Skip to main content

UC/Stanford Government Information Librarians (GILS): Annual Reports

Annual Reports

UC/Stanford Government Information Librarians (GILS) 2006-2007 Annual Report

 

Steering Committee Members:

Lucia Orlando, UCSC, Chair: Northern campuses rep (2005/2007)

Kris Kasianovitz, UCLA: Southern campuses rep (2006/08)

Janet Martorana, UCSB: At-large (2005/2007)

Nick Robinson, UCB: At-large (2006/08)

Patricia Cruse, CDL (Ex-Officio)

CDC Liaison: Martha Hruska           

JSC Liaison: Lucia Snowhill

 

Major Accomplishments:

A subcommittee completed the work begun last year to re-design the GILS website. The new website was developed with the assistance of Bryn Kanar, UCSC library Web Developer. The site provides a clean professional presence for GILS and consists of information about GILS, links to GILs homepages, directory of member libraries, projects and reports, guides and training, and minutes. The page can be found at http://www.library.ucsb.edu/hosted/gils/

The GILS annual meeting was held May 29th, 2007 in Oakland. The meeting’s agenda included discussions about a CSL/UC Davis LSTA grant proposal, the Shared Cataloging Project, LOCKSS, and use of the OCLC Digital Archive etc.  The meeting also included a robust discussion regarding opportunities for coordination and collaboration on digital projects. UC Berkeley provided an in-depth look at how they have incorporated Web 2.0 technology such as Chat Reference, wikis and blogs into their webpages, reference and instruction services.   Minutes for this meeting can be found at http://www.library.ucsb.edu/hosted/gils/minutes.html

Participated in the JSC Annual Bibliographer Survey, providing a ranked list of recommended resources.

Elections were held to replace the two outgoing steering committee members Janet Martorana and Lucia Orlando. The new GILS Steering Committee members for 2007-09 are:

Marcia Meister, UCD, Northern Campus Rep

Rebecca Hyde, UCSD, Member-at-large

Kris Kasianovitz from UCLA (krisk@library.ucla.edu) , Southern Campus Rep and Marcia Meister from UC Davis (mmeister@lib.ucdavis.edu), Member-at-large will serve as co-chairs for the 2007-08 term.

 

Major Goals for 2007-2008

GILS Subcommittees will:

Address digital collection development issues and devise ways to collaborate regarding acquisitions of digital government information.

Continue participation in the NDIIPP Web at Risk grant as curators.

Address training needs for continued development of government information expertise.

Develop training materials for systemwide use, utilizing the GILs website, wikis or other collaborative tools.

Continue to develop a shared collection of retrospective government document collections in both RLF facilities

UC/Stanford Government Information Librarians (GILS) 2004/05 Annual Report

September , 2005

To: Lucia Snowhill, Chair of UC Collection Development ommittee

From: UC/Stanford GILS Steering Committee

Steering Committee Members: Jim Church (UCB), northern representative, Patsy Inouye (UCD), member-at-large, James Jacobs (UCSD), southern representative, Yvonne Wilson (UCI), member-at-large

Co-chairs: Yvonne Wilson and Jim Church

CDC Liaison: Phyllis Mirsky JSC Liaison: Lucia Snowhill

Major accomplishments: Annual meeting was held May 4, 2005 at Berkeley. This meeting covered many pressing issues concerning the changes in the US depository system, rapid movement from paper to electronic documents, progress of the California state library to maintain the distribution of state documents and act as the regional depository for federal documents, and lay the groundwork for closely working with CDC and SOPAG to preserve our legacy collections and preserve our depository status. The minutes of the annual meeting with action items can be found at [http://www.library.ucsb.edu/gils/GILSMay05.pdf]

Listserv addresses for GILS were changed.

GILS-ALL gils-all@ucdavis.edu is used for all GILS members including Stanford. It replaces GOVINFO. GILS-UC-ONLY gils-uc-only@ucdavis.edu is now the UC only address to be used especially when discussing system-wide issues, such as, new databases.

