LibGuides: LATI 180 Latin American Energy Transitions: Business Research (Including Company and Industry Profiles)

Databases for Business Research

Gale Business Insights
- This link opens in a new window
GBI is a great first-stop for business and management information. It includes information on companies and industries from business and trade journals, academic journals, industry reports, newspapers, newsletters, and classic business reference sources. Search on a company name. In the search results, click on individual companies to open well-organized company profiles.
Business News Americas
- This link opens in a new window
Industry and company news and reports covering technology, telecom, electric power, oil and gas, mining, infrastructure, banking, insurance, water, and privatization sectors across Latin America. Enter your @ucsd.edu domain email to initiate access and establish your ongoing platform customization. Check your spam folder/filter for initial "magic link" message. Restricted to UCSD email addresses.

IMPORTANT ACCESS INFORMATION for BNA AMERICAS: (1) The first time you login, you need to use the passwordless login – put in your email, and click on send magic link. (2) The magic link will probably go to your Junk Mail/Spam – and, if you have that set so that you get a daily digest, by the time you get it, it will probably have expired. Here’s how to get it more quickly and unblock it for the future. (3) Search your inbox or junk mail or deleted mail for: UCSD Spam Quarantine noreply@ucsd.edu (4) Click on “Request New End User Digest” – which will bring up a digest of your most recent spam alerts (5) Find the message from bnamericasnews.com (likely in your junk mail) and click on “Release and Allow Sender” – so that that this email will go into your inbox and, in the future, any emails from BNAmericas will not be blocked. Once you get in, you will be able to reset your password for continued use.

EMIS Intelligence (formerly ISI Emerging Markets)
- This link opens in a new window
Provides economic studies, company & industry reports, country risk, statistics and political news on emerging market countries. Covers public & private companies & global industry reports. Includes interactive data analysis tools & news alerts. Excellent China coverage.
Factiva
- This link opens in a new window
Ccntains MANY newspapers, including financial. To see if it provides access to a particular publication, click on the source downward arrow and search by title. For example, you will find El Financiero here.
Scroll down on the landing page to the Newsstand: US section for the latest content of Wall Street Journal, USA Today, Los Angeles Times, New York Times, Washington Post, Chicago Tribune, Barron's & more.
Global Financial Database
- This link opens in a new window
Financial and economic data covering over 150 countries and over 6,500 historical and current data series. Bonds, T-bills, unemployment, GDP, commodity prices, exchange rates, and more, some dating back to 1900. Note: To access, use the “Login Anonymously” option and choose GFDatabase in the left nav bar.
Global Insight
- This link opens in a new window
Global Insight provides access to the 4 Basic Economics Databases covering U.S. economic, financial, and demographic statistics. Concepts available are U.S. trade, population, production, income, housing, employment, and finance. Data series are available at daily, weekly, and monthly frequencies with history from 1946. Although licensed users can search more than 100 Global Insight databases, data downloads are limited to BASIC, BASIC/D, BASIC/FX, and BASIC/W.
Basic Economics - contains approximately 6,000 monthly, quarterly, and annual time series that date back to 1946 when available.
Weekly - contains approximately 500 weekly time series that date as far back as 1959 where applicable. Whenever possible, monthly counterparts are available in the Economics database.
Daily
FX - the Daily and FX contain about 700 financial variables, commodity prices, interest rates and foreign exchange rates from various agencies.
Latin America Digital Beat (LADB)
- This link opens in a new window
Searchable database of weekly newsletters covering Latin American political and economic affairs, 1986-present. Current titles are NotiSur (South America), SourceMex (Mexico), NotiCen (Central America).
Latinnews
- This link opens in a new window
Online archive and feed of the complete Latin American Newsletters (London) family of political and economic news and analysis publications. Also known as Latin American Intelligence Service. Earliest coverage reaches back to 1967.
Mergent Online
- This link opens in a new window
Provides detailed information about U.S. and International public companies. Content includes: links to SEC EDGAR filings, current and archived company profiles and annual reports, historical financial and stock price data, financial ratios, equity research reports, and industry reports.