Skip to main content
What industry ratios sources are there?
Key Business Ratios
This online version of Dun & Bradstreet's Industry Norms and Key Business Ratios includes current benchmarking data for U.S. public and private businesses using parameters of solvency, profitability and efficiency for 800 lines of business. Features include importing and exporting of data. For historical ratios (older than current five years), use the Mergent Archives
RMA eStatement Studies
This resource contains composite financial data from over 250,000 anonymous financial statements of manufacturing, wholesaling, retailing, service, and contracting businesses operating in 762 industries. This tool is designed for comparing one company's performance relative to other companies in the same line of business along measures of liquidity, debt/default probability, sales and operations. Help using eStatement Studies
We have a couple online sourced that provide ratios, but they are limited in the number of companies they follow and/or the type of ratios they provide. However, if you are in those databases already, it may be simple to pull the ratios directly from them.
When you do an industry search, and display the results, ratios are listed under the tab to the far right, "Key Statistics." Please provide feedback on whether this database was useful to you or not..
WRDS Financial Ratios Visualization Tool
This teractive application teaches how to generate and compare financial ratios to one another and to baseline industry measures. Ratios included here fall into the following categories: valuation, profitability, capitalization, financial soundness, solvency, liquidity, and efficiency. Learning materials include an accompanying slide deck
and tutorial on ratios
. Concepts can be transferred to using other WRDS (e.g., Compustat) or ratios data sources (RMA, D&B, Mergent). SERVICE NOTE: between 12/10/2018-01/07/2019, response to new account requests and updates may be sporadic/delayed due to staffing during holiday break.
How do I use ratio information?
These books provide background on understanding and using ratio analysis.
The full list of books about ratio analysis and financial statements. Below are the "classics" and highlighted materials:
Financial Statement Analysis by
Call Number: EBL e-book
Publication Date: 2011
An updated guide to financial statement analysis that will help you better understand of the techniques that will help you interpret financial statements.
Financial Ratios by
Call Number: HF5681.R25 B85 (Geisel 6th fl) + ebook
Publication Date: 2009
This book covers the full scope of how to understand how to understand the strengths and shortcomings of financial ratios.
Business Ratios and Formulas by
Call Number: HF5691 .B73 (Geisel 2nd fl Ref. + ebook)
Publication Date: 2007-02-26
Covers nearly 250 operational criteria and offers clear, easy-to-understand explanations.
Handbook of Business and Financial Ratios by
Call Number: HF5681.R25 T97 (Geisel, 6th fl; print only)
Publication Date: 1986
Presents numerous ratios that represent guidelines in assessing, interpreting and planning financial data to meet the objectives of managing a business entity more effectively. It shows how to calculate and use ratios in analyzing past performance results and making industry comparisons.
Key Management Ratios by
Call Number: HF5681.R25 W347 (Geisel, 6th fl; print only)
Publication Date: 2005
This book guides readers through the key ratios at the heart of business practice.
Total Management by Ratios by
Call Number: e-book
Publication Date: 2007
This is a pioneering book that integrates functional analysis of a business enterprise with stock market valuation. It moves beyond the convention of financial statement analysis to first evaluate every function of management and then integrate this into the total corporate functioning of an enterprise, leading to its valuation in the stock market.
Understanding and Analyzing Financial Statements by
Call Number: HG4028.B2 S39 (Geisel, 6th fl; print only)
Publication Date: 2006
Perfect for any accounting course where analyzing financial statements and understanding financial ratios is important.