HILA 118: US Aggression/Latin America 1898- present: UCSD Special and Digital Collections

UCSD's Special Collections and Archives (SC&A) materials are cataloged in UC Library Search and finding aids for manuscript collections (keyword searchable) are available on the SC&A website, along with policies and more information.  Thus, one way to find relevant material is to search in the Finding Aids for a particular place (such as Central America" OR "El Salvador" OR guatemala, etc.) or name (of a person or organization) or an event. 

All SC&A materials are stored in an environmentally controlled, secured area and all users must register and place requests to see the materials. If the items are located onsite, we will pull on demand when you arrive at the library. Keep an eye out for materials that are located offsite (it will say so in UC Library Search), as delivery times for these items may be up to a week.

• Register online to use Special Collections & Archives: https://spcoll-request.ucsd.edu/logon. Once registered, you can place requests online directly from the catalog and finding aids, or log in to your account to queue requests for a future visit and to view previous requests.
• In addition to registering you will also need to show your photo ID when you visit Special Collections.

A Search for "Central America" in SCA's List of finding aids for manuscript collections identified the following materials:

• The Margarita Melville Papers, comprised of personal correspondence, manifestos and other material gathered by  Margarita Melville, a Maryknoll nun who worked in Jacaltenango, Guatemala and was expelled from her order for her association with guerilla groups

• The Gerald Warren Papers contain Warren's office files as the editor (1975-1995) of the San Diego Union as well as some material related to his position as deputy press secretary during the Nixon and Ford administrations. The materials include subject files, correspondence, department files, photographs, membership files, travel files, appointment calendars, telephone logs, and awards. Material relating to Warren's service as deputy press secretary is sparse and relates chiefly to his transition from that office to newspaper editor.

The following Digital Collections and Archived Websites also have Latin American Material (which can be found through keyword searches strategies of the names of places, people, events, and organizations).

• Latin American Political Campaign Ephemera Collection (Pamphlets, posters, other campaign materials from various Latin American countries, 1990s-2009)

• Herman Baca (A selection of documents illustrating the work and activities of Chicano activist Herman Baca and the Committee on Chicano Rights, 1964-2006)

• UCSD's Latin American Election Statistics: A Guide to Resources

  Electronic resource created by Karen Lindvall-Larson, now retired Latin American Studies Librarian at UC San Diego. Consists of a series of volumes on selected Latin American countries that provide chronologies of elections since independence at the municipal, state, and federal levels and list sources of statistics for each election as identified.