Skip to main content

GLBH 150A: Global Health Senior Capstone: United Nations Resources

This Guide is designed to assist undergraduate students writing senior theses on topics involving intersections of Anthropology and Global Health

Related Research Guides

The United Nations page of UCSD's International Studies Research Guide provides links to internet and subscription-based resources to access all types of UN information.

The United Nations provide Research Guides on many international topics which are helpful for research on Latin America as a region, or individual countries or regions within Latin America.  UCSD subscribes to many helpful UN resources for identifying and accessing UN materials.

UN-created databases and web resources

Please make sure you check out the additional research guides pointed to in the box on the left. 

Key UN Resources/points of access:

The Main UN website has an amazing amount of information, but can be daunting.  One helpful strategy to navigating is to use the site index (found at the bottom of the homepage).

United Nations Digital Library

Currently, the UNDL incorporates digital content, mainly official UN documents and selected UN maps, with metadata from UNBISnet for UN-produced materials, as well as speech and voting records. Additional collections of digital materials will be added as they are created or are made available to us by UN departments, offices, and agencies.
 
UNBISnet: United Nations Bibliographic Information System on the Internet
Primary UN database, serving as the catalog for the UN libraries as well as providing full text access to many UN documents, Also includes voting records of the General Assembly (38th session, 1983-present) and the Security Council (1946-present). Primary database of the United Nations, offering access to UN documents and publications acquired by the Dag Hammarskjold Library in New York and the UN Library in Geneva. Also included are: commercial publications and other non-UN sources held in the collection of the Dag Hammarskjold Library. 1979 - present with older documents added regularly; Voting Records for resolutions which were adopted by the General Assembly (38th session, 1983 - present) and the Security Council (1946 - present); Citations to speeches made in the General Assembly, the Security Council, the Economic and Social Council and the Trusteeship Council (1983 - present). Many ODS documents can be found in UNBISnet.
NOTE: Firewalls may cause problems in accessing full-text documents.
 
ODS - UN Official Document System
 
UN-I-QUE - United Nations Infoquest
 
United Nations Treaty Collection

In addition, The UN website and subject-specific databases have very useful information on global health.

 

The UN also creates its own, subject-specific databases.  Any of the following may include information on global health issues, trends, events, or case studies: