LibGuides: STARTneuro: Find Journal Articles

Article databases (by subject)

Here are the top databases for neuroscience and biomedical research.

If you are working off campus or using the UCSD-GUEST wireless network, you will need to set up your computer for off-campus access via the VPN. PubMed itself is free to all and contains many free articles, but requires UCSD network connection to read our licensed full-text journals.

Best Databases for Neuroscience

Database	Help Guides / Videos
PubMed	Covers thousands of journals in health and life sciences Help: Online help guide from NLM
BIOSIS	Covers journals in biological sciences. If your topic is more basic biology and less medical, start here.
Cognet	Covers journals, books and reference materials in cognitive science
Web of Science (UCSD)	Covers journals in all subjects "Analyze" option lets you discover top journals, institutions, authors for research topics. (Useful when planning for grad school!) Web of Science core collection help Cited Reference Searching help
Google Scholar	Covers journals and patents in all subject areas, but also some less scholarly sources Doesn't have many advanced search options, and there is no way to save/organize your results If you are on the UCSD network, you can see "Get it at UC" links by clicking the arrow symbols. Help: Google Scholar Search Tips
UC Library Search	By default this searches many journal articles as well as for books and journals owned at UC libraries. There are many ways to limit your results, such as by type of publication, dates, and materials owned at your campus library. However, databases like PubMed or BIOSIS offer more relevant ways to limit your results.

Browsing Journals

Just want to read some journals? BrowZine is a tool that enables a "virtual shelf" experience for browsing journals in our collections. It is available for browsers well as an app for iOS and Android devices. UCSD only.

Get full-text articles

In PubMed: try the full text links from the publisher first (e.g., ScienceDirect, Oxford, Springer, etc.) If those don't work, use the "Get it At UC" button.

If the Get It At UC button doesn't lead to the article, we may not have that journal online. If it's an article that's really key for your work, please ask us for help to see if we have it and what your options are.

Reading Journal Articles

Need help approaching technical research articles? Check out our guide with links to different approaches to effective and efficient ways to read research papers.