LibGuides: Latin American Indigenous Studies, Languages and Literature: LTSP 2C Dominguez

Choose an Indigenous Culture For Your Paper

Second Map of Native Lands in the Americas produced by the organization Native-Land.ca is an incredible resource mapping indigenous territories and languages. As the About Us > How it Works page explains:

Ways to navigate include

Entering an address (to identify local indigenous cultures and territories)
Mousing over or clicking around on the map to see indigenous the indigenous cultures and territories in a particular location

Once you click on the name of a particular indigenous culture, links with the language name(s) displayed will appear on the left of the screen. Clicking on such links will take you to pages with additional information and resources on that language and the nation it belongs to.

Online Sources and Databases

Good Places to Find Country Information:

CIA World Factbook
US State Department Countries and Regions
Provides access to Background Information, Fact Sheets, General and Subject-Specific Regional and Country Reports, and Travel Advisory and Information.

News:

Access World News
Dates vary, but some historical coverage as far back as 1690. More than 5000 sources worldwide, including nearly 1500 in the U.S. Many historical newspapers are in digitized image form. Largely newspapers, with newswires, transcripts, newsletters, magazines, videos.
Factiva
Factiva.com provides access to over 16,000 global sources including: * 1,000+ Global and local newspapers * 3,000+ Journals and magazines * 30,000+ Company Reports. Factiva.com delivers content in 27 languages, from Arabic to Vietnamese.
Scroll down on the landing page to the Newsstand: US section for the latest content of Wall Street Journal, USA Today, Los Angeles Times, New York Times, Washington Post, Chicago Tribune, Barron's & more.
New York Times (1851 - current)
Custom combined full-runs search of three ProQuest versions of New York Times.

Human Rights Organizations:

Human Rights Watch
For this topic, try the following strategies:
1) If you already have the name of a particular indigenous culture, put it into the search box at the top left of the page
2) If you are interested in a particular country, use the Countries tab to navigate there, then scroll down to the World Report
Amnesty International

Databases:

Ethnic NewsWatch
1960-present. Full text U.S. ethnic community newspapers, newsletters, magazines. Includes African-American, Arab/Middle Eastern, Asian-Pacific, European-American, Hispanic, Jewish, Native-American. Searchable in English and Spanish.
PAIS International (Public Affairs Information Service)
1972-present. Lists print and electronic articles, books, and government publications on issues of public policy, including politics, government, economy, marine policy, law.
HAPI: Hispanic American Periodicals Index
1970-present. Lists journal articles on Central and South America, Mexico, the Caribbean, the U.S.-Mexico border region, and Hispanics in the U.S.
Sociological Abstracts
1963-present. Abstracts journal articles, monographs, dissertations, conference proceedings, other research covering sociology, social work, and related social sciences. Also includes selected web resources.
Google Scholar
Search for scholarly publications across disciplines & sources: articles, theses/dissertations, books, and more, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities etc. Use Scholar Settings-->Library Links option to setup "University of California, San Diego - Get it at UC" and if you are searching from off campus, log in to the VPN to get full access to UC San Diego subscribed article content.

UN Resources:

The Main UN website has an amazing amount of information, but can be daunting. One helpful strategy to navigating is to use the A-Z Site Index (under the search box at the top right corner of the page)

UN Library

This link lets you search either in the Dag Hammarskjöld Library (which will point to some print resources -- such as books) that you will have to find elsewhere, OR in the Search for UN Digital Library which includes digitized UN material, such as documents, voting data, speeches, maps, and open access publications.

UN News Centre: Search for UN news by region, topic of focus (Iraq, Middle East, terrorism etc.), or by UN body. Includes press releases, factsheets, maps and other resources.

UN Data

Wide range of economic, social, cultural, and demographic indicators: population, environment, health, economics, technology, trade, refugees, and more.

Annotated Bibliographies

The Handbook of Latin American Studies is an annotated bibliography of sources; you can search with keywords as with a library catalog to identify sources to help you learn more about your topic.

The Latin American Studies Module of Oxford Bibliographies includes bibliographic essays which reference sources on indigenous communities throughout Latin America. Some specialized bibliographies focusing on this subject include:

Latin American Indigenous Studies, Languages and Literature: LTSP 2C Dominguez

LTSP 2C Assignment on Indigenous Cultures

Choose an Indigenous Culture For Your Paper

Online Sources and Databases

Annotated Bibliographies