Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Mexican Studies: Country Information on Mexico

Guide to Resources for Research on Mexico at UCSD and the greater San Diego-Baja Region and beyond

Related Research Guides

Many of these resources are taken from the Statistics/Data Tab of the UCSD Library International Government Information Research Guide which points to resources to find great background information and statistics on countries around the world. Using such resources is a helpful place to start research on any Country.

The United Nations page on this guide also provides guidance on methods and resources to search for significant country information.

Online Links to Mexican Government Resources

Mexican Republic (Federal) Government Website 

Click on "Dependencias" to get to

  • 19 separate government agency websites (dependencias), including: Gobernación; Relaciones Exteriores; Defensa Nacional; Marina; Hacienda y Crédito Público; Desarrollo Social; Medio Ambiente y Recursos Naturales; Energía; Economía; Educación; Agricultura, Ganadería, Desarrollo Rural, Pesca y Alimentación; Comunicaciones y Transportes; Función Pública; Salud; Trabajo y Previsión Social; Desarrollo Agrario, Territorial y Urbano; Turismo; Cultura; Consejería Jurídica del Ejecutivo Federal; Procuraduría General de la República
  • 231 Entidades de la Administracion Publica Federal y Empresas productivas del estado 
  • 32 Entidades federativas (Mexican Provinces or States)

Official Website for Chamber of Deputies in Mexico 

Official Website for Senate in Mexico 

Official Website for Mexican Supreme Court 

Official Website for Presidency of the Republic of Mexico 

 

Resources for Basic Mexico Country Information

Great Sources for Quick Profiles/Statistical Information/Great STARTING POINTS:

US State Department Countries & Regions 

Provides access to Background Information, Fact Sheets, General and Subject-Specific Regional and Country Reports, and Travel Advisory and Information.

Europa World Plus Licensed by UCSD 

Economic, political, historical, and geographic profiles of countries and global regions. Contact info for political, business, media, and cultural agencies and officials. Search or browse by country, region, organization, or people. Access limited to 1 user at a time. Try again later if refused.

CIA World Fact Book 

Latest edition of annual survey, with profiles of all countries and territories from the U.S. Central Intelligence Agency.

 Human Development Report 

Full text of UNDP Human Development Reports, from 1990 to the next to most current year, plus national Human Development Reports and an excellent statistics section on industrialized and developing countries.

Additional Resources Listed Alphabetically:

Country Studies from the Library of Congress 

Each online book contains historical and cultural background information on the country it covers. Formerly known as the Area Handbooks from the Department of the Army.

Economist Intelligence Unit (UCSD Portal) Licensed by UCSD 

Portal to UCSD-subscribed EIU content. Includes searchable online archive (1996- ) and feed of Economist Intelligence Unit (EIU) global country publications. Strong on current political, economic, and business affairs worldwide. Click on the "Country Tab" for information pertaining to a particular country.

EMIS Intelligence (formerly ISI Emerging Markets) Licensed by UCSD 

Provides economic studies, company & industry reports, country risk, statistics and political news on emerging market countries. Covers public & private companies & global industry reports. Includes interactive data analysis tools & news alerts. Excellent China coverage. Click on the "Countries" tab for country-specific information.  

Geo World Bank 

A mashup of World Bank data with Google Maps. Has basic data, news, and project information for every country in which the World Bank is involved.

Latin Macro Watch 

Macroeconomic and financial database mapping indicators on economic activity, fiscal and external accounts, financial markets, and forecasts. Historical data at monthly, quarterly, and annual frequencies are available starting in 1990 and covers the 26 borrowing members of the Inter-American Development Bank.

 Latinnews Licensed by UCSD

 

Includes focused, special reports, such as commodity reports, regional reports, and security and strategic reviews.

The MacroDataGuide 

The MacroDataGuide is a tool that has been especially developed by the Norwegian Social Science Data Services to save researchers and students time and energy in their search for high quality social science macro data. While the main distinction is most often drawn between micro and macro data, the term 'meso data' is also sometimes used. Meso data generally refers to data on collective and cooperative actors such as commercial companies, organizations or political parties.

Military Balance 

Annual publication with detailed statistical information about the world's militaries including budget, enlisted personnel, and firepower.

Political Risk Yearbook Licensed by UCSD 

The Political Risk Yearbook is an annual publication that “contains all 100 Political Risk Services’ Country Reports updated to the previous December, demarcated along regional lines, using the globally-recognized Coplin-O’Leary political risk rating methodology.” Included in Business Source Complete.

