LibGuides: ECON 162: Economics of Mexico: Global News

Introduction & recommended starting points

Although weak in scholarly content, LexisNexis Academic and Factiva are by far our best products for global journalism as drawn from thousands of general and specialty newspapers, magazines, newsletters, and wire services. EMIS Intelligence adds hundreds of "in-country" news and industry publications, many in languages other than English. (Its China coverage is particularly stunning.) Statistics, market reports, company financials, bank and brokerage house commentaries, and other wonders also lurk within - try it!

These demonstration links initiate live extractions of recent articles within Factiva and LexisNexis Academic, highlighting their power for selected topical and source interests. Try your favorite keywords in the databases, too.

BBC News Latin America (news feed)

Wall Street Journal

Wall Street Journal (ProQuest)
This ProQuest site includes coverage of WSJ Eastern Edition, 1984-present; WSJ Online, 2010-present; and WSJ: The Magazine, 2011-present. This PQ version has a powerful and precise search engine for finding specific items or topics.

Current Access to WSJ (Factiva)
This Factiva product provides current two weeks' browseable WSJ content under the News Pages tab. Use Search tab to find content from 1979-present is less easy-to-use than PQ version. Factiva WSJ articles contain graphics printed in the paper, and downloadable audio of articles.
WSJ Historical
1889-1992. Search and browse full text and display images of both articles and complete newspaper pages.
Full Suite of ProQuest Historical Newspapers
Cover to cover article text & page images of Chicago Tribune (1849-1986), Los Angeles Times (1881-1986), New York Times (1851-2006), New York Tribune (1844-1922), San Francisco Chronicle (1865-1922), Washington Post (1877-1992), Wall Street Journal (1889-1991) Use Publications tab to browse/search individual papers.

US Major Dailies
U.S. Major Dailies provides access to current content and significant archives dating back to the 1980s for five of the nation’s most respected national and regional newspapers, including The New York Times, Washington Post, Los Angeles Times, Chicago Tribune, and The Wall Street Journal, in full-text format.

Guide to Searching, Viewing & Printing (ProQuest)

Global Coverage

Access World News
Dates vary, but some historical coverage as far back as 1690. More than 5000 sources worldwide, including nearly 1500 in the U.S. Many historical newspapers are in digitized image form. Largely newspapers, with newswires, transcripts, newsletters, magazines, videos.

EMIS Intelligence
Powerful market intelligence service covering macroeconomics, companies, industries, finance, and news from East Asia, Latin America, Eastern Europe, Central Asia, Middle East, Africa. Includes full-text news articles, research reports, and online data.

Factiva
Factiva.com provides access to over 16,000 global sources including: * 1,000+ Global and local newspapers * 3,000+ Journals and magazines * 30,000+ Company Reports. Factiva.com delivers content in 27 languages, from Arabic to Vietnamese.
Scroll down on the landing page to the Newsstand: US section for the latest content of Wall Street Journal, USA Today, Los Angeles Times, New York Times, Washington Post, Chicago Tribune, Barron's & more.
Nexis Uni
Nexis Uni contains thousands of full-text sources including newspapers, wires, transcripts, newsletters, magazines, trade journals; also industry news, company information, law reviews, court decisions, statutes. Coverage dates vary. International and U.S. sources. (Previously called Lexis Nexis Academic).

World News Connection
English translations (1994-2013) of selected foreign print and broadcast media from Asia, Americas, Africa, Eurasia, Middle East, Europe, and Oceania. Prepared by Open Source Center, formerly Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS). For older Asia, China, and Latin America news transcripts (1974-1996) see FBIS Daily Reports online.

Gale Business Insights
- This link opens in a new window
GBI is a great first-stop for business and management information. It includes information on companies and industries from business and trade journals, academic journals, industry reports, newspapers, newsletters, and classic business reference sources. Search on a company name. In the search results, click on individual companies to open well-organized company profiles.

Regional & Country Coverage

Business News Americas
Industry and company news and reports covering business, technology, telecom, electric power, oil and gas, mining, infrastructure, banking, insurance, water, and privatization sectors across Latin America. (Enter your @ucsd.edu domain email to initiate access and establish your ongoing platform customization. Check your spam folder for confirmation messages.)
Latinnews.com
Family of daily, weekly, and monthly newsletters covering political, economic, business, and strategic issues across Latin America.
Latin America Data Base (LADB)
Weekly newsletters reporting current affairs in Mexico, Central America, South America (1986-2018).

EMIS: Mexico (news feed)

EMIS Intelligence offers dozens of country RSS feeds drawn from its global press sources. The Mexico feed in English is sampled here; click "View RSS Feed" below to see its full recent articles list via our subscriber channel.