Portal to published and non-published Central American research resources, institutes, and organizations/Portal a recursos publicados y no publicados, institutos, y organizaciónes de investigación centroamericanos
Includes the (Nicaraguan)Presidential Library of Enrique Bolaños; a general library with docuements considered part of Nicaragua's cultural heritage; and a Virtual Educational System of narratives idesigned especially for students, focused on themes of national interest.
A collection that explores and provides historical background on more than thirty key worldwide border areas, including: U.S. and Mexico; the European Union; Afghanistan; Israel; Turkey; The Congo; Argentina; China; Thailand; and others. Featuring at completion 100,000 pages of text, 175 hours of video, and 1,000 images, the collection is organized around fundamental themes associated with border and migration issues.
To search in selected or all of the Latin American collections, click on the "Latin American and Caribbean" Module. Click on Advanced Search (Under the Search Box) and scroll down and clik on the downward arrow next to the "Collection Title Box." You can then select the collections you want to search. You can also narrow the search by adding additional keywords (such as countries or names, etc.), Content Type, or a particular date range.
Includes: 17th and 18th Century Burney Collection Archives Unbound Archives of Human Sexuality and Identity The Economist Historical Archive, 1843-2011 Eighteenth Century Collections Online The Financial Times Historical Archive, 1888-2010 The Making of Modern Law: Trials, 1600-1926 The Making of the Modern World Nineteenth Century Collections Online Nineteenth Century U.S. Newspapers The Sunday Times Digital Archive The Times Digital Archive U.S. Declassified Documents Online
Particularly relevant collections for US involvement in Latin America are found in the "International Relations and Military Conflicts" Category
Suggested Navigation/Search Strategy: On the Landing Page, look for this square module and click on it > After this, you can choose to "Search" or "Browse" one of the collections in that category (such as US Military Intelligence Reports). By Browsing, you can see all of its sub-collections -- for example, "US Military Intelligence Reports: Argentina, and click on the title to go to that specific collection." If you'd like to do an aggregated search, however, you can simply click "search this module," which will bring you to a page in which you can use a series of check-boxes to select any of the collections you'd like to search (for example "US Military Intelligence Reports" and "Confidential US State Department Central Files, Europe and Latin America").
Countries covered include: Argentina, Cuba, El Salvador, Honduras, Mexico, Nicaragua, and Panama (and perhaps others).
African American Police League Records, 1961-1988
American Indians and the American West, 1809-1971
American Politics and Society from Kennedy to Watergate
American Politics in the Early Cold War—Truman and Eisenhower Administrations, 1945-1961
Black Freedom Struggle in the 20th Century: Federal Government Records
Black Freedom Struggle in the 20th Century: Federal Government Records, Supplement
Black Freedom Struggle in the 20th Century: Organizational Records and Personal Papers, Part 1
Black Freedom Struggle in the 20th Century, Organizational Records and Personal Papers, Part 2
CIA Cold War Research Reports and Records on Communism in China and Eastern Europe
Confederate Military Manuscripts and Records of Union Generals and the Union Army
Confidential U.S. State Department Central Files, 1960-1969, Africa and the Middle East
Confidential U.S. State Department Central Files, 1960-1969, Asia
Confidential U.S. State Department Central Files, 1960-1969, Europe and Latin America
Creation of Israel: British Foreign Office Correspondence on Palestine and Transjordan, 1940-1948
FBI Confidential Files and Radical Politics in the U.S., 1945-1972
Immigration: Records of the INS, 1880-1930
Japanese American Incarceration: Records of the War Relocation Authority, 1942-1946
Labor Unions in the U.S., 1862-1974: Knights of Labor, AFL, CIO, and AFL-CIO
Law and Society since the Civil War: American Legal Manuscripts from the Harvard Law School Library
Margaret Sanger Papers: Smith College Collections and Collected Documents
NAACP Papers: Board of Directors, Annual Conferences, Major Speeches, and National Staff Files
NAACP Papers: Branch Department, Branch Files and Youth Department Files
NAACP Papers: Special Subjects
NAACP Papers: The NAACP’s Major Campaigns—Education, Voting, Housing, Employment, Armed Forces
NAACP Papers: The NAACP’s Major Campaigns--Legal Department Files
NAACP Papers: The NAACP’s Major Campaigns—Scottsboro, Anti-Lynching, Criminal Justice, Peonage, Labor, and Segregation and Discrimination Complaints and Responses
Nazi Looted Art and Assets: Records on the Post World War II Restitution Process
New Deal and World War II: President Franklin D. Roosevelt's Office Files and Records of Federal Agencies
Office of Strategic Services (OSS)-State Department Intelligence and Research Reports, 1941-1961
Pinkerton’s National Detective Agency Records, 1853-1999
Progressive Era: Reform, Regulation and Rights
Progressive Era: Robert M. La Follette Papers
Progressive Era: Voices of Reform (1875-1945)
Reconstruction and Military Government after the Civil War
Records of the Children's Bureau, 1912-1969
Revolutionary War and Early America: Collections from the Massachusetts Historical Society, 1721-1860
Slavery and the Law
Slavery in Antebellum Southern Industries
Slavery, the Slave Trade, and Law and Order in 19th Century America
Southern Life and African American History, 1775-1915, Plantation Records, Part 2
Southern Life and African American History, 1775-1915, Plantations Records, Part 1
Southern Women and their Families in the 19th and 20th Centuries, Holdings of the Southern Historical Collection
Struggle for Women's Rights: Organizational Records, 1880-1990
Students for a Democratic Society, Vietnam Veterans Against the War, and the Anti-Vietnam War Movement
Temperance and Prohibition Movement, 1830-1933
Thomas A. Edison Papers
U.S. Diplomatic Post Records, 1914-1945
U.S. Military Intelligence Reports, 1911-1944
Vietnam War and American Foreign Policy, 1960–1975
Women at Work during World War II: Rosie the Riveter and the Women's Army Corps
Women’s Studies Manuscript Collections from the Schlesinger Library: Voting Rights, National Politics, and Reproductive Rights
Workers, Labor Unions, and the American Left in the 20th Century: Federal Records
World War I: British Foreign Office Political Correspondence
World War I: Records of the American Expeditionary Forces, and Diplomacy in the World War I Era
World War II: U.S. Documents on Planning, Operations, Intelligence, Axis War Crimes, and Refugees
Indexes Congressional materials from 1789-present. Includes full text access to U.S. legislative information, including bills and pending legislation, legislative history, hearings, testimony, Congressional Record, CRS Reports, public laws, etc. (For full text of most historic reports and documents, try the U.S. Congressional Serial Set via Readex.) Now also includes Serial Set Maps 1789-2007; Executive Branch Documents 1789-1952; and Presidential Materials 1789-Present.
Full text of documents from various government agencies: the White House, the CIA, the FBI, the State Department and others, declassified by the U.S. government, and obtained from Presidential Libraries.
Selected declassified documents of the US government on a wide range of subjects: Nuclear History, Middle East, Latin America, Asia, Intelligence and Secrecy, September 11, etc. A valuable collection of primary sources. Also lists documents for sale.
Official Documentary Historical record of major US foreign policy decisions and significant diplomatic activity. Includes documents from Presidential libraries, Departments of State and Defense, National Security Council, Central Intelligence Agency, Agency for International Development, and other foreign affairs agencies as well as the private papers of individuals involved in formulating U.S. foreign policy.
