Skip to Main Content
The Library

Zotero Citation Management: Frequently Asked Questions

How do I get items into Zotero?

The Zotero Connector's save button is the most convenient and reliable way to add items to your Zotero library.  It will look different if you are in a database or on the landing page for an article.  Look for either a page icon that will capture the webpage or article you are on or a folder icon (database) that will give you a list from which to select the ones you want.

How do I add a PDF to Zotero?

Using the Zotero Connector is the easiest way to upload a PDF if it's included in the record. Click the Connector icon within your browser.

  • If you have a downloaded PDF, you can drag and drop it into your Zotero library or add it manually by using the Add New Item option and selecting Store Copy of File. 

Tips:

  • Ensure you are logged into the Zotero desktop first and then click the connector icon on the browser.
  • If the connector is not working for you:
    • Download and add the PDF manually.
    • Uninstall and reinstall the connector or install the connector on a different browser. See the Zotero download page.

How do I cite something in my paper?

When you install the Zotero desktop, it will also add the Zotero tools to MS Word if you have it.  If you install the Zotero Connector, it will automatically add the Zotero tools to Google Docs. The process of adding citations is the same for both MS Word or Google Docs. 

  • Put the cursor where it belongs.
  • Click on Add/edit citation. 
  • Select the citation style you want to use for this document.
  • The search bar will appear where you can search for an author name or a word from the title.  Look through the list and select the one you need and hit enter.

How do I use it with Google Dos?

The Zotero Connector adds a Zotero menu to the Google Docs interface and a toolbar button for one-click citing.

How can I create a stand alone bibliogrpahy?

Use Zotero's Quick Copy to create a formatted bibliography for you automatically or within a document.

  • Create a new section at the end and type either References or Works Cited.
  • Add a new line under that so that your cursor is on that new line.
  • Click Add Bibliography and it will create it.

Can I share my library with someone?

Use Zotero groups to share collections with colleagues on a project. There is no limit on how many members may join your groups, and your full storage subscription is always available to your personal and group libraries. Group Libraries are separate from your personal My Library, so you can also use Zotero groups as a way to keep separate libraries within one Zotero profile.

How can I get full text articles?

You can configure Zotero to use Get it at UC, connecting you to full-text library resources.

To configure Zotero to use Get it at UC:

  1. Open Zotero Preferences
  2. Click the Advanced tab
  3. In the Resolver filed under General; add the following URL: https://search-library.ucsd.edu/openurl/01UCS_SDI/01UCS_SDI:UCSD?

To use Get It At UC:

  1. Select/highlight a citation in your Zotero library
  2. Now click on the green right arrow on the Zotero toolbar (top right)
  3. Select Library lookup
  4. A new window appears, and you may get the option to view the full text OR Request it (you may need to UC Library Search First log in first)
  5. NOTE: You probably want to delete the original citation you selected since a new one was created that now includes the PDF article.

Will Zotero work on a Chromebook?

Option 1:  You could install Linux on your Chromebook first. However Zotero can only run on x86_64 Chromebooks. It cannot run on ARM-based Chromebooks.

Option 2: Use the Zotero connector to send items to an online library. *Zotero Storage is the recommended file sync option.

  1. Register for a free account, then log in.
  2. Download the Zotero connector, which adds a Zotero icon to your browser toolbar.
  3. Authenticate the Zotero connector. 
    • Right-click on the Zotero icon in the browser toolbar > Preferences >General > save to Zotero.org > Authorize > Accept defaults.
  4. You may get an error pop-up. If so, click the button for "...online library".

Can I move my list of citations to a new computer?

There are two methods for moving to another computer. Do not use Export/Import, as it is not recommended.

1. Use Zotero Sync

While Zotero stores all data locally on your computer by default, Zotero's sync function allows you to access your Zotero library on any computer with internet access. 

2. Copy the data folder within the data directory.

Can I get help from a librarian?

Yes, there are many ways to get help from a librarian.

  • Visit the Get Help page on the library's website to review the FAQ knowledge base or choose a contact method to speak with a librarian.