LibGuides: South Asian Studies: Primary-Source-Rich Collections Accessible at UCSD

UN Resources

The United Nations page of the International Studies Research Guide provides links to internet and subscription-based resources to access all types of UN information.

The Main UN website has am amazing amount of information, but can be daunting. One helpful strategy to navigating is to use the site index (found at the bottom of the homepage).

UN Military Expenditures Database
UN Gender and Land Rights Database

Contains country-level information on social, economic, political, and cultural issues as related to gender inequalities.
UN Collection on Critical Global Issues

Collection of free ebooks on many topics throughout the world
UN Development Programs Project Website
UN Women
UN Secretary-General's database on violence against women
UN Habitat

UN program dedicated to supporting urban development and the planning and building of a better urban future for next generations by promoting economic growth and social development to reduce poverty and inequalities.
UN Economic and Social Council (UNECOSOC)

The United Nations’ central platform for reflection, debate, and innovative thinking on sustainable development.
UN Population Fund

UNFPA address reproductive health and population issues, and raises awareness of these issues in all countries.
UN Population Information Network

Guide to UN information and website on population issues.
UN Women Watch

UN information on Gender equality and empowerment

Primary Source Databases Including South Asian Content

Avalon Project
Global Documents in Law, History and Diplomacy from the Classical Era to the Present.

Cambridge Companions to Literature This link opens in a new window
Over two hundred volumes in the Cambridge Companions to Literature series are included in Literature Online (LiON). Each volume contains surveys of the research on various aspects of an individual writer's work.
China, America and the Pacific This link opens in a new window
Explores the cultural and trading relationships that emerged between America, China and the Pacific region between the 18th and early 20th centuries. Sourced from twelve North American libraries including a selection of rare books and manuscripts from the UC San Diego Library's Special Collections & Archives. These include selected rare books from the Hill Collection of Pacific Voyages and manuscript material for the Alaska Commercial Company Records.

China, America and the Pacific offers unique insights into the history of North American trade. Coverage includes the Old China Trade, the Pacific Northwest fur trade, the whaling industry and the development of Pacific trading centres such as Hawaii. Manuscripts, rare printed sources, visual images, objects and maps from international libraries and archives document this fascinating history.
ProQuest Congressional This link opens in a new window
Indexes Congressional materials from 1789-present. Includes full text access to U.S. legislative information, including bills and pending legislation, legislative history, hearings, testimony, Congressional Record, CRS Reports, public laws, etc.(For full text of most historic reports and documents, try the U.S. Congressional Serial Set via Readex.) Now also includes Serial Set Maps 1789-2007; Executive Branch 1789-1952; and Presidential Materials 1789-Present
CQ Press Electronic Library This link opens in a new window
Find reporting, analysis on Congressional issues in the news and coverage of the status of bills, votes and amendments, floor and committee activity, and backroom maneuvering. Includes:
CQ Almanac
CQ Researcher Plus Archive
CQ Weekly
Political Handbook of the World
Politics in America
Supreme Court Yearbook
Voting and Elections Collection
Daily Life Online This link opens in a new window
Cross-disciplinary resource providing background and context for daily life in all historical eras, from ancient times to the present. Includes primary documents, images, maps, weblinks, folktales, recipes, much more.
Early English Books Online (EEBO) This link opens in a new window
Full text and page images of books published in English from 1475-1700. Search by subject, title, author. Will eventually include more than 125,000 books.
eHRAF Archaeology This link opens in a new window Cross-cultural database containing information on the world's prehistory designed to facilitate comparative archaeological studies. Organized by archaeological traditions. The full-text sources are subject-indexed at the paragraph level.
Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO) This link opens in a new window
Digitization of The Eighteenth Century, a print library covering 150,000 titles and editions published in the United Kingdom 1701-1800. Search by keywords or browse individual books.
Electronic Enlightenment This link opens in a new window
Searchable and browsable database with access to correspondence between the greatest thinkers and writers of the 17th-19th centuries, and their families and friends, bankers and booksellers, patrons and publishers. Coverage includes letters and documents, manuscripts and early printed editions, scholarly annotations, and links to biographies, dictionaries, encyclopedias, newspapers, and other online resources. With 79,254 letters and documents and 10,232 correspondents (as of Winter 2018–2019) EE is the most wide-ranging online collection of edited correspondence of the early modern period, linking people across Europe, the Americas and Asia from the early 17th to the mid-19th century.
Empire Online This link opens in a new window
A major collection of scanned texts relating to empire studies, divided into 5 sections: Cultural Contacts 1492-1969; Empire Writing/the Literature of Empire; The Visible Empire; Religion; and Race, class, imperialism and colonialism 1607-2007.
Ethnographic Video Online: Volumes I and II This link opens in a new window
Database of anthropological documentary films, covering every region of the world, featuring the work of many influential documentary filmmakers of the 20th century. Includes transcripts, interviews, previously unreleased raw footage, field notes, study guides, etc. As of August 2015, has 1,844 videos (1,319 hours). Individual films are also cataloged in roger.ucsd.edu - search on title "Alexander Street Press. Ethnographic online videos"

The Making of Modern Law: Trials, 1620-1926
Includes not only published trial transcripts, but also popular printed accounts of sensational trials for murder, adultery and other scandalous crimes.

Making of the Modern World This link opens in a new window
Online primary sources that track the development of the modern, western world. Full-text searching across 12 million pages of works published 1450-1914. Great starting place for primary source material from this period.

The National Security Archive
See also the Open Access National Seucrity Archive website (which also provides the subscription-based Digital National Security Archive). The National Security archive is an independent non-governmental research institute and library located at The George Washington University, collects and publishes declassified documents obtained through the Freedom of Information Act. It provides the most comprehensive collection available of significant primary documents central to US foreign and military policy since 1945. Its supplementary database, the Digital National Security Archive, provides additional information.

Digital National Security Archive This link opens in a new window
Nearly 40,000 declassified government documents from 1945 to present, organized into collections, each focused on a single topic.
U.S. Declassified Documents Online This link opens in a new window
Full text of documents from various government agencies: the White House, the CIA, the FBI, the State Department and others, declassified by the U.S. government, and obtained from Presidential Libraries.
C19: The Nineteenth Century Index This link opens in a new window
A crucial bibliographical megasite for information about books, periodicals, newspapers, and archives from the Nineteenth Century, particularly from Britain and North America.
Nineteenth Century Collections Online This link opens in a new window
A multi-year global digitization and publishing program focusing on primary source collections of the nineteenth century; comprised of numerous collections released over many years, including a variety of material types--monographs, newspapers, pamphlets, manuscripts, ephemera, maps, statistics, and more, primarily focused on British culture and politics, European literature, and Asian interactions with the West--in one cross-searchable location
World History in Video This link opens in a new window
Online collection of streaming video, critically acclaimed documentaries from filmmakers worldwide. Upon completion the collection will include more than 1750 documentaries that offer a survey of human history from the earliest civilizations to the fall of the Berlin Wall. World history in video covers Africa and the Americas, Asia, Europe, the Middle East, and Oceania.
World Newsreels Online 1929-1966 This link opens in a new window
A collection of streaming videos that features full runs of many of the key international newsreels produced during the first half of the twentieth century. The collection is semantically indexed, allowing users to search by subject, year, historical era, historical event, people, and places 546 English, French or Japanese with English transcripts.