UC Library Search is the first stop for finding books, journals, documents, maps and all other material located physically in the UC San Diego libraries, as well as online resources purchased for your use. It also contains a limited number of online journal and newspaper articles.
You can also use UC Library Search to find materials at other UC libraries.
Circuit is a shared library catalog that searches the holdings of all San Diego university libraries (except Cal State San Marcos) and the San Diego County Public Library. If a book you need is already checked out at UCSD, or if or we don't own a book that you need, check in Circuit. If it’s available at another San Diego Circuit library, it can be delivered to UCSD in 1-3 days.
Search tip: If you have trouble finding books using a library catalog like UC Library Search (which don't search the full text of books, but only the basic bibliographic information, subject headings, table of contents, etc.), try a search using your keywords in Google Books - which does search the full text of thousands of books.
While you won't be able to read the full text via Google for most books, this is a great way to identify books of possible interest. When you find a book that looks relevant, paste the title into UC Library Search to see if the Library has access to the full text.
HathiTrust is a partnership of academic and research organizations offering a collection of millions of digitized materials from libraries around the world, include the UCSD Library. Full text is available for many but not all items - you can restrict your search to full text items.
Because of copyright limitations for more recent material, HathiTrust is best used for historical volumes and government publications.