Revised the CDC organization agreement for GILS.

http://www.library.ucsb.edu/gils/gilscharge.html New GILS Steering Committee members for 2005/06-2006/07: Lucia Orlando (UCSC northern representative, Janet Martorana (UCSB) member-at-large. Martorana will be the 2005/06 chair. Major Goals for 2005/2006

GILS Subcommittees will:

Accomplish the charge from the CDC to write a report which will assess the impact of the transition from print-based to predominantly electronic government information, and recommend pragmatic steps for providing primarily electronic government information to UC patrons. Phase one of this charge will focus on UC federal documents.

Complete the revision of the web site UC Gateway for Government Information. http://www.library.ucla.edu/ucgils/ In consultation with Nancy Kushigian, CDL Director Shared Print Collections, draft a plan for shared collections which will address access, cataloging, custodial and inventory issues.

Receive reports from GILS members participating in the NDIIP Web at Risk grant as curators. Opportunities for collaboration with GILS may also be sought.

UC/Stanford Government Information Librarians (GILS)

2004/05 Annual Report

September , 2005
To: Lucia Snowhill, Chair of UC Collection Development Committee

From: UC/Stanford GILS Steering Committee
Steering Committee Members: Jim Church (UCB), northern representative, Patsy Inouye (UCD), member-at-large, James Jacobs (UCSD), southern representative, Yvonne Wilson (UCI), member-at-large
Co-chairs: Yvonne Wilson and Jim Church
CDC Liaison: Phyllis Mirsky JSC Liaison: Lucia Snowhill
 

Major accomplishments:

  • Annual meeting was held May 4, 2005 at Berkeley. This meeting covered many pressing issues concerning the changes in the US depository system, rapid movement from paper to electronic documents, progress of the California state library to maintain the distribution of state documents and act as the regional depository for federal documents, and lay the groundwork for closely working with CDC and SOPAG to preserve our legacy collections and preserve our depository status. The minutes of the annual meeting with action items can be found at [http://www.library.ucsb.edu/gils/GILSMay05.pdf]
     
  • Listserv addresses for GILS were changed. GILS-ALL gils-all@ucdavis.edu is used for all GILS members including Stanford. It replaces GOVINFO. GILS-UC-ONLY gils-uc-only@ucdavis.edu is now the UC only address to be used especially when discussing system-wide issues, such as, new databases.
     
  • Revised the CDC organization agreement for GILS. http://www.library.ucsb.edu/gils/gilscharge.html
  • New GILS Steering Committee members for 2005/06-2006/07:
    Lucia Orlando (UCSC northern representative,
    Janet Martorana (UCSB) member-at-large. Martorana will be the 2005/06 chair.

Major Goals for 2005/2006

GILS Subcommittees will:

  • Accomplish the charge from the CDC to write a report which will assess the impact of the transition from print-based to predominantly electronic government information, and recommend pragmatic steps for providing primarily electronic government information to UC patrons. Phase one of this charge will focus on UC federal documents.
     
  • Complete the revision of the web site UC Gateway for Government Information. http://www.library.ucla.edu/ucgils/
     
  • In consultation with Nancy Kushigian, CDL Director Shared Print Collections, draft a plan for shared collections which will address access, cataloging, custodial and inventory issues.
     
  • Receive reports from GILS members participating in the NDIIP Web at Risk grant as curators.
     
  • Opportunities for collaboration with GILS may also be sought.

UC/SU Government Information Librarians Report March 20, 1997

March 20, 1997

TO: David Farrell

FROM: Lucia Snowhill (UCSB), Linda Kennedy (UCD)

RE: UC/SU Government Information Librarians Report

NAME OF GROUP: UC/Stanford Government Information Librarians (UC/SU GILS)

NAMES OF CONVENOR(S) Linda Kennedy (UCD) and Lucia Snowhill (UCSB)

NAME OF CDC LIAISON: Roberto Trujillo (Stanford)

NAMES OF CURRENT MEMBERS /Campus affiliations

BERKELEY: Andrea Sevetson, Susanna Hinojosa, Christof Galli, Jim Ronningen, Ron Heckart, Marc Levin, Terry Dean

