Skip to main content

English-Language Literature: Library Resources: 20th & 21st Centuries: Outside the U.S, U.K. and Canada

This page lists sources that cover multiple periods, genres, and/or nationalities. See additional resources in the "Historical Literary Period" and "Geographical Region" pages.

Encyclopedias, Dictionaries, Companions, Etc.

 

Routledge Companion to World Literature. Ed. Theo D'Haen, David Damrosch, and Djelal Kadir. London and NY: Routledge, 2012.   

Routledge Encyclopedia of Post-Colonial Literatures in English. Ed. Eugene Benson and L. W. Connolly. 2nd ed. London: Routledge, 2005. 2 vols. Articles (over 1800) by experts on the various national literatures, genres, topics, and individual writers. Reference PR 9080 .A52 E53 2005  Also searchable within the Criticism & Reference page of Literature Online (LiON).

Encyclopedia of Twentieth-Century Fiction. Ed. Brian W. Shaffer. NY: Wiley-Blackwell, 2011. Includes fiction writers from all over the world.

A Historical Companion to Postcolonial Literatures in English. Eds.Prem Poddar and David Johnson. Edinburgh University Press, 2005. Geisel Reference PR 9080 .A52 H57 2005

International Literature in English: Essays on the Major Writers. Ed. Robert L. Ross. Garland, 1991. Geisel stacks PR 9080 .I57 1991. Bio-bibliographical essays on 60 writers from Africa, Australia, Canada, the Caribbean region, India, New Zealand, etc. 

Thieme, John. Post-Colonial Studies: The Essential Glossary. Arnold, 2003. Geisel Reference JV 22 .T45 2003

Nayar, Pramod K. Postcolonial Studies Dictionary. Wiley-Blackwell, 2015.

  

Canada

The Oxford Companion to Canadian Literature (2nd ed.), ed. William Toye and Eugene Benson. New York: Oxford University Press, 1997. Frequently updated.

Encyclopedia of Literature in Canada. Ed. William H. New. Toronto: U. of Toronto Press, 2002. Geisel Reference PR 9180.2 .E53 2002

Dictionary of Canadian Biography / Dictionnaire Biographique du Canada. 

 

Ireland

The Concise Oxford Companion to Irish Literature. Ed. Robert Welch. New York: Oxford University Press, 2000. Frequently updated.

The Oxford Companion to Irish History. Rev. ed. Ed. S.J. Connolly. NY: Oxford UP, 2007. Frequently updated.

 

Note

THIS PAGE IS BEING GRADUALLY PHASED OUT AS SEPARATE PASGES FOR AFRICA, AUSTRALIA and NEW ZEALAND, The CARIBBEAN, and INDIA and SOUTHEAST ASIA ARE BEING ADDED.

Scroll down to see boxes for Full-Text Collections of Primary Sources Using Subject Headings in Roger.

Bibliographies of Secondary Sources

Multiple Countries

"Annual Bibliography of Commonwealth Literature." An annual issue of The Journal of Commonwealth Literature, usually the December issue, consists of surveys and checklists of the new publications, both primary and secondary, from Australia, Canada, the Caribbean, East & Central Africa, India, Malaysia & Singapore, Pakistan, South Africa, Sri Lanka, and West Africa. Full text available back to 1966; use the link from the Roger record.

New, William H. Critical Writings on Commonwealth Literature: A Selective Bibliography to 1970, with a List of Theses and Dissertations. University Park: Pennsylvania State University Press, 1975. 7th floor PR 9080 N4 

Nordquist, Joan. Postcolonial Theory II: Literature and the Arts: A Bibliography. Santa Cruz, CA: Reference and Research Services, 1999. Geisel stacks JV 51 .N77 1999

Post-Colonial Literatures in English: General, Theoretical, and Comparative, 1970-1993 [a bibliography]. Ed. Alan Lawson et al. NY: G.K. Hall, 1997. 7th floor PR 9080 .P67 1997

 

 

Australia

AustLit: The Australian Literature Resource. Canberra: U. of New South Wales, 1999- . A recently established collagborative effort to provide authoritative information on hundreds of thousands of creative and critical Australian literary works. One goal is to index all relevant materials, regardless of format, by oor about Australian authors from 1780 to the present. Includes more than 12,000 full-text works as well.

