Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Primary-Source-Rich-Collections on South Asian Studies Beyond UCSD
South Asian American Digital Archive
SAADA is creating a digital repository of copies of historically significant documents relating to South Asian Americans. Currently has 2600+ items (Oct 2016).
SAWNET: The South Asian Women’s NETwork
A forum for and about women from several Asian countries on topics ranging from marriage to international politics to health
Royal Asiatic Society of Great Britain and Ireland Archives
The Royal Asiatic Society's Archives include the private papers and allied material from many prominent orientalists who focused their professional and intellectual labor on South Asia, including Sir William Jones, Henry Thomas Colebrooke, Brian Houghton Hodgson, Thomas John Newbold, Sir Henry Creswicke Rawlinson, John Drew Bate, Henry Beveridge, and Richard Burton.
The Digital Himalaya Project
A Cambridge University project to develop digital collection, storage and distribution strategies for multimedia anthropological information from the Himalayan region
Pioneering Punjabis Digital Archive
This archive offers a window into the story of South Asian immigrants from the Punjab region in north India to California since the turn of the twentieth century. Explore over 700 video interviews, speeches, diaries, photographs, articles, and letters in which Punjabi Americans share their life stories, values, and contributions to California’s history over the last hundred and twenty years.
Digital South Asia Library
Includes links to reference books, dictionaries, images, maps, statistics, etc.
South Asian Open Archive
The South Asia Open Archives (SAOA) is a rich and growing collection of historical and contemporary sources covering the arts, humanities, and social sciences, in English and South Asian languages, from and about South Asia.