Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Use these specialized encyclopedias as authoritative sources for general information on topics in physical oceanography, and related sciences. They provide information that you can use to learn more about a new subject, find introductory material for your papers, or to help you find ideas for research topics.
Computer Science encyclopedias & handbooks from Springer
Access to 40 specialized encyclopedias & handbooks covering varied topics such as algorithms; biometrics; cryptography; parallel computing; machine vision; multimedia; natural computing; database systems; robotics; intelligent vehicles.
Encyclopedia of Computational Mechanics
The Encyclopedia of Computational Mechanics provides the most comprehensive collection of knowledge about the theory and practice of computational mechanics.
Engineering encyclopedias & handbooks from Springer
Over 90 specialized encyclopedias & handbooks covering varied engineering topics including ecomaterials; satellite applications; solar & renewable energy; biometrics; machine vision; robotics; nanotechnology; intelligent & unmanned vehicles.
Treatise on Geochemistry
This is a comprehensive, 15 volume, online encyclopedia that covers such topics as meteorites, planets, earth’s mantle, crust and core, surface & groundwater, marine geochemistry, sediments & sedimentary rocks, and organic geochemistry.
Treatise on Geophysics
This is a comprehensive, 11 volume, online encyclopedia that covers such topics as earthquake seismology, mineral physics, geodesy, geomagnetism, crust, mantle and core dynamics, and evolution of the earth.
Encyclopedia of Ocean Sciences
This comprehensive resource is a good place to start your research on all aspects of oceanography. For example, it includes authoritative information on ecology, ecosystems, fisheries, geology, geosciences, marine chemistry, and paleoceanography.
These are only a few of the handbooks that are available online for you to use as background or introductory texts. Use UC Library Search to find more handbooks on your topics.
ASM Handbooks Online
Major reference work extensively covering the structure, properties, processing, performance, and evaluation of metals and nonmetallic engineering materials. Includes the 30-volume ASM Handbook series, the Engineered Materials Handbook Desk Edition and the Metals Handbook Desk Edition. [Years vary, from 2019 to a few in the late 1980s; ASM updating ~2 volumes/year]
Searchable full-text editions of over 1,700 CRC and Chapman & Hall texts, handbooks, dictionaries & tables covering mathematics & engineering mathematics. For Probability & Statistics topics, use STATSnetBASE.
Searchable full-text editions of over 1,100 CRC and Chapman & Hall texts, handbooks and tables covering a variety of topics in statistics & probability, with applications in health, business, environmental, biological & physical sciences and engineering. Includes Concise Handbook of Experimental Methods for the Behavioral and Biological Sciences; Handbook of Statistical Analyses Using R (also Using C, Using S-Plus, and Using SPSS)
Mechanical Engineers' Handbook
Articles on Materials and Engineering Mechanics, Instrumentation and Controls, Manufacturing and Management, and Energy and Power.
Synthesis Digital Library of Engineering and Computer Science
Short lecture-sized books that synthesize important research topics, with more analysis & depth than the typical research article. Emphasis on general engineering, electrical engineering, computer science, biomedical engineering, human-centered informatics, and human language technologies. [2005 to present]
Introduction to Geochemistry: Principles and Applications
This book emphasizes the quantitative aspects of geochemistry. There are 12 chapters divided into 4 parts: crystal chemistry, chemical reactions, isotope geochemistry, and the "Earth Supersystem", an overview of the origin and evolution of the solid Earth and atmosphere & hydrosphere.