Skip to main content
Encyclopedias & Websites
Use these specialized encyclopedias as scholarly, authoritative, sources to learn more about a new subject, find introductory material for your papers, or to help you find ideas for research topics.
Encyclopedia of Atmospheric Sciences
This authoritative resource covers all aspects of atmospheric sciences with topics ranging from climate variability, air-sea interactions, global climate change, greenhouse gases, to weather prediction and the impact of climate on the oceans. There are almost 350 articles and over 1,900 figures and photographs presented, many in full-color. This is a good resource for anyone interested in the fields of atmospheric, ocean, and environmental sciences.
Encyclopedia of Ocean Sciences
This comprehensive resource is a good place to start your research on all aspects of oceanography or marine sciences. For example, it includes authoritative information on marine biology, ecology, ecosystems, fisheries, marine policy, the impact of pollution and climate change, and the use of the oceans for food and energy.
Climate Data Online
NOAA's National Centers for Environmental Information describes their great website as: "Climate Data Online (CDO) provides free access to NCDC's archive of global historical weather and climate data in addition to station history information. These data include quality controlled daily, monthly, seasonal, and yearly measurements of temperature, precipitation, wind, and degree days as well as radar data and 30-year Climate Normals."
Oxford Research Encyclopedia of Climate Science
The Oxford Research Encyclopedia of Climate Science is a substantive, peer-reviewed, and regularly updated resource for your research in all climate related areas. There are over 200 articles and summaries in this publication that are written and peer reviewed by certified experts of the topic. Easy to use interface allows searching for topics, or browsing broad subject areas, listed at top of each screen, such as Climate Impact, Communication, Forecasting, History of Climate Science, Modeling, Policy, Politics & Governance, and Risk Management.
Encyclopedia of Global Warming and Climate Change
This encyclopedia contains more than 750 articles that explore major topics related to global warming and climate change. It is international in scope, and covers a broad range of topics such as alternative energy, carbon cycle, climate models, effects of climate change, institutions & people studying climate change, paleoclimates, and sea level rise. You can find information in this resource by searching, using the alphabetical listing of topics, or the helpful "Readers Guide" tab that groups the topics into 18 broad categories.
Climate Change : an Encyclopedia of Science and History
The authors of this encyclopedia describe it as going "beyond pure science to consider other important factors, weighing the cultural, historical, and policy-driven contributors to this issue. In addition, the book explores the ideas that have converged and evolved in order to clarify our current predicament. By considering climate change in this holistic fashion, this reference collection will prepare readers to consider the issue from every angle." This encyclopedia was published in 2014, and its dictionary style arrangement of topics, A-Z, makes it an easy resource to consult.
World Weather Information Service
This is the official website of the World Meteorological Organizaton. They describe their website as providing "OFFICIAL weather observations, weather forecasts and climatological information for selected cities supplied by National Meteorological & Hydrological Services (NMHSs) worldwide.The NMHSs make official weather observations in their respective countries. Links to their official weather service websites and tourism board/organization are also provided whenever available."
These are only a few of the handbooks that are available online for you to use as introductory or key texts. Use Roger to find more handbooks on your topics.
Oxford Handbook of Climate Change and Society
This handbook offers many sections on how climate change affects human systems, and its impacts on societies. Key topics covered include the history of climate change issues, social and political reception of climate science, social disruptions caused by climate change, the economics of those disruptions and possible responses to them, policy instruments for reducing greenhouse gas emissions, and governance at local, regional, national, international, and global levels.
Handbook of Global Climate and Environment Policy
This handbook presents a comprehensive overview of global policy on climate and the environment. The publishers describe this work as "...an essential resource guide for students and researchers from across a wide range of related disciplines - from politics and international relations, to environmental sciences and sociology - and for global policy practitioners."
Handbook of Climate Change Mitigation and Adaptation
This second edition was published in 2017 and is a very good introduction to climate change mitigation. It contains sections on assessment of greenhouse gas emissions, economics of international climate policy, carbon markets, implications of climate change for the petrochemical industry, impact of climate change on biodiversity, and sea-level rise and hazardous storms.
Introduction to Modern Climate Change
This is a good textbook for an introduction to the science and policy of climate change. The main focus of this book is on the problems of anthropogenic climate change. The first part of the book deals with the science of climate change, and the second part covers the economics and policy of climate change.
Please note: this eBook has license limit of one user at a time, please try back again later if you are refused access.
Weather Observer's Handbook
This handbook provides a comprehensive and practical guide to all aspects of making weather observations. Topics covered include the selection and use of automatic weather stations, traditional and modern weather instruments, how to store, analyze and share observations, and weather observing methods and practices recommended by the World Meteorological Organization.
Please note: eBook has license limit of one user at a time, please try back again later if you are refused access.
The Cartoon Introduction to Climate Change
Publisher's website states that this book "...entertains as it educates, delivering a unique and enjoyable presentation of mind-blowing facts and critical concepts. "Stand-up economist" Yoram Bauman and award-winning illustrator Grady Klein have created the funniest overview of climate science, predictions, and policy that you'll ever read. You'll giggle, but you'll also learn--about everything from Milankovitch cycles to carbon taxes. This cartoon introduction is based on the latest report from the authoritative Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change (IPCC) and integrates Bauman's expertise on economics and policy. If economics can be funny, then climate science can be a riot. Sociologists have argued that we don't address global warming because it's too big and frightening to get our heads around. The Cartoon Introduction to Climate Change takes the intimidation and gloom out of one of the most complex and hotly debated challenges of our time".