DAVIS: Linda Kennedy, Patsy Inouye, David Lundquist, Marcia Meister, Juri Stratford

IRVINE: Judy Horn, Kay Collins, Margaret Renton, Yvonne Wilson

LOS ANGELES: Lauri Kram, Jan Goldsmith, Chere Negaard, Barbara Silvernail

RIVERSIDE: Margaret Mooney, Lynne Reasoner

SAN DIEGO: Patricia Cruse, Larry Cruse, Joanne Donovan, Sam Dunlap, Victoria Williamson

SANTA BARBARA: Lucia Snowhill, Carol Doyle, Janet Martorana, Sherry DeDecker, Barbara Ceizler Silver

SANTA CRUZ: Cynthia Jahns

STANFORD: Chuck Eckman, Joan Loftus

CURRENT PROJECTS & ACTIVITIES

Communications and Cooperative Access: The UC/SU Government Information Librarians maintain an active communications network.

LISTSERVER: Members communicate regularly via the GOVINFO listserver maintained at UC Davis. There are currently 45 subscribers.

MEETINGS: The group meets annually, in conjunction with the California Depository Library Conference. Minutes of the Annual meetings are posted on the GILS web site, discussed below.

WWW: In 1996, the UC/SU GILS gopher site was replaced by an extremely useful Internet site located at UCB. The web site is maintained by Andrea Sevetson. The UC/SU Government Information Librarians Homepage contains links to government information homepages on the various campuses, as well as to local guides, and a link to a useful collection of working tools and resource documents maintained by UCB. The web site also includes UC/SU GILS administrative documents, such as agenda and minutes, as well as hosting the reports of the UC/Stanford Electronic Government Information Initiatives Group.

DIRECTORY: The printed Directory of Government Publications Departments is now mounted on the GILS web site, where it can be continuously updated. The Directory greatly facilitates cooperative activities.

UNION LIST: In 1997, the Union List of Microform Government Publications and Holdings was made available on the GILS web site. Between 1995 and 1996, the Northern California list of microform holdings was gradually expanded to include holdings for all UC's, Stanford and the California State Library, with selected holdings for important or unique government information resources in other libraries. Paper copies of the Union list were distributed in conjunction with GILS meetings.

DIRECT BORROWING AND INTERLIBRARY LOAN: The UC and Stanford Government Information Librarians have always had a strong history of sharing resources, particularly large microform sets. The Union List facilitates direct borrowing, which still occurs among the UC and Stanford libraries. Some resources are loaned through inter-library loan; others, particularly microform sets, are shared on a direct borrow basis, depending upon the campus. Libraries continue to rely on the California State Library , (our Regional Federal Depository Library) for little used material, and for technical report literature.

COOPERATIVE AGREEMENT: The Agreement On The Cooperative Development Of Access To Government Information Among The University Of California/Stanford Libraries is posted on the GILS web site. There have been no changes to the Agreement.

FOREIGN DOCUMENTS COLLECTION DEVELOPMENT: The group is developing a survey to determine what current levels and areas of collecting is going on campuses to determine if there are ways to divide geographically to ensure better coverage throughout t he system.

UC/STANFORD ELECTRONIC GOVERNMENT INFORMATION GROUP (EGIIG):The UC/SU Government Information Librarians regularly provide input to the UC/Stanford Electronic Government Information Group (EGIIG) on electronic government information issues such as investigation of projects related to access and archiving of electronic government information. As a result of discussion at the 1996 GILS meeting, EGIIG made a recommendation that the University seek a statewide contract for STAT/USA. EGIIG is seeking UC/SU GIL discussion of aspects of serving as an electronic regional depository for federal government information. has asked UC and Stanford librarians for suggestions of potential partnership projects for federal information.

