Subject-Specific Databases Useful for Searching on the Anthropology of Race and Racisms
Indexing database for anthropology, archaeology & related topics. Indexes articles in 2500+ scholarly journals, 1870 to present. Combines databases: Anthropological Literature (Harvard/Tozzer) and Anthropological Index (Royal Anthropological Institute)
Database indexing journal articles, books and other publications, covering all aspects of native North American culture and history. Includes materials published from 1500s to present.
Lists about 25,000 scholarly works published since 1900in all academic disciplines and in all western European languages on slavery and slaving, worldwide and throughout human history, including modern times.
Comprehensive bibliographic index representing all types of material on Mexican-American topics. Provides extensive indexing from 1960s to the present; selective coverage back to early 1900s. Since 1992 includes articles on the broader Latino experience.
Full text of working papers, conference proceedings, policy briefs, economic indicators, and other resources in international affairs.
Coverage varies, but some back to early 1900s. Articles in communication, mass media, linguistics, and film studies. CMMC offers cover-to-cover ("core") indexing and abstracts for over 370 journals, and selected ("priority") coverage of over 230 more, for a combined coverage of over 600 titles. Many journals have indexing, abstracts, PDFs and searchable cited references from their first issues to the present (dating as far back as 1915).
1963-present. Abstracts articles, reports, papers, books from a variety of publishers and research institutions in all areas of communication studies (mass, interpersonal and new communication technologies).
Includes full-text of journals published by SAGE and participating societies - some journals go back 20 years. Subjects covered: Criminal Justice, Juvenile Delinquency & Justice, Corrections, Policing, Forensic Psychology, Family & Domestic Violence.
Publisher portal to articles in Economist magazine plus related content. Our URL provides access to the restricted "premium content" inside. (Longer online runs of Economist articles are available via other databases; see Weekly Edition section.)
NOTE: Institution-wide access to China Focus City Data ends on 8/31/25. EIU Viewpoint Country Analysis Advanced module contains background, trends and risk analysis on countries and regions. EIU is known for its global coverage of current political, economic, and business affairs. It features worldwide industry coverage for automotive, consumer goods, energy, financial services, healthcare and telecommunications. This EIU Viewpoint platform also includes “China Focus City Data,” which can be accessed under the “More” tab in the upper right corner of the Viewpoint homepage. Former names: Economist Intelligence Unit (UCSD portal), Access China All Cities
Sponsored by the U.S. Dept of Education; provides access to educational-related literature. Coverage includes journal articles and non-journal sources in education which are not available online. If not online, write down the ED# located in the 'Accession Number' field of the record, and check the ERIC documents microfiche cabinets located in the Geisel Library Reference Area.
Full text U.S. ethnic community newspapers, newsletters, magazines. Includes African-American, Arab/Middle Eastern, Asian-Pacific, European-American, Hispanic, Jewish, Native-American. Searchable in English and Spanish.
Publications indexed are drawn from a wide range of social science disciplines including anthropology, sociology, psychology, demography, health sciences, education, economics, law, history, and social work. Covers 1970-present.
A full text database of publications that focus on the impact of gender across a broad spectrum of subject areas. 1970s-present.
1863-present. International database for research on history of all regions (except the U.S. and Canada) from 1450 to the current decade. Content includes
indexing of historical articles from more than 2,300 journals in over 40 languages.
The videos come from leading producers such as the BBC, California Newsreel, Criterion Collection, First Run Features, Kino Lorber and PBS, with more content added each year. Many of the films are from independent and specialty producers, with a focus on documentary films.
Offers current news on all branches of the military and government through a collection of periodicals, academic journals, and other content pertinent to the increasing needs of those sites.
1972-present. Lists print and electronic articles, books, and government publications on issues of public policy, including politics, government, economy, marine policy, law.
1894-present. A database of full-text articles from more than 100 journals published by the American Psychological Assoc., the APA Educational Publ. Foundation, the Canadian Psychological Assoc., Hogrefe Publishing Group, and the National Institute of Mental Health. Updated weekly. Articles are indexed in PsycINFO.
1941-present. Provides full text of over 30 journals published by SAGE and participating societies. Articles are indexed in PsycINFO.
1597-present. From the American Psychological Association. Provides access to scholarly literature in the psychological, social, behavioral, and health sciences. Includes journal articles, books, chapters, and dissertations. Includes approximately 2,500 journals. Updated weekly and includes an index of PsycArticles.
1963-present. Abstracts journal articles, monographs, dissertations, conference proceedings, other research covering sociology, social work, and related social sciences. Also includes selected web resources.
More General Databases Useful for Latin American Searches
Multidisciplinary database with 17,800+ journals and magazines, of which 16,000+ are peer-reviewed and 8,750+ are full-text. Also included are books, conference papers and proceedings, government documents, newspapers, video content, and more. Coverage begins in 1887, with material in English, Spanish, German, French, Italian and Portuguese.
Search by subject or browse 2,600+ full-text titles, predominantly scholarly journals and books in social sciences, history, humanities, and science and mathematics, to their earliest issues. Many titles extend as far back as late 19th or early 20th centuries; most recent 3-5 years often not included. JSTOR provides access to more than 12 million academic journal articles, books, and primary sources in 75 disciplines.
Search by subject or browse full text scholarly journals in the arts and humanities, social sciences and mathematics. More than 700 journals from over 250 university presses and scholarly publishers are available. Coverage begins 1906 or later, depending on the publication. UCSD also has access to over 30,000 book titles.
