Library of over 2.5 million digital images and their corresponding metadata. Covers many time periods and cultures, and documents the fields of architecture, painting, sculpture, photography, decorative arts, design, anthropology, ethnographic and women's studies, as well as many other forms of visual culture
A crucial bibliographical megasite for information about books, periodicals, newspapers, and archives from the 19th Century, particularly from Britain and North America.
A major collection of scanned texts relating to empire studies, divided into 5 sections: Cultural Contacts 1492-1969; Empire Writing/the Literature of Empire; The Visible Empire; Religion; and Race, class, imperialism and colonialism 1607-2007.
These primary source documents collected here help understand existence and consequences on the various frontiers that arose from the movements of Europeans to Africa, Australasia and North America. Document types include correspondence, diaries, government papers, business records, land transactions, legal documents, speeches, books and pamphlets. The earliest documents are from the seventeenth century and the latest the mid-point of the twentieth century.
The earliest documents in this collection are from the seventeenth century but the majority of the material originates from the eighteenth and nineteenth centuries. The material covering North America covers the varied frontier regions from fur trappers in Canada to cowboys in Texas and government in Baja California. It is divided into the frontier regions of the American East, the American Midwest, the American Southwest, California & Mexico and Canada. It covers the exploration of these regions followed by trade with native peoples, colonial rivalries, expansion of government and new nations and the final settlement and 'closing' of the frontier. These materials include a large number of manuscripts from the UC San Diego Library's Special Collections & Archives, including a collection of municipal and government documents from Baja California that are too fragile to be used in their original format in the library (Baja California government documents. MSS 778.)
Africa is mainly represented by its frontiers of the south with the British colonial expansion into modern day South Africa. There are also excellent clusters of material relating to the exploration of West Africa and the colonial administration of Lagos.
The beginnings of European Australia and New Zealand are covered by British government documents, starting with Arthur Phillip and the penal colony at Sydney. The frontiers of other parts of Australia are also covered by documents from the UK National Archives and some material from Australian archives.
Finally, there is some material relating to Central America, specifically British Honduras (Belize), in the form of the George Arthur Papers. George Arthur’s career here relates to the other regions featured here as he spent time on the Canadian and Australian frontiers.
A multi-year global digitization and publishing program focusing on primary source collections of the nineteenth century; comprised of numerous collections released over many years, including a variety of material types--monographs, newspapers, pamphlets, manuscripts, ephemera, maps, statistics, and more, primarily focused on British culture and politics, European literature, and Asian interactions with the West--in one cross-searchable location
Includes these modules:
British Politics and Society Asia & The West: Diplomacy and Cultural Exchange British Theatre, Music and Literature, High & Low Culture Corvey Collection of European Literature, 1790-1840
An easy to use interface to find all sorts of digital primary resources. Look under the Collections tab to see the types of resources available - such as the Tropical Diseases Motion Picture collection.
A Youtube channel with more than 800 films, videos and audio materials relating to health and welfare. Tip: When searching be sure to include Wellcome with your search terms.
Partnership of academic and research organizations offering a collection of millions of digitized materials from libraries around the world, include the UC San Diego Library. Full text is available for many but not all items - you can restrict your search to full text items.