"Annual Bibliography of Studies in Australian Literature [1963-     ]." Appears annually in the journal Australian Literary Studies. For citations before 1996, see ALS Guide (below).

"Bibliography of Australian Literature and Criticism Published in North America [1985-      ]" appears annually in the journal Antipodes.

The ALS Guide to Australian Writers: A Bibliography 1963-1995. Ed. Martin Duwell, Marianne Ehrhardt, and Carol Hetherington. 2nd ed. St. Lucia: U Queensland P, 1997. Request SRLF copy using the Melvyl record. Cumulates the annual bibliographies in the "Annual Bibliography of Studies in Australian Literature" for the first 33 years of its publication.

Andrews, B.G. and William H. Wilde. Australian Literautre to 1900: A Guide to Information Resources. Detroit: Gale, 1980. Request from SRLF using the Melvyl record.

Day, A. Grove. Modern Australian Prose, 1901-1975: A Guide to Information Resources. Detroit: Gale, 1980. Request SRLF copy from the Melvyl record.

Ross, Robert L. Australian Literary Criticism, 1945-1988: An Annotated Bibliography. NY: Garland, 1989. 7th floor PR 9604.3 .R67 1989

Stuart, Lurline. Australian Periodicals with Literary Content, 1821-1925: An Annotated Bibliography. Melbourne: Australian Scholarly Pub., 2003. Not available in the UC system; may be available through Interlibrary Loan.

Canada

Jones, Joseph. Reference Sources for Canadian Literary Studies. Toronto: University of Toronto Press, 2005. Reference PR 9184.3 .J66 2005

Hoy, Helen. Modern English-Canadian Prose: A Guide to Information Sources. Detroit: Gale Research, 1983. 7th floor PR 9192.5 .H69 1983

 

India (coming soon)

New Zealand

Index New Zealand (INNZ). Wellington: National Library of N.Z., 1987-      . Abstracts of articles from approximately 1000 N.Z. magazines and newspapers. Good for finding book reviews of fiction, poetry, scholarly books, etc.

New Zealand Literary File. Auckland: U of Auckland Library. Lists primary and secondary works on New Zealand writers, but most of the secondary works listed are from New Zealand periodicals and newspapers that may be difficult to obtain outside N.Z.  

Thomson, John. New Zealand Literature to 1977: A Guide to Information Sources. Detroit: Gale Research, 1980. Request from SRLF using the record in Melvyl. 

Using Subject Headings in Roger

Finding books of or about the English language literary output of former British commonwealth countries can be somewhat complex. Distinctions in subject headings are made, for example, for the various linguistic literatures of the country, and sometimes for the literature of the colonized people as opposed to the literature of the colonizers. For example:

Indic Literature (English). This heading is used for literature by native residents of India.

Anglo-Indian Literature. This heading is used for literature in English by British residents of India.

English Literature-East Indian Authors. This heading is for literature by or about authors of Indian origin who reside in Great Britain (i.e., diasporic authors).

American Literature--Indian Authors.  For literature by or about Indians now residing in the U.S. 

Canadian Literature. Despite Canada's bilingual nature, due to the much larger quantity of English-language literature, the Library of Congress subject heading for Canadian literature in English is simply "Canadian Literature."  For studies of Francophone Canadian literature, use the heading French-Canadian Literature.

Caribbean Literature. This heading is used for studies of more than one linguistic origin, i.e. for Caribbean literature as a whole.  For the literature written in one language, use the headings Caribbean Literature (English), (French), or (Spanish). I strongly recommend browsing both the general heading and the one for the specific language you are researching.

The primary sub-heading under a national or geographical heading for critical and historical studies of that literature is "History and Criticism." Also, if the book being cataloged is restricted to a particular time period, a century or other time division is also added. For example:

Caribbean Literature--History and Criticism

Caribbean Literature (English)--History and Criticism

Caribbean Literature (English)--20th Century--History and Criticism

New Zealand Literature. Used only for literatures written in English. For literature by and about the indigenous people of N.Z., use the heading Maori Literature.

