Skip to Main Content

CAT 1

MLA Style

MLA (Modern Language Association) style is most commonly used to cite sources within the arts and humanities.  These resources, revised according to the 9th edition of the MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers, offer examples for the general format of MLA research papers, in-text citations, endnotes/footnotes, and reference pages:

How to Write A Citation (MLA)

Journal Citation
Journal Article (Online)
Bibliography:

Langhamer, Claire. “Love and Courtship in Mid-Twentieth-Century England.” Historical Journal, vol. 50, no. 1, 2007, pp. 173-196, doi.org/10.1017/S0018246X06005966

In-Text Citation: (Langhamer 192)

Book Citation
Book (Whole)
Bibliography:

Foucault, Michel, Graham Burchell, and Colin Gordon. The Foucault Effect: Studies in Governmentality : with Two Lectures by and an Interview with Michel Foucault. University of Chicago Press, 1991.

In-Text Citation: (Foucault, Burchell, and Gordon 157)

Book Chapter Citation
Book (Chapter)
Bibliography:

Moffitt, Karl. "Trends in Income Support." Changing Poverty, Changing Policies, edited by Maria Cancian and Sheldon Danziger, Russell Sage Foundation, 2009, pp. 203-221.

In-Text Citation: (Moffitt 217)

Video Citation
Video (accessed online)
Bibliography:

Sethi, Ramit. "How to Write a Winning Resume, With Ramit Sethi." YouTube, uploaded by I Will Teach You to Be Rich, 23 June 2015, www.youtube.com/watch?v=_0fjkKCsM1w. 

In-Text Citation: (Sethi 00:03:30-00:04:16)

Painting
Painting (accessed online)
Bibliography:

Goya, Francisco. The Family of Charles IV. 1800. Museo del Prado, www.museodelprado.es/en/the-collection/art-work/the-family-of-carlos-iv/f47898fc-aa1c-48f6-a779-71759e417e74

In-Text Citation: (Goya The Family of Charles IV)

 

PowerPoint Slide citation
PowerPoint Slides from a Classroom Website
Bibliography:

Vanderbauwhede, Wim. “A Few Thoughts on Work-Life Balance.” SlideShare, 24 Jan. 2020, www.slideshare.net/WimVanderbauwhede/a-few-thoughts-on-work-lifebalance.

In-Text Citation: (Vanderbauwhede)
Special Note:

If the audience you are writing for does not have access to the classroom website you're referencing, this would be cited as a personal communication. Give the name of the person, type of communication, the date, location for a lecture, and subject line for email.

Vanderbauwhede, Wim. “A Few Thoughts on Work-Life Balance.” SlideShare. 24, Jan. 2020.

 

Lecture recording citation
Video Recording of Class Lecture
Bibliography:

Jernigan, Terry. "Week 4: Genome wide association studies and the “curse of dimensionality." In Terry Jernigan, COGS 178: Genes, Brains, and Behavior. UC San Diego Canvas. April 30, 2020. http://canvas.ucsd.edu 

In-Text Citation: (Jernigan)
Special Note:

If the audience you are writing for does not have access to the classroom website you're referencing, this would be cited as a personal communication. Give the name of the person, type of communication, the date, location for a lecture, and subject line for email.

Jernigan, Terry. "Week 4: Genome wide association studies and the “curse of dimensionality." COGS 178: Genes, Brains, and Behavior. Class lecture, Univeristy of California San Diego, 30, Apr. 2020

 

Course assignment citation
Course Assignment Submitted in Canvas
Bibliography:

Jorge Gonzales. "Week 1 journal." In E. Johnston, DOC 1: Reading Diversity. UC San Diego Canvas. September 2020. http://canvas.ucsd.edu

In-Text Citation: (Gonzales)
Special Note:

If the audience you are writing for does not have access to the classroom website you're referencing, this would be cited as a personal communication. Give the name of the person, type of communication, the date, location for a lecture, and subject line for email.

Gonzales, Jorge. "Week 1 journal." DOC 1: Reading Diversity. Course assignment, University of California San Diego, Sept. 2020.

 

Class discussion citation
Online Class Discussion Post
Bibliography:

Lisa, Smattering. "English 101: Post" Re: Academic Integrity. Walden University, 2014, https://class.waldenu.edu

In-Text Citation: (Smattering)
Special Note:

If the audience you are writing for does not have access to the classroom website you're referencing, this would be cited as a personal communication. Give the name of the person, type of communication, the date, location for a lecture, and subject line for email.

Smattering, Lisa. "English 101: Post." Re: Academic IntegrityClass discussion, University of California San Diego,  28 Feb. 2014.

 

Course lecture notes
Notes from a class lecture
Bibliography:

Goldman, Crystal. Course lecture notes. 17 Oct. 2022

In-Text Citation: (Goldman)
Special Note:

Your own notes from a lecture are considered personal communications in MLA style and would be cited as personal communication. Give the name of the person, type of communication, the date, location for a lecture, and subject line for email. 

Citing AI in MLA style