MGT 103: Product Marketing and Management: Industries

Use this guide to find content for your marketing plan class assignment.

Marketing Overviews

RKMA Market Research
Richard K. Miller & Associates (RKMA) compiles handbooks of market research in business to business, healthcare and consumer markets. The reports include market size, sector analysis, forecasts and other statistics. Annually/biennially updated.
The latest reports include:

Box Office Mojo
Variety
trade journal of the entertainment industry
WWD
trade journal of the fashion & apparel industry
Billboard
Well-known for coverage of the international music, video and home entertainment industry
Nation's Restaurant News

What public sources of information are available on my industries

IBISWorld Industry Intelligence
IBISWorld contains U.S. and global industry market research reports, including a specialized collection of China Industry Reports. It also provides U.S. business risk ratings, and selected economic and demographic data. Contents are downloadable as full reports or selected elements, such as SWOT analyses, statistical tables and graphs.
EMIS Next Academic Research (formerly EMIS Intelligence)
Includes global industry reports in addition to good coverage of industry news for Latin America, Europe, Asia, the Middle East, and North Africa
Passport GMID: Global Market Information Database
Passport GMID is a product from Euromonitor International that provides reports and statistics on international consumers and markets, including details about consumer market segmentation, industry forecasts, consumer spending and attitudes, and macroeconomic and business trends. It's also a great source to download demographic information to show timeline trends. Coverage is global (200+ countries).
Sports Market Analytics (formerly SBRnet)
Sports Market Analytics provides "one-stop" access to market research, consumer demographics, and industry news related to a broad range of sporting activities, events and facilities. Coverage includes US and international sport, along the dimensions of professional and college sports, leagues, events, athletes, fans, sponsorship, branding and merchandise (apparel, footwear, equipment), broadcast and social media, mobile sports, attendance and trends. There are some directories with links to sports management education programs and employment resources.

Other strong sources

Gale Business Insights
On the landing page, click Browse and choose Industries
BMI Country Risk Global & All Industry Global BMI provides proprietary data, analyst reports, ratings, rankings, and forecasts covering 175 countries and 25 industry sectors. Login path: choose SSO > Organization ID = UCSD. BMI includes lengthy country and industry reports, financial markets and commodities coverage, plus newsletters and daily alerts.
LSEG Refinitiv Workspace
Some of the analyst reports here focus on an entire industry. Also, when you look at a company, you can find data on the industry
Workspace is only available to UC San Diego students, faculty, and staff; only for non-commercial, academic research. It replaces ThomsonONE/Investext and Datastream, and now works across several browsers.

Register only once; otherwise login to Workspace using the main link. You may use web or desktop app version (includes the Workspace add-in for Excel), once you are registered.
Key Business Ratios
KBR will give you industry performance finanancials so you can compare your company's performance against the norms for its industry.
Mergent Online
From the landing page, display a particular company, then choose the Reports tab, then choose Industry Reports
ProQuest Statistical Insight
Good help if you can't find material on an industry anywhere else.
As of 2020, subscription includes:
Statistical Insight Tables
Statistical Insight Statistical Reference Index Full Text
Statistical Insight American Statistics Index Abstracts and Indexing ONLY (no current full text)
ProQuest Statistical Insight IIS Abstracts and Indexing Web Service (no current full text)
ProQuest Statistical Insight SRI Abstracts and Indexing Web Service