BIMM 110: Molecular Basis of Human Disease: News Articles

Newspaper Databases

The UC San Diego Library subscribes to several newspaper databases. These databases search newspapers beyond what you might find in Google News. In most cases, full-text articles are available.

To access these databases from off-campus, you will need to configure your computer.

Access World News
Dates vary, but some historical coverage as far back as 1690. More than 5000 sources worldwide, including nearly 1500 in the U.S. Many historical newspapers are in digitized image form. Largely newspapers, with newswires, transcripts, newsletters, magazines, videos.
Nexis Uni
Contains thousands of full-text sources including newspapers, news wires, television news transcripts, newsletters, magazines, and trade journals. Business sources include company information, industry news, and biographical information. Legal sources include law reviews, legal reference works, and federal and state caselaw (court decisions), statutes, and regulations. Also includes select international court opinions and municipal ordinances. Coverage dates vary. International and U.S. sources.

Newspaper Source
Provides cover-to-cover full-text articles from 28 U.S. and international papers, plus television news transcripts and selected full texts from more than 260 additional U.S. newspapers.
U.S. Major Dailies
Current content and archives dating back to the 1980s for five of the nation’s most respected national and regional newspapers, including The New York Times, Washington Post, Los Angeles Times, Chicago Tribune, and The Wall Street Journal, in full-text format.

Newspapers LibGuide

Provides more complete information about the newspapers and newspaper databases available to you

Search Tips

Tips to help you find relevant news stories about biomedical research

If you're using a database with an Advanced Search option, use that.
Think about terminology for your topic that a reporter would use for a general audience
Add terms that will hone in on the "new study shows" type of article. If you're using a database with Advanced Search, you can put these extra terms on a second line to enable easy iteration. Try terms like
- study
- published
- journal
- if you think a particular journal would be relevant, use the title of it - like JAMA or Nature or Cell
- university
- author

Caution:

Ideally you are looking for news stories about studies published in scientific journals that you can actually find. But often news stories can report on results from other kinds of sources, which can make things a little trickier.

Study published as a "preprint" - be sure to run this by your IA. These have not been peer-reviewed. The news story may refer to this as a preprint, "unpublished" data, or by name at bioRxiv or medRxiv. The science may still be valid, but it's worth checking if the authors have subsequently published it as a journal article.
Study presented at a scientific conference. Conference papers themselves often hard to track down and you do not have time to be contacting authors to ask for copies.