For the broader study of postcolonialism, the Library of Congress has only adopted the subject heading Postcolonialism within the last twenty years. Therefore, there are literally hundreds of relevant books, although older, that are not cataloged under this heading. For the study of postcolonialism within a literary context, use the subject heading Postcolonialism In Literature. A somewhat more specific subject heading is Decolonization in Literature.

 For older books on postcolonialist literature in English, and for newer books on the literatures of more than one former Commonwealth country but without a postcolonialist critique, use the subject heading Commonwealth Literature (English) and Commonwealth Countries in Literature.  

 

 

 

 

 

Bibliographies of Primary Sources

Most of the predominantly English-speaking countries of the former British Commonwealth have national bibliographies, but UCSD does not subscribe to them, nor does UCSD own many of the retrospective primary bibliographies of these countries. See Harner, Chapter R (Other Literatures in English) for specific titles. Listed below are only some titles owned by the UCSD Libraries.

Warwick, Ronald, comp. Commonwealth Literature Periodicals: A Bibliography. London: Mansell, 1979. 7th floor PR 9080 .W37

Africa

Postcolonial African Writers: A BioBibliographical Critical Sourcebook. Chicago: Fitzroy Dearborn, 1998. Reference PL 8010 .P585 1998 

Jahn, Janheinz, and Claus Peter Dressler. Bibliography of Creative African Writing. Nendeln: KTO, 1971. 7th floor PL 8010 .J28 1971

Australia

Australian National Bibliographic Database (ANBD). Canberra: National Library of Australia, 1981-  .

Bibliography of Australian Literature (BAL). Ed. John Arnold and John Hay. Kew, Vic.: Australian Scholarly Pub., 2001-08. 4 vols. A complete set will soon be available at UC Santa Barbara; use Melvyl to request. For early books, use Macartney and Miller, below.

Lindesay, Vane. The Way We Were: Australian Popular Magazines 1856-1969. Melbourne: Oxford UP, 1983. Request from SRLF using the Melvyl record.

Macartney, Frederick T. Australian Literautre: A Bibliography to 1938, Extended to 1950. Sydney: Angus & Robertson, 1956. Request from SRLF using the Melvyl record.

Miller, Morris. Australian Literature from Its Beginnings to 1935: A Descriptive and Bibliographical Survey of Bookis by Australian Authors in Poetry, Drama, Fiction, Criticism and Anthology. Melbourne: Melbourne UP, 1940. 2 vols. Request from NRLF using the record in Melvyl.

Pong, Alfred. Checklist of Nineteenth Century Australian Periodicals. Bundoora, Vic.: La Trobe UP, 1985. Request from SRLF using the Melvyl record.

Webby, Elizabeth. Early Australian Poetry: An Annotated Bibliography of Original Poems Published in Australian Newspapers, Magazines, and Almanacks before 1850. Sydney: Hale, 1982. Request from SRLF using the Melvyl record.

Canada

Amicus: Canadian National Catalogue

Lecker, Robert, and Jack David, eds. The Annotated Bibliography of Canada's Major Authors. Toronto: ECW Press, 1979-94. 8 vols. 7th floor PR 9184.3 .A56

Tremaine, Marie. A Bibliography of Canadian Imprints, 1751-1800. Toronto: University of Toronto Press, 1952. Reference Z 1365 .T7

Wagner, Anton. The Brock Bibliography of Published Canadian Plays in English, 1766-1978. Toronto: Playwrights Canada, 1980. Request from SRLF using the record in Melvyl.

Caribbean

Williams, Emily Allen. Anglophone Caribbean Poetry, 1970-2001: An Annotated Bibliography. Westport, Ct.: Greenwood Press, 2002. Reference PR 9205.2 .W45 2002 Lists primary and secondary sources.

New Zealand 

Publicaitons New Zealand (PNZ).Wellington: National Library of New Zealand. An online, updated version of New Zealand National Bibliography.

New Zealand Literary File. Auckland: U of Auckland Library.  Lists primary and secondary works on New Zealand writers, but most of the secondary works listed are from New Zealand periodicals and newspapers that may be difficult to obtain outside N.Z.  

Park, Iris M. New Zealand Periodicals of Literary Interest. Wellington: National Library Service, 1962. Request from SRLF using the record in Melvyl.

Full-Text Collections