This reference looks at 500 major marketing and advertising campaigns of the 20th century from a historical perspective and several related initiatives of earlier years that developed the basis for present day advertising.
Find articles about business strategy
Use these two resources for articles about your company's:
Look up a company, then click on the company name to display the full record.
What public sources of information are available on my companies?
Basic company history and chronology
Gale Business InsightsGBI is a great first-stop for business and management information. It includes information on companies and industries from business and trade journals, academic journals, industry reports, newspapers, newsletters, and classic business reference sources. Search on a company name. In the search results, click on individual companies to open well-organized company profiles.
A simple company search in Nexis Uni yields a number of useful results, including our online access to full Hoover's Company Profiles, which contain quick background on companies, their competitors, exceutives and operations.
Factiva is good for company background, business news and academic articles, and specializes in local and international news in English and many other languages. See the special News Pages tab for browsing.
Scroll down on the landing page to the Newsstand: US section for the latest content of Wall Street Journal, USA Today, Los Angeles Times, New York Times, Washington Post, Chicago Tribune, Barron's & more.
The fulltext of the WSJ is searchable by topic or browseable by day. We also have a subscription to WSJ.com you can sign up for.
What material is there for SWOT analyses?
Business Source CompleteDates of coverage vary, some journals back to early 20th century. Abstracts and full text in virtually all subject areas related to Business, Management and Finance. Journal and magazine articles; also books, industry reports, company profiles, SWOT analysis, much more
Gale Business InsightsGBI is a great first-stop for business and management information. It includes information on companies and industries from business and trade journals, academic journals, industry reports, newspapers, newsletters, and classic business reference sources. Search on a company name. In the search results, click on individual companies to open well-organized company profiles.
This link opens in a new window
Nexis UniNexis Uni contains thousands of full-text sources including newspapers, wires, transcripts, newsletters, magazines, trade journals; also industry news, company information, law reviews, court decisions, statutes. Coverage dates vary. International and U.S. sources. (Previously called Lexis Nexis Academic).
This database contains background information on advertisers and advertising agencies and fields related to applied marketing. Other places to look: for articles in Nexis Uni, Business Source Complete, Gale Business Insights or Factiva. Also check latest annual report/company financials, if you have a public company..
Where can I get 10-year trends in a company’s financials?
Equity Pricing tab; also under Company Details - History tab there are easy to find summaries on LTD, changes in business & property holdings, capital stock actions
Company annual reports can be found on public companies' Investor Relations section of their websites. Also we have an archive of annual reports in the Mergent Archives.
Refinitiv WorkspaceWorkspace provides financial and economic data, news, equity reports, and company & industry analysis. Its international in scope and covers both public and private company information. RW is most often used for investment analysts’ reports, public company financials & filings, business news, economic indicators, stock prices, and data, and a variety of instruments (bonds, commodities, currencies, ETFs, futures, indexes, options and more). Unique content includes ESG data, performance forecasts & consensus estimates, deals & transactions (M&A, IPOs, venture capital & private equity). Download limit of 150 pages per day, reset daily at midnight local time. New users complete self-registration here - https://my.refinitiv.com/productregistration.html
RW is only available to UC San Diego students, faculty, and staff; only for non-commercial, academic research. It replaces ThomsonONE/Investext and Datastream, and now works across several browsers.
Register only once; otherwise login to Workspace using the main link. You may use web or desktop app version (includes the Workspace add-in for Excel), once you are registered.
How can I figure out my company's organizational structure?
if you are studying a Fortune 500 company, this directory lists key operating units of a company. Also covers the larger nonprofits.
Mergent OnlineProvides detailed information about U.S. and International public companies. Content includes: links to SEC EDGAR filings, current and archived company profiles and annual reports, historical financial and stock price data, financial ratios, equity research reports, and industry reports.
Encyclopedia of Major Marketing Campaigns
