LibGuides: ECON 162: Economics of Mexico: Country Analysis

Welcome - Where to start?

EIU, EMIS Next, Fitch Country Risk, and S&P Global Connect's Country Analysis & Forecast have ready reviews of country political and economic developments, including investment environments and industries. Use LSEG Refinitiv Workspace for quality brokerage house reports on countries, industries, and companies. The eLibrary contains World Bank research and policy publications. The IMF "Country Reports" include detailed reviews of economic policy issues in certain member nations. Other international agencies covering Latin America also offer websites with member country data and economic surveys.

The PDF reports in Workspacet can save considerable time previously spent researching global firms and industries via scattered press sources. In fact, they contain much information that is not available to us in any other way.

Additional Sources with Regular Border Region Content

EcoAmericas
Montly coverage of Latin American environmental issues and trends for an international audience.
Borderplex Economic Barometer
This site provides an overview of regional business cycle developments. It contains data and charts for a variety of variables that represent different facets of the regional economy. Produced by the College of Business Administration, Univ. of Texas at El Paso.
Mexico Matters Podcast
This biweekly podcast hosted by Mariana Campero highlights key developments in Mexico and their impact on the United States, through interviews with leading voices from both sides of the border and covering subjects ranging from economics, trade, and energy, to national security, foreign policy, and business.
Center for Strategic and International Studies: Regions
CSIS is a bipartisan, nonprofit policy research organization that provides worldwide strategic insights and policy analysis. Includes occasional coverage of Mexico and the Border Region.

Key Sites

BMI Country Risk Global & All Industry Global
BMI provides proprietary data, analyst reports, ratings, rankings, and forecasts covering 175 countries and 25 industry sectors. Login path: choose SSO > Organization ID = UCSD. BMI includes lengthy country and industry reports, financial markets and commodities coverage, plus newsletters and daily alerts.

CEIC Data
Four databases are included in this package:
• China Premium Databases
“The China Premium Database offers over 326000 time-series records on macroeconomic, sector, industry and regional data dating back to 1949. The China Premium Database is available in both English and Chinese.”
• Brazil Premium Databases
“The Brazil Premium Database covers 13 macroeconomic and 13 industry growth sectors with unmatched coverage of the energy, biofuel, and automobile sectors. Regional data are also available for Brazil's 5 regions, all 27 states, and 6000 municipalities.”
• Global Database
• Daily Database
Country Analysis & Forecast (S&P Global Connect)
Country reports, risk ratings, industry analysis, daily alerts, and statistical data. To get to S&P’s strong country coverage, login and go to Connect: Country Intelligence > Research a Geography to pull up a country’s dashboard. NOTE: First time users should follow the Create a New Account link, and use your @ucsd.edu email to register. An activation code will be sent to your @ucsd.edu email in order for you to complete the registration. Once your account is activated, login happens via UCSD’s Single Sign On. Formerly called IHS Markit Connect, and Global Insight.
EIU.com
Portal to our subscribed Economist Intelligence Unit (EIU) global country publications. Strong for current political and economic news and analysis, with data, forecasts, and business and investment profiles. See also ViewsWire for selected EIU content covering Americas and Asia. We also license Economist magazine online.

EMIS Next Academic Research (formerly EMIS Intelligence)
Provides economic studies, company & industry reports, country risk, economic and industrial statistics, and political news with a focus on emerging market countries. Covers public & private companies & global industry reports. Includes interactive data analysis tools & news alerts. Excellent China coverage.

Human Development Report
Full text of UNDP Human Development Reports, from 1990 to the next to most current year, plus national Human Development Reports and an excellent statistics section on industrialized and developing countries. Includes the Human Development Index and related indicators for Health, Education, Income/Composition of Resources, Inequality, Gender, Poverty, Work, employment and vulnerability, Human Security, Trade and Financial Flows, Mobility and Communication, Environmental sustainability, Demography, Socio-economic sustainability.
OECD iLibrary Books & Handbooks on Mexico
This link points to overviews such as the OECD Economic Survey: Mexico, Education Policy Outlook, Latin American Economic Outlook, Measuring Well-being in the Mexican States, Review of Telecommunication Policy,
Political Handbook of the World
Detailed country political profiles include quick facts and recent history. Along with Europa and EIU, a great starting place for reading about a country.

LSEG Refinitiv Workspace
Workspace provides financial and economic data, news, equity reports, and company & industry analysis. Its international in scope and covers both public and private company information. Workspace is most often used for investment analysts’ reports, public company financials & filings, business news, economic indicators, stock prices, and data, and a variety of instruments (bonds, commodities, currencies, ETFs, futures, indexes, options and more). Unique content includes ESG data, performance forecasts & consensus estimates, deals & transactions (M&A, IPOs, venture capital & private equity). Download limit of 150 pages per day, reset daily at midnight local time. New users complete self-registration here - https://my.refinitiv.com/productregistration.html
Workspace is only available to UC San Diego students, faculty, and staff; only for non-commercial, academic research. It replaces ThomsonONE/Investext and Datastream, and now works across several browsers.

Register only once; otherwise login to Workspace using the main link. You may use web or desktop app version (includes the Workspace add-in for Excel), once you are registered.

Political Risk Yearbook: Mexico
Great for background reading on threats to economic growth and governance issues.

International Organizations

Country Reports (International Monetary Fund)
Staff consultations and economic policy reviews. For related working papers, articles, press releases, and transcripts see Country Information page.
Regional Economic Outlook (International Monetary Fund)
These reports discuss recent economic developments and prospects for countries in various regions (Europe, Western Hemisphere, Middle East and Central Asia, Asia and Pacific, Sub-Saharan Africa). They also address economic policy developments that have affected economic performance in the regions and discuss key challenges faced by policymakers. Data tables included.
World Bank Documents & Reports
Access to all publicly disclosed project and institutional documents since 1946 (65,000+ publications) made available in compliance with the World Bank’s Access to Information Policy. Includes the contents of the former "World Development Sources" and more.

World Bank Open Knowledge Repository
The World Bank Open Knowledge Repository (OKR) is the World Bank’s official open access repository, from which anyone can freely access its research outputs and knowledge products released since 2000.