Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Global Public Health: Reference Sources

Introduction to Reference Sources

SAVE TIME!

Specialized encyclopedias (as well as dictionaries and handbooks) can be great places to start your research.  Use them to find:

  • Background information on a topic
  • An overview of research on a topic
  • Definitions of terminology
  • Explanations of methods and theories

Most of the resources listed here are online but there are many others available only in print--many in the Reference Collections in the Geisel Library and the Wong/Avery Library.  Ask Us for help in locating others.

Interdisciplinary Reference Sources

Annual Reviews

An interdisciplinary database providing full-text access to essays that summarize what has been published about a given topic in recent years (also called literature reviews).

A few excellent online reference packages include:

Sage Reference Online

Oxford Reference Online

Wiley Online Library

Oxford Handbooks Online

Oxford Research Encyclopedias

Review Sources (Including Book Reviews)

Review Sources are also very helpful for identifying relevant scholarly resources and evaluating/determining how useful they are for your work.    The Review Sources Research guide points to strategies and places to search for Book Reviews; Film Dance and Theater Reviews; and Research Literature (which points to Annual Reviews and Dissertations as well as particular databases). For example, book reviews can help you:

  • Find out what others have said about a book
  • Identify controversies about the book
  • Find out how the book relates to other works
  • Find out what's new in your field of interest
  • Easily identify recommended books for future reading