Provides access to over 16,000 global sources including: * 1,000+ Global and local newspapers * 3,000+ Journals and magazines * 30,000+ Company Reports. Factiva.com delivers content in 27 languages, from Arabic to Vietnamese.
Factiva is an EXCELLENT resource containing a broad collection of newspapers and periodicals. However, searching in this database is a bit less intuitive than some -- so here are some pointers:
1. Select UC San Diego
2. Click on the Search button along the horizontal bars at the top and select "Search Builder" from the drop-down options.
3. To search Factiva effectively, IT IS ESSENTIAL TO USE BOOLEAN SEARCH TERMS (scroll down on the linked page to find a primer/reminder)!
4. To see if Factiva includes a particular source in its collection, click on the "Source" option and then type its name in the search box.
To limit your search to that publication:
Click on the name/title of the source which will add that publication as a filter. Make sure to click on the title, not on the red icon which indicates "exclude"!
Make sure that under languages there is nothing selected that would limit the language (for example, if English is selected without Spanish or Portuguese for a foreign newspaper from a relevant country, you may not get any results).
And make sure that you change the date range if need be, since the default is the past 3 months only -- and Factiva access may have ended earlier.
Use this link to get to the UCSD subscription to The Economist online, which covers content from 1997-Present. The The Economist Historical Archive provides access to 1823-2015).
Dates vary, but some historical coverage as far back as 1690. More than 5000 sources worldwide, including nearly 1500 in the U.S. Many historical newspapers are in digitized image form. Largely newspapers, with newswires, transcripts, newsletters, magazines, videos.
Nexis Uni contains thousands of full-text sources including newspapers, wires, transcripts, newsletters, magazines, trade journals; also industry news, company information, law reviews, court decisions, statutes. Coverage dates vary. International and U.S. sources.
To find out if Nexis Uni includes a particular source, click on the Sources link along the top and then search by title. If the source appears on the list, click on the 3 vertical dots to the right, and click on "Add to search.Industry and company news and reports covering technology, telecom, electric power, oil and gas, mining, infrastructure, banking, insurance, water, and privatization sectors across Latin America. **IMPORTANT ACCESS INFORMATION for BN AMERICAS: (1) The first time you login, you need to use the passwordless login – put in your email, and click on send magic link. (2) The magic link will probably go to your Junk Mail/Spam – and, if you have that set so that you get a daily digest, by the time you get it, it will probably have expired. Here’s how to get it more quickly and unblock it for the future. (3) Search your inbox or junk mail or deleted mail for: UCSD Spam Quarantine noreply@ucsd.edu (4) Click on “Request New End User Digest” – which will bring up a digest of your most recent spam alerts (5) Find the message from bnamericasnews.com (likely in your junk mail) and click on “Release and Allow Sender” – so that that this email will go into your inbox and, in the future, any emails from BNAmericas will not be blocked. Once you get in, you will be able to reset your password for continued use.
Restricted to UCSD email addresses
Provides detailed coverage of political, economic, and commercial developments covering all countries from 1952 to 1995. Comprehensive quarterly overviews allow researchers to gain a thorough understanding of an event, policy, or development. In addition to the highly regarded, impartial insight from EIU researchers, each report contains tables with detailed country-level statistics downloadable to Excel.
Provides economic studies, company & industry reports, country risk, economic and industrial statistics, and political news with a focus on emerging market countries. Covers public & private companies & global industry reports. Includes interactive data analysis tools & news alerts. Excellent China coverage.
Full text U.S. ethnic community newspapers, newsletters, magazines. Includes African-American, Arab/Middle Eastern, Asian-Pacific, European-American, Hispanic, Jewish, Native-American. Searchable in English and Spanish.
A full text database of publications that focus on the impact of gender across a broad spectrum of subject areas. 1970s-present.
More than 75 years of international news reports, with summaries of political, economic and social events. Search by subject or browse by country. UCSD users ignore logon prompt. May be down for regular maintenance 8-9pm California time.
Custom combined full-runs search of three ProQuest versions of New York Times.
Combined full-run search of the Los Angeles Times, both historical and current.
Offers current news on all branches of the military and government through a collection of periodicals, academic journals, and other content pertinent to the increasing needs of those sites.
Custom combined full-runs search of three ProQuest versions of Washington Post.
Translations by U.S. government of international magazine, newspaper, and newswire stories, transcripts from speeches and radio and television. Scanned from print Daily Report issues covering areas such as China, East Asia, Latin America.
More than 75 years of international news reports, with summaries of political, economic and social events. Search by subject or browse by country. UCSD users ignore logon prompt. May be down for regular maintenance 8-9pm California time.
Custom combined full-runs search of three ProQuest versions of New York Times.
Combined full-run search of the Los Angeles Times, both historical and current.
Custom combined full-runs search of three ProQuest versions of Washington Post.
Provides full-text searching and access to one of the world’s most authoritative sources on international business, economics, and politics.
The EHA provides a completely searchable copy of every issue of The Economist published from 1843 to 2015. Features include full-color images, multiple search indexes, and the facility to browse each issue.
Provides detailed coverage of political, economic, and commercial developments covering all countries from 1952 to 1995. Comprehensive quarterly overviews allow researchers to gain a thorough understanding of an event, policy, or development. In addition to the highly regarded, impartial insight from EIU researchers, each report contains tables with detailed country-level statistics downloadable to Excel.