MAJOR ACCOMPLISHMENTS

SHARED PURCHASES: UC/SU GILS has a strong history of shared purchases for large microfiche sets. The most recent sets include UN Development Programme publications (1995, a cooperative purchase) CIS Executive Documents 1789-1909, parts 1 and 2 (Mini-Scap proposals in 1994/95 and 1995/96)

COOPERATIVE ACCESS: The primary focus of the group in the last few years has been in maximizing access to electronic government information, building on what had been a strong cooperative access network for a number of years. A an example of the information sharing that occurs, UC/Stanford government information librarians shared opinions (via GOVINFO) on the pros and cons of selecting the voluminous full-text patent cd-roms, USAPAT.

INFOMINE: UC Riverside established this comprehensive web site for government information by subject, a site which other campuses often consult for subject access. GILS members serve as a user advisory group, and have also taken on responsibility for adding sites in specified areas, such as foreign governments or international organizations.

CQ/CIS: In spring of 1996, the UC/SU GILS conducted an in-depth review of CQ resources compared to other legislative information sources for the Computer Files Committee. Cynthia Jahns coordinated the work, with contributors from each campus, of analyzing each CQ database. A presentation on CIS's new website for congressional information was offered to GILS members attending ALA Midwinter 1997, and GILS members are starting to evaluate the CIS database in comparison to CQ.

NTIS: UC Davis is currently participating in a project with the National Technical Information Service to obtain electronic versions of technical reports. Extensive technical report collections, such as those from the Department of Energy and NASA, will no longer be distributed in microfiche format. UCD is testing on-demand free delivery to depository libraries. The test may include other UC libraries in the next phase of the pilot project.

ADDITIONAL COMMENTS

The UC/Stanford Government Information Librarians group was established as a selector group in October of 1993.

The goals of the UC/Stanford Government Information Librarians Group (GIL) selector group include the general goals for selector groups in the University of California and Stanford: to improve University-wide access to government information resources and to support projects which result in lowering costs and broadening the resource base available to support UC programs.

Another goal in creation of GIL is to maintain communication and share expertise. Reorganizations have resulted in merging of government documents reference and/or technical processing functions with other library units at some campuses. GIL provides a mechanism for continuing to work together on common problems and issues. Due to the rapid transition to electronic formats in the area of government information, effective communication is even more critical.

UC/STANFORD GOVERNMENT INFORMATION LIBRARIANS

First Annual Report

October 1993-October 1995

The UC/Stanford Government Information Librarians group was established as a selector group in October of 1993.

In response to a March 1993 memo from the Collection Development Committee of Library Council, the government information librarians in the University of California and Stanford University formed a statewide organization to formalize their long-standing and productive cooperative rnia group had historically included librarians from Stanford, the California State Library, and other major area documents collections in its meetings. In recent years, the University of Nevada, Reno had joined, and participated a direct-borrowing arrangement that continues to operate, generally on a regional basis. The California State Library is an active participant as a lender in the direct loan program. UC and Stanford documents librarians had also been active participants in the UC Shared Collections and Access Program (SCAP), the source of many large documents sets.

The goals of the UC/Stanford Government Information Librarians Group (GIL) selector group include the general goals for selector groups in the University of California and Stanford: to improve University-wide access to government information resources and to support projects which result in lowering costs and broadening the resource base available to support UC programs.

Another goal in creation of GIL is to maintain communication and share expertise. Reorganizations have resulted in merging of government documents reference and/or technical processing functions with other library units at some campuses. GIL provides a mechanism for continuing to work together on common problems and issues. Due to the rapid transition to electronic formats in the area of government information, effective communication is even more critical.

Structure and Meetings

  • Membership

The UC/Stanford Government Information Librarians consists of government information selectors from the University of California and Stanford. The California State Library, University of Southern California and University of Nevada Reno will be included on the mailing list and invited to meetings as appropriate.

  • Chair/Convenor

At each annual meeting, a Convenor is elected for the next annual meeting, and the date and location of the meeting is established

Meetings

GIL meets annually in the fall, alternating meetings North and South. Meetings are scheduled in conjunction with the California Depository Library Conference, if possible.

  • Inaugural Meeting: October 18, 1993, UC Irvine.

