Skip to Main Content
The Library

UC/Stanford Government Information Librarians (GILS): Bylaws

Bib Group change to CKG

As of April 2016, GILS transitioned from a bib group to a common knowledge group (CKG). The bylaws governing the bib group, last updated in 2005, were replaced by the CKG Charter below.

GILS CKG Charter

Government Information Libraries (GILS)

Common Knowledge Group Charter

 

1. Summary and Scope of Work:

The GILS CKG is a standing group of experts and pioneers in the area of Government Information. This CKG communicates with and provides support to the UC Libraries Advisory Structure but does not make system-wide policy decisions, manage projects or project teams, or oversee ongoing services. The GILS CKG does make recommendations for system-wide purchases and license agreements within the scope of individual members’ purchasing authority.

The GILS CKG provides a forum for members to share information about projects, services, and collections related to government information at the International, Federal, California and local level and other matters of concern to government information professionals.  The goals of the group are to improve University-wide collections and access to government information in printed and electronic formats, and to facilitate communication and the sharing of expertise among government information librarians. The GILS CKG also serves as a resource for information professionals with new or added responsibility for government information in the UC system and CKG member libraries.

2. Key Expectations

The GILS CKG will:

  • Gather and share information about the environment, opportunities, new technologies, best practices, and local campus developments related to library collections and services involving government information.
  • Collaborate on the development and preservation of print and digital government information collections, identify problems and propose potential solutions.
  • Assess interest among government information librarians in shared content, database trials, tiered acquisitions, shared purchases and collection management proposals and relay feedback and priorities to UC collections groups like CDL and SCLG.
  • Provide input and information to other UC Libraries groups as requested.
  • Conceive and advance innovative ideas and improvements relevant to the UC Libraries’ Systemwide Plan and Priorities.
  • Coordinate work as is relevant with other CKGs (yet to be identified) in the Social Sciences, Maps and Geospatial Data, Sciences, etc.
  • Explore and share information about our services related to government produced statistics and data.

3. Membership and Terms of Appointment

The GILs CKG is open to staff members on each campus who have responsibility for the development and management of government information collections.  The group may include CDL, Stanford, the California State Library (CSL), CSU and other California academic libraries as non-voting, non-chairing members. To seek membership interested parties should contact the GILS CKG Chair (or co-Chairs). Members are appointed indefinitely dependent on their continued responsibilities in this area.

The Chair or co-Chairs are librarians who will serve a two-year term commencing September 1st,. Nominations including self-nomination for Chair are due May 1st, with elections held by June 30th.  Elections will take place via email, with simple majority needed to confirm Chair by June 30th.

  • Chairs call meetings, handle communications to and from the UC Advisory Structure and CDL, and oversee posting of meeting minutes.
  • The Chair is responsible for designating a minute-taker at group meetings and conference calls.

Current members include:

Berkeley: Jim Church, Julie Lefevre, Nick Robinson, Jesse Silva

Davis: Juri Stratford

Irvine: Brian Williams

Los Angeles: Maria Jankowska, Joseph Yue

Merced: Jim Dooley

Riverside: Ken Furuta

San Diego: Kelly Smith, Annelise Sklar

Santa Barbara: Shari Laster, Angela Boyd

Santa Cruz: Lucia Orlando

4. Communication and Meetings

This CKG’s communication responsibilities are to:

1. Communicate regularly through the use of two listservs;

  • The GILS-ALL listserv includes Stanford and other non-UC members and is used for communication with all members affiliated with this CKG.
  • The GILS-UC-ONLY listserv is used to discuss UC system-wide issues, such as new database acquisitions, etc.
    • To subscribe, send a subscription request to GILS-ALL or GILS-UC-ONLY  first name and last name to listproc@ucdavis.edu.

2. Post and maintain a historical record of meeting minutes and reports, accessible to all interested UC Libraries staff

 

 

Submitted April 6, 2016