History of Science, Technology, & Medicine: Encyclopedias / Major Reference Works

Multivolume work on the history of science. Vols. 1-4 are arranged by time period (ancient to 18th century), and Vols. 5-7 focus on modern science by discipline (biological/earth, social, mathematics/physical). Vol. 8 is Modern Science in National, Transnational, and Global Context [2003-2020].

Covers topics on science and medicine in ancient Greece and Rome, within the historical, cultural, and philosophical contexts of those societies. [2016]

Describes and analyzes the development of western science from the Renaissance to the early 21st century. [2003]

Dictionary of more than 2,000 scientific principles. [2010]

Encyclopedia originally published 1973-74, recounting the historical development of ideas in the Western tradition across a range of disciplines, including "external order of nature studied by the physical and biological sciences."

• New Dictionary of the History of Ideas, updated in 2005, available in the library's print collection.

In-depth entries on the history of the scientific, technological, and medical accomplishments of cultures outside of the United States and Europe. [2017]

Overview of historiographic production in the field of history and philosophy of science, offering a historiographical and epistemological analysis on the bases, possibilities, and reaches of science. [2023]

Comprehensive and authoritative overview of the science and technology studies, reviewing current research and major theoretical and methodological approaches. [4th ed, 2017]

Informed introduction to major issues that will foster new and original research in the history of biology, detailing critical perspectives on the state of the field. [2021]

Historiographic analysis of the history of life sciences and medicine in Latin America [2022].

Historiographic analysis of the history of earth and environmental sciences. [2026]

Examines the transformation of the philosophy of mathematics from its origins in the history of mathematical practice to the present. Each section offers insights into the origins, debates, methodologies, and newer perspectives that characterize the discipline today. [2024]

2,000+ detailed biographies of scientists, engineers, explorers, and inventors in all disciplines and time periods. It also includes 380 articles summarizing the timeline of ideas in the leading fields of science, technology, mathematics, and philosophy. [2009]

Guide to sources for natural history research: bibliographies, biographies, library resources, etc. [2008]

Encyclopedia covering inventions, discoveries, concepts, fields of study, and significant contributors to science and medicine in the Medieval period, including South-Central and East Asian science, [2006]

Complete coverage of Islamic philosophy, sciences, and technologies from the classical through contemporary period. [2014]

Explores the changing character of science, medicine, and technology in the United States; the key individuals, institutions, and organizations responsible for major developments; and the concepts, practices, and processes underlying these changes. [2014]

Highlights accomplishments of ancient societies and remaining research problems in the history of ancient technology, from Greek and Roman cultures from 800 BC through AD 500 in the circum-Mediterranean world and Northern Europe. [2009]

50 essays introducing, surveying, summarizing, and analyzing science the ancient Greek and Roman worlds. [2018]

Interdisciplinary approach to studying science and technology within the context of world history. [2020]

Explores the evolution of science from the advents of Christianity and Islam through the Middle Ages, focusing especially on the historical relationship between science and religion. [2010]

History of science in Europe during the 16th-18th centuries and into the Industrial Revolution. [2014]

Explores the history of science in the ancient world from prehistory through roughly 1300 CE, including Asia, Africa, and the Americas. [2021]

Bibliography of primary sources that highlight women’s involvement in scientific knowledge production around the world, covering 1200 BCE to the twenty-first century, and across 12 inclusive and far-reaching themes. [2023]