Full-text content and images from numerous newspapers from a range of urban and rural regions throughout the U.S. The collection encompasses the entire 19th century, with an emphasis on such topics as the American Civil War, African-American culture and history, Western migration and Antebellum-era life.
Newspapers in the 19th and early-mid 20th centuries; some later. Many titles include only a few years; others much longer.When complete will have 270 papers from 35 states.
English-language papers 1690-1876, 700 papers from cities in 24 states east of the Mississippi. Also includes Hispanic American Newspapers, 1808-1980, and Calif Historical Newspapers, 1752-1922. Coverage of each paper from a few issues to many years.
Discover North American Indigenous journalism spanning two centuries with this major digital resource. Featuring publications from a range of communities, with an extensive list of periodicals produced in the United States and Canada, including Alaska, Arizona, British Columbia, California, Nevada and Oklahoma, from 1828 to 2016.
American Periodicals from the Center for Research Libraries is a full-text electronic resource containing full-color scans of original printed documents archived at the Center for Research Libraries (CRL). The collection spans the nineteenth century through the dawn of the twentieth century, containing labor, trade, literary, scientific, and photographic periodicals, as well as other historically significant titles. The resource provides enhanced access to hundreds of periodicals, resulting in a tool which is vital both to the research process and classroom experience. The APCRL database contains a total of nearly 3 million pages from 1887 publications.
Search and read newspaper pages from several states, including California; search a directory (including library holdings) for U.S. newspapers published from 1690-present.
Full text of major articles gleaned from over 2,500 issues of The New York Herald, The Charleston Mercury and the Richmond Enquirer, published between November 1, 1860 and April 15, 1865.
A monthly magazine of literature, politics, culture, finance, and the arts. Launched in New York City in June 1850.
America's leading 19th century illustrated newspaper.
Nearly 300 Spanish-language newspapers from 13 states (including California) published in the 19th and 20th centuries. Search, browse and view article and page images.
Cover-to-cover article and page images of Baltimore Afro-American (1893-1988), Chicago Defender (1910-1975), Los Angeles Sentinel (1934-2005), New York Amsterdam News (1922-1993). Click top "Publications" tab for title list.
Cover to cover article text & page images of Chicago Tribune (1849-1986), Los Angeles Times (1881-1986), New York Times (1851-2005), San Francisco Chronicle (1865-1922), Washington Post (1877-1992), Wall Street Journal (1889-1991). Click top "Publications" tab for title list.
