Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Mexican Studies: Additional Archives and Archival Information

Guide to Resources for Research on Mexico at UCSD and the greater San Diego-Baja Region and beyond

Online Search Tools for Archival Information

ALZAR - Academic Latino/a Zone of Activism and Research Archival Collections 

Portal to primary research materials dealing with Latino(a)s in the U.S. Includes significant collections at UCLA, Berkeley, University of Texas at Austin, and University of Miami.

Archivo General de la Nacion

Archive Grid 

Includes nearly a million collection descriptions provided by thousands of libraries, museums, and archives from around the world.

Archive Finder Licensed by UCSD 

Current directory of 5,596 repositories and 154,678 archival collections across the US. Includes Directory of Archives and Manuscript Repositories in the US (DAMRUS) and National Union Catalog of Manuscript Collections (NUCMC).

Calisphere 

Calisphere is the University of California's free public gateway to a world of primary sources. More than 200,000 digitized items — including photographs, documents, newspaper pages, political cartoons, works of art, diaries, transcribed oral histories, advertising, and other unique cultural artifacts — reveal the diverse history and culture of California and its role in national and world history. Calisphere's content has been selected from the libraries and museums of the UC campuses, and from a variety of cultural heritage organizations across California.

Guide to Federal Records in the National Archives of the United States 

1995 Print Version available in :
US Docs, Geisel Floor2 West AE 1.108:G 94 (3 vol.)

The index to this guide is very helpful in identifying relevant collections in microfilm and other formats which can be used at the Archives themselves, or, in many cases, at other libraries. UCSD holds some of these and many others can borrowed through inter-library loan. Such holdings include copies of many collections from foreign archives.

Online Archive of California (OAC) 

Provides free public access to detailed descriptions of primary resource collections at 150 institutions throughout California, including all ten UC campuses. California archives have very strong collections related to the borderlands and present-day California in both the Spanish and Mexican periods.

American Historical Association's Archive Wiki 

Information on some Latin American archives can be found here -- if your country of interest is not listed -- join the wiki team!

Portal de Archivos Españoles (PARES) 

One-stop online search for all Spanish archival material.

Micromaterials with Mexican Archival Information at UCSD

Colonial Latin American manuscripts and transcripts in the Obadiah Rich collection 

Microforms, Geisel Floor2 West XF 2765
Reels + Guide

See also the Inventory and Index at:
Geisel Floor6 F1410 .N48 1978