Convenor: Linda Kennedy

  • Second annual meeting: September 23, 1994, Sacramento

Convenor: Chuck Eckman

  • Third annual meeting September 22, 1995, UC Irvine

Convenor: Lauri Kram

Detailed minutes from each of these meetings are available on the GIL gopher mentioned below.

Communications

The Govinfo listserver was established to share information. Linda Kennedy, UC Davis, is the list administrator. There are currently 32 subscribers.

GILS information is posted on a section of the UC Berkeley INFOLIB Gopher. Cooperative agreements, minutes of meetings, and the Directory have been posted. The Union List will be posted when fully revised. Andrea Sevetson, UC Berkeley, administers the GIL gopher. (URL: gopher:// infolib.berkeley.edu:70/11/resdbs/gove/ucstan)

Directory

The UC/Stanford Government Information Librarians update a Directory of Government Publications Departments on an annual basis. The work has been coordinated by UC Davis. The list includes Stanford, California State Library, and University of Nevada, Reno. With the posting of an electronic version of the Directory of the GIL gopher, updating will be continuous and distribution handled electronically. At its 1995 meeting GIL agreed on an annual date for reviewing the currency of the listings.

Resource Sharing

  • Union List: Substantial work has gone into updating a Union list of Microform sets. A Northern California list was updated with Southern California campus holdings, and additional titles added. The list was originally compiled as a paper list at UC Davis. When completed, the Union List will be posted on the GIL gopher described above)
  • Cooperative Agreement: In 1994, GIL approved a list of the major microform sets that have been cooperatively acquired for which it would like to formalize a resource sharing agreement. Chuck Eckman, formerly at UCB and now at Stanford, compiled the list, which was submitted to Anthony Angiletta for approval by CDC on December 19, 1994. A copy of the agreement is attached.
  • Mini-SCAP: GIL submitted the following 1994/95 MINI-SCAP proposal. CDC funded Part 1 for 1994/95. : US Executive Branch Documents, 1789-1909 on Microfiche, Bethesda, MD., Congressional Information Service. Parts 1-6 and supplement.
  • Cooperative Purchase: In 1995 five campuses (B,D,LA,SB,Stanford) jointly purchased a microfiche set of United Nations Development Programme microfiche covering 1981-1992 and corresponding indexing on CD-ROM. The fiche set was sited at Berkeley, which contributed half of the total cost and committed to maintaining an ongoing subscription to the set."
  • MELVYL Databases: In 1995, GIL discussed via its listserver the additional government information databases, both full-text and bibliographic, which could be made available via MELVYL. GIL forwarded a list of priorities, with rankings from specific campuses, to Beverlee French, chair of the Computer Files Committee.

Electronic Government Information

Government information is moving rapidly to electronic formats. Much of the 1995 annual meeting of GIL concerned electronic formats.

  • Through its listserver, and through its meetings, GIL provides input to the UC/Stanford Electronic Government Information Initiatives Group (EGIIG). Five EGIIG members attended the September 1995 meeting.
     
  • Infomin: GIL members will participate in a project initiated at UC Riverside to further develop its database of links to Internet government Information sources. Using software developed at UCR, participants will be responsible for identifying Internet resources in a specific area, such as a region, state, locality, or a category of intergovernmental organization. Links will be established from the INFOMINE database. Subject terms, keywords and an abstract will be added by the participants. This project is being sponsored by the EGIIG Committee. GIL members will also participate in an editorial board for the government information database to establish additional guidelines for the project.
     
  • STAT-USA: At its September 1995 meeting, GIL suggested to EGIIG that it study the technical issues involved in acquiring a low-cost group subscription to the STAT-USA database to facilitate web access at UC campuses. DLA is now investigating this option.
     
  • CQ Washington Alert: At its second and third annual meetings, GIL members provided input to Laine Farley of DLA on CQ Washington Alert performance and problems.

Pending Proposals

  • Ariel: At the 1995 meeting, Chuck Eckman, Stanford University, suggested GIL consider establishing an Ariel-based document delivery service for selected materials, making use of existing Ariel equipment in campus libraries. Members are looking into the issues on their home campuses.
Loading