History of Science: Journal and Newspaper Articles

Covers topics on the role of scientific discovery in society and culture, as well as the historiography of scientific disciplines from prehistory to the present. Indexes journal articles, conference proceedings, books, dissertations, serials, maps and other related materials.

Indexes journal articles on the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. Journal coverage back to 1910.

Authoritative international database for research on history of all regions (except the U.S. and Canada) from 1450 to the present. Journal coverage goes back to 1955.

A better alternative to searching Google because it searches the scholarly literature rather than "everything." Very limited tools for refining searches, but you can go into the advanced search to limit a word or phrase be found in the title only. Indexes at the full text article level so it may identify articles not found in other databases. Using Google Scholar Advanced Search (1-min video)

The premier database for searching the biomedical literature. To focus your search on topics related to the history of medicine, include AND history [sb] to your search, like plague AND history [sb]. This will 1) automatically search on multiple iterations of history (histories, historical, biography, etc), while excluding articles on case, patient, or family history.

Full-text database of scholarly journals and books, including titles covering the history of science and technology. NOTE: Coverage of the journals usually goes back to the first issue, but the most recent 3-5 years of articles are generally not available.

Full-text collection of 700+ journals and 18,000+ books in the humanities and social sciences (including history of science and history of medicine).

Indexes 18,000+ journals and 180,000 conference proceedings, heavily in the sciences and engineering, but it also indexes humanities and social science journals and books (including history and philosophy of science). Easy interface for building and/or searches to include alternative keywords. Article records include cited and citing references, with related articles identified based on common citations.

Database of science and business periodical publications going back to 1913. Full text of some articles going back to 1997.

An author index to scientific papers contained in the transactions of societies, journals, and other periodical works.. Vol. 1-6 cover 1800-1863, Vol. 7-8 cover 1864-1873, Vol. 9-11 cover 1874-1883. Vol. 12 is a cumulative index, and Vol. 13-19 cover 1884-1900. You can search within the text of particular volumes, and UCSD affiliates can login to download volumes as PDFs. A subject index is also available. The print copy is in the Library's Indexes collection in Geisel 1 East (Q158 .R812 1965 and Q158 R8122 1965).

Full-text database of American periodicals published between 1740 and 1940, including special interest and general magazines, literary and professional journals, children's and women's magazines and many other historically-significant periodicals.

Full-text database of British periodicals from 1681-2005.

Isis Bibliography of the History of Science, 1974 to date

The Isis Cumulative Bibliographies, 1913-1975

Combined search of the licensed ProQuest newspaper databases, including the full-text historical newspaper collections and US Major Dailies (NY Times, Wall Street Journal, Washington Post, LA Times, and Chicago Tribune).

Portal to archives for the Times of London, Economist, Financial Times, the 17th and 18th Century Burney Newspapers Collection (UK), and the 19th Century US Newspapers collection.

Collection of digital newspapers from South Asia, Southeast Asia, Ukraine, Middle East and North Africa, East Africa, China, Russia/Soviet Union, and more.

Current/historical newspaper collections, including America's Historical Imprints and America's Historical Newspapers.