Keep up with what is being published in your field by downloading Browzine.
Browzine allows you to browse, organize, read and keep up with your favorite scholarly journals licensed by UC San Diego. You can use it on your desktop, laptop, or mobile device.
UCSD Libraries subscribe to several databases specific to Sociology. Databases contain articles that have been published in scholarly journals. These are just a few recommended for your research. Use the yellow UC-eLinks button to find the online full text or print articles when the article isn't automatically available full text in the database.
1963-present. Abstracts journal articles, monographs, dissertations, conference proceedings, other research covering sociology, social work, and related social sciences. Also includes selected web resources.
Contains full text for 890 journals dating back to 1908. This database also includes full text for more than 850 books and monographs; full text for over 16,800 conference papers; and informative abstracts for more than 1,300 "core" coverage journals dating as far back as 1895. Subjects covered include criminology & criminal justice, demography, ethnic & racial studies, gender studies, marriage & family, political sociology, religion, rural & urban sociology, social development, social psychology, social structure, social work, socio-cultural anthropology, sociological history, sociological research, sociological theory, substance abuse & other addictions, violence and many others.
The following databases look at all areas of the social sciences, humanities and arts and also general interest publications. With one search, you may be able to pull out research from many different disciplines.
Multidisciplinary database with 17,800+ journals and magazines, of which 16,000+ are peer-reviewed and 8,750+ are full-text. Also included are books, conference papers and proceedings, government documents, newspapers, video content, and more. Coverage begins in 1887, with material in English, Spanish, German, French, Italian and Portuguese.
Search by subject or browse 2,600+ full-text titles, predominantly scholarly journals and books in social sciences, history, humanities, and science and mathematics, to their earliest issues. Many titles extend as far back as late 19th or early 20th centuries; most recent 3-5 years often not included. JSTOR provides access to more than 12 million academic journal articles, books, and primary sources in 75 disciplines.
Search by subject or browse full text scholarly journals in the arts and humanities, social sciences and mathematics. More than 700 journals from over 250 university presses and scholarly publishers are available. Coverage begins 1906 or later, depending on the publication. UCSD also has access to over 30,000 book titles.
Depending on your specific area of research, you may want to look in related disciplines and fields of study. The following databases cover a larger number of publications than more general databases.
1895-present. International database for research on all periods of U.S. and Canadian history, including very recent years. Includes abstracts of journal articles and listings of books and dissertations. Over 1,800 journals are indexed.
Comprehensive bibliographic index representing all types of material on Mexican-American topics. Provides extensive indexing from 1960s to the present; selective coverage back to early 1900s. Since 1992 includes articles on the broader Latino experience.
1963-present. Abstracts articles, reports, papers, books from a variety of publishers and research institutions in all areas of communication studies (mass, interpersonal and new communication technologies).
Sponsored by the U.S. Dept of Education; provides access to educational-related literature. Coverage includes journal articles and non-journal sources in education which are not available online. If not online, write down the ED# located in the 'Accession Number' field of the record, and check the ERIC documents microfiche cabinets located in the Geisel Library Reference Area.
1987-present; limited 1970-86. Covers writing about film and television for scholars, students and the general public. Subjects include film & television theory, preservation & restoration, writing, production, cinematography, technical aspects, reviews
1863-present. International database for research on history of all regions (except the U.S. and Canada) from 1450 to the current decade. Content includes
indexing of historical articles from more than 2,300 journals in over 40 languages.
Index for all aspects of Urban Studies from 1973 to the present. Includes abstracts and many full-text links. Formerly Sage Urban Studies Abstracts.
1972-present. Abstracts of journal articles, books and other materials drawn from a variety of women's studies databases, including Women's Studies Abstracts (1984-present).
1975-present. Research within the political science discipline and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration/policy. Use the Get it at UC button to find full text, print, and/or request the item from another library.
