Skip to main content

HILD 2A - Survey of Early American History: How to Find and Request Special Collections Materials

To accompany the section visits to Special Collections, this guide provides the basics for getting started using Special Collections for your papers, and includes a list of the materials shown in class.

Searching the Catalog for Special Collections Materials

In Roger, the Library's catalog, use the Advanced Search to limit your search within the parameters of your assignment. For example, you can limit to only those items created prior to 1800, select a particlar language or languages, and limit to just those items in special collections by selecting that option in the LOCATION limit:

 

NOTE: You can also start with a basic keyword search, and select "Modify Seach" at the top of the results list to get to these same limit options:

 

 

From the results list, click on the title to see more detail and to proceed with placing a request:

 

 

Placing Requests From the Catalog

Within the detailed description of an item, look for the Request link on the right, on the same line as the call number and status:

 

You will be prompted to Login - if you have not yet registered, you will be prompted to register at this point. The citation information will carry over from the catalog automatically in to the request form. Look it over, schedule the date of your visit, and submit your request!

A note about delivery times: Generally speaking, we can pull materials the same day, just moments after you place the request if you're already in the library, but keep an eye out for our materials that are stored OFFSITE, as delivery of these times may take up to a week.

 

 

You're now ready to come in to Special Collections (bring your ID!). Don't forget our hours:

 

Hours:  M-F, 9-5during the summer

Questions? Email us at spcoll@ucsd.edu