Active Directory/email credentials and use the Duo 2-Step. 

Note that OHE is html only, so there are no pdf chapters or e-books you may save.  However, we have unlimited simultaneous user access for UC students and faculty/staff so you won't have to wait for an e-book to be returned.

If you have any questions about using O'Reilly Higher Education, please contact the Data Science Librarian.