UN Member States On the Record 

Provides direct access to official documents reflecting the views of United Nations Member States by bringing together in one place documents available elsewhere.

US AID 

The U.S. Agency for International Development (USAID) is an independent agency that provides economic, development and humanitarian assistance around the world in support of the foreign policy goals of the United States. The site provides an overview of each country where the agency does work.

Useful PRINT Publications on Mexico

Agenda estadística, Estados Unidos Mexicanos 

Call Number: Back copies on Geisel Floor 6 and Most recent copy at Reference Floor2 West HA761 .A26

Publication Date: Aguascalientes, Ags : Instituto Nacional de Estadística, Geografía e Informática,

Anuario estadístico de los Estados Unidos Mexicanos 

Call Number: 1930-1976: Microforms, Geisel Floor2 West XX 786, 1977-2009: Geisel Floor6 HA762 .A3

Publication Date: [México] : Secretaría de Programación y Presupuesto, Coordenación General de los Servicios Nacionales de Estadística, Geografía e Informática,

Most Recent Edition available online:
http://www3.inegi.org.mx/sistemas/biblioteca/ficha.aspx?upc=702825169138

Estadísticas históricas de México 

Call Number: Geisel Reference Floor 2 West HA765 .E88 1994

Publication Date: Aguascalientes, Ags., México : Instituto Nacional de Estadística, Geografía e Informática, 1994

México en cifras by Sergio Aguayo, editor, con la colaboración de María Yolanda Argüello y Alejandro Cabello 

Call Number: Geisel Reference Floor 2 West HA765 .M483 2002

Publication Date: México, D.F. : Editorial Hechos Confiables : Grijalbo, 2002

Mexico data bank = México, banco de datos by Sidney Wise & Hugo Ortiz 

Call Number: Geisel: Most recent issue Reference Floor2 West; Past Issues Floor 6 HC131 .M48

Publication Date: México, D.F. : Mexican Financial Advisory Service, 1989-2003

México por entidades federativas by José Silvestre Méndez y Santiago Zorrilla 

Call Number: Geisel Reference Floor 2 West HC135 .M52524 1986

Publication Date: México, D.F. : Ediciones Océano, 1986

Mexico : an encyclopedia of contemporary culture and history by Don M. Coerver, Suzanne B. Pasztor, and Robert M. Buffington 

Call Number: Geisel Floor 6 F1234 .C67 2004

Publication Date: Santa Barbara, Calif. : ABC-CLIO, 2004

*Also available as ebook

Encyclopedia of modern Mexico by David W. Dent 

Call Number: Geisel Reference Floor 2 West F1234 .D364 2002

Publication Date: Lanham, Md. : Scarecrow Press, 2002

Encyclopedia of Mexico : history, society & culture by editor, Michael S. Werner ; cartographer, Tom Willcockson ; indexer, AEIOU, Inc. ; commissioning editor, Robert M. Salkin 

Call Number: Geisel Reference Floor West F1210 .E63 1997

Publication Date: Chicago : Fitzroy Dearborn Publishers, 1997

Mexico business : the portable encyclopedia for doing business with Mexico by James L. Nolan [and others] 

Call Number: Geisel Reference Floor 2 West F1210 .E63 1997

Publication Date: San Rafael, Calif., USA : World Trade Press, 1994

Acronyms commonly used in Mexico by Las Cruces N.M. : Joint Border Research Institute, New Mexico State University, 1987 

Call Number: Geisel Reference Floor 2 W HF1002.5 .A37 1987

*Is also included in Haithi Trust with limited searching

Foreign companies in Mexico yearbook 

Call Number: Geisel: Most Recent Reference Floor 2 W; Back Copies Floor 6 HG4092.Z65 F67

Publication Date: London, UK : Commercial Intelligence Service, 1999-

The Mexican-American War : an annotated bibliography by compiled and edited by Norman E. Tutorow 

Call Number: Geisel Floor 6 E404 .T87

Publication Date: Westport, Conn. : Greenwood Press, 1981

The United States and Mexico at war : nineteenth-century expansionism and conflict by edited by Donald S. Frazier 

Call Number: Geisel Reference Floor 2 West E404 .U66 1998

Publication Date: New York : Macmillan Reference USA, 1998

Arquitectura/México (DVD) by Carlos Ríos Garza ; estudio intruductorio, Louise Noelle 

Call Number: Geisel Reference Floor 2 W and Floor 1 W NA755 .R49

Publication Date: [México, D.F.] : Facultad de Arquitectura, Universidad Nacional Autónoma de México, 2008