STARTneuro: Encyclopedias & Handbooks

Handbooks, Encyclopedias, and Background Books

• Brain Mapping
• Diseases of the Nervous System
• Encyclopedia of Neuroscience (older but good for foundations)
• Handbook of Behavioral Neuroscience (book series)
• Neuroscience in the 21st Century
• Oxford Handbook of Adult Cognitive Disorders
• Oxford Handbook of Cultural Neuroscience and Global Mental Health
• Oxford Handbook of Developmental Cognitive Neuroscience
• Oxford Handbook of Neurolinguistics
• Oxford Research Encyclopedia of Neuroscience
• Wiley Handbook of Evolutionary Neuroscience

"Very Short Introduction" Books: 

As the description says, these are very short books from Oxford University Press that can help you get up to speed on a topic so you are more prepared to read the research literature. Many of them are a little older but the fundamental information is sound.

• The Brain: A Very Short Introduction
• Cognitive Neuroscience: A Very Short Introduction
• Consciousness: A Very Short Introduction
• Emotion: A Very Short Introduction

If you're looking for something more specific than what's in the left column, you can find more handbooks, encyclopedias etc in the Library Catalog included in UC Library Search. 

Suggested initial search for handbooks or encyclopedias

• Select Advanced Search and select the "UC San Diego Library Catalog" option in the top row. 
• Use Search Filters
  • row 1: select Title in the 'any field' pull down list > enter  your own topic keywords (for whatever broad area you're interested in)
  • row 2: leave 'any field' in place > enter handbook OR encyclopedia
• Use Refine your results
  • Select Available online from the Availability section if you only want online materials
• continue to explore search options and results