LibGuides: Mendeley: Create Bibliographies

Mendeley & Your Manuscript

Install Microsoft Word Plugin
To install the MS Word plug in, make sure Word & Outlook are closed and then:

Open Mendeley Desktop
Select Tools from the toolbar
Choose Install MS Word Plugin
In Word, look under References to find the Mendeley Cite-O-Matic tools.

Insert a citation

Once the citation plugin has been installed, citations can easily be added to documents in many word processing systems. Citations in Microsoft Word:

Place you cursor exactly where the citation is needed - for example, is the citation need at the end of the sentence and inside or outside the period?
Click on the References tab and locate the Mendeley Cite-O-Matic options.
Click the Insert Citation button and search for references your library for author name, title of article, or year.
If multiple citations are needed, the additional ones can be searched for before closing the Insert Citation box.
Click OK to close the Insert Citation box. The reference(s) will be added to the document.
Continue adding citations as needed.

If the style is not the one you need, use the Style drop-down list to chose the style you want. If you do not see the one you want, click on More Styles. See the next tab (Create the Bibliography) for details on adding a new style.

Creating the Bibliography & Choosing a Citation Style

In Microsoft Word

In Google Docs

Add the Bibliography:

Place the cursor where you want the bibliography to begin.
From the Mendeley Cite-O-Matic tools, click "insert bibliography" in the "Mendeley Cite-O-Matic" section.
If you need to add more citations in the text, once they are added, click on "Refresh" to update the bibliography.

Change the Citation Style:

If the citation style is not the one you need, use the Style box on the Mendeley Cite-O-Matic Tools to switch to another style.
If you do not see the style you want, click on "More Styles" to open the box of installed citation styles.
If the one you want is not already installed, click on the "Get More Styles" tab to begin searching for the style you need.
- Once found, click on it and then click the Install button.
The new citation style is not on the "Installed" list, so click on the "Installed" tab to see the new style.
Find the new style and click on the button, "Use This Style"
Click Done and your citations will update to the new style.

Mendeley has no tools for Google Docs, but you can still use Mendeley by using their Copy As tool. This process is easiest with an author-date citation style like MLA or APA.

You will need to add the in-text citations on your own. Once added to the paper, you can create you bibliography.

Put the citations into a folder.
Order them in author order by clicking on the column heading.
Go to View, then "Citation Styles" and pick the desired style.
Go to Edit then "Copy As" and choose "Formatted citation."
Go to Google Docs and paste in the bibliography where you need it.