Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Use these specialized encyclopedias as authoritative sources for general information on topics in biological oceanography. They provide information that you can use to learn more about a new subject, find introductory material for your papers, or to help you find ideas for research topics.
Encyclopedia of Ocean Sciences
This comprehensive resource is a good place to start your research on all aspects of oceanography or marine sciences. For example, it includes authoritative information on marine biology, ecology, ecosystems, fisheries, marine policy, the impact of pollution and climate change, and the use of the oceans for food and energy.
Encyclopedia of Biodiversity
The Encyclopedia of Biodiversity is a scholarly resource containing over 300 articles by leading international authors. It is a comprehensive survey of biodiversity, across taxonomic groups and ecological regions. Topics covered include agriculture, conservation and restoration, economics, environmental conditions and effects, evolution, extinctions, genetics, geographic and global issues, habitats and ecosystems, human effects and interventions, and population issues.
Facts on File Dictionary of Marine Science
A searchable dictionary of marine science topics. Access is via the EbscoHost platform, with navigation tools on the right side, and easy paging and browsing. Extensive short entries in oceanography, mainly marine biology, ecology, marine habitats and systems. Helpful appendices on topics such as taxonomic classifications, geologic timescales, and marine history.
Encyclopedia of Coastal Science
This encyclopedia is part of the Encyclopedia of Earth Science Series. It contains comprehensive topical sections, an easy to use search interface, with coverage ranging from aquaculture, atolls, beach erosion, to tides and storm surges.
Encyclopedia of Life Sciences
This encyclopedia, know as eLS for short, is an easy to search, up-to-date collection of articles by scientists and scientific historians in the fields of biochemistry and physiology, cell biology, developmental biology, ecology, evolution, genetics, immunology, molecular biology and biodiversity of life.
These are only a few of the handbooks that are available online for you to use as background or introductory texts. Use UC Library Search to find more handbooks on your topics.
Marine & Aquatic Science Handbooks
A collection of over 380 online handbooks and textbooks in marine and aquatic sciences. Easy to use and search interface with access to download the whole book, or read online. These books cover a variety of topics such as algae, artificial reefs, marine ecosystems, fish physiology, aquaculture, ecology, and fisheries management.
Microbial Ecology of the Oceans
This is the 3rd, 2018, edition of this key handbook. It covers topics in the areas of ecology, diversity, and function of microbes, and of microbial genes in the ocean, plus the biology and ecology of some model organisms, and the role of microbes in the oceanic P cycle. This book is described as essential for students and researchers "wishing to learn about microbes and the processes they mediate in marine systems."
Handbook of Marine Macroalgae: Biotechnology and Applied Phycology
This handbook describes the biological, biotechnological and the industrial applications of seaweeds. It provides a review of recent advances and potential new applications for macroalgae, with a focus on the chemical and structural nature of seaweeds.
Aquatic Microbial Ecology and Biogeochemistry: a Dual Perspective
This book highlights perspectives, insights, and data in the coupled fields of aquatic microbial ecology and biogeochemistry. It covers many wide-ranging topics, "from the processes that structure microbial diversity to nitrogen and photosynthesis metabolism, to dynamics of changing ecosystems and processes and dynamics in individual ecosystems."
Handbook of Marine Natural Products
This key handbook in the field of marine product chemistry is a 2 volume reference work edited by Dr. William Gerwick. The volumes are divided into several parts and cover such areas as chemistry of marine algae & cyanobacteria, natural product synthesis, anti-fouling, anti-predation, enzyme inhibitors, symbiosis, and marine toxins.