LibGuides: GLBH 150A: Global Health Senior Capstone: Country Information and Reports

Resources for More In-Depth Country Information

Many of these resources are taken from the Statistics/Data Tab of the UCSD Library International Government Information Research Guide which points to resources to find great background information and statistics on countries around the world. Using such resources is a helpful place to start research on any Latin American country.

Additional resources can be found on the:

Global Policy & Strategy Research Guide (especially on the following pages):

Country Analysis Resources (providing in-depth country political-economic policy, realities, and industry reports)
Country Statistics

United Nations page on this guide also provides guidance on methods and resources to search for significant country information

Resources for Basic Country Information

Great Sources for Quick Profiles/Statistical Information:

CIA World Factbook
Latest edition of annual survey, with profiles of all countries and territories from the U.S. Central Intelligence Agency. Internet Archive version includes captures back to 2007 and archives back to 2000. FDLP Archive version includes downloads back to 2000.

US State Department Countries and Regions
Provides access to Background Information, Fact Sheets, General and Subject-Specific Regional and Country Reports, and Travel Advisory and Information.
Human Development Report
Full text of UNDP Human Development Reports, from 1990 to the next to most current year, plus national Human Development Reports and an excellent statistics section on industrialized and developing countries. Includes the Human Development Index and related indicators for Health, Education, Income/Composition of Resources, Inequality, Gender, Poverty, Work, employment and vulnerability, Human Security, Trade and Financial Flows, Mobility and Communication, Environmental sustainability, Demography, Socio-economic sustainability.

Additional Resources in Alphabetical Order

Country Studies from the Library of Congress
Each online book contains historical and cultural background information on the country it covers. Formerly known as the Area Handbooks from the Department of the Army.

EIU Viewpoint with China Focus City Data
This resource contains background, trends and risk analysis on countries and regions. EIU is known for its global coverage of current political, economic, and business affairs. It features worldwide industry coverage for automotive, consumer goods, energy, financial services, healthcare and telecommunications. This EIU Viewpoint platform also includes “China Focus City Data,” which can be accessed under the “More” tab in the upper right corner of the Viewpoint homepage. Former names: Economist Intelligence Unit (UCSD portal), Access China All Cities
EMIS Next Academic Research (formerly EMIS Intelligence)
Provides economic studies, company & industry reports, country risk, economic and industrial statistics, and political news with a focus on emerging market countries. Covers public & private companies & global industry reports. Includes interactive data analysis tools & news alerts. Excellent China coverage.
Latinnews
Online archive and feed of the complete Latin American Newsletters (London) family of political and economic news and analysis publications. Also known as Latin American Intelligence Service. Earliest coverage reaches back to 1967.

Latin Macro Watch
Macroeconomic and financial database mapping indicators on economic activity, fiscal and external accounts, financial markets, and forecasts. Historical data at monthly, quarterly, and annual frequencies are available starting in 1990 and covers the 26 borrowing members of the Inter-American Development Bank.
Military Balance
Annual publication with detailed statistical information about the world's militaries including budget, enlisted personnel, and firepower.
Political Risk Yearbook
The Political Risk Yearbook is an annual publication that “contains all 100 Political Risk Services’ Country Reports updated to the previous December, demarcated along regional lines, using the globally-recognized Coplin-O’Leary political risk rating methodology.” Included in Business Source Complete.
UN Member States On the Record
Provides direct access to official documents reflecting the views of United Nations Member States by bringing together in one place documents available elsewhere.
USAID
The U.S. Agency for International Development (USAID) is an independent agency that provides economic, development and humanitarian assistance around the world in support of the foreign policy goals of the United States. The site provides an overview of each county where the agency does work.
World Bank Maps
An interactive mashup of World Bank data with geospatial features. Has basic data, news, and project information for every country in which the World Bank is involved.

Latin Macro Watch

Macroeconomic and financial database mapping indicators on economic activity, fiscal and external accounts, financial markets, and forecasts. Historical data at monthly, quarterly, and annual frequencies are available starting in 1990 and covers the 26 borrowing members of the Inter-American Development Bank.

Human Rights Information

Human Rights Information can also provide authoritative indicators and descriptions of conditions in particular countries. The following are good starting points for Human Rights Research

U Minn Human Rights Library

EXCELLENT starting point for your research -- the index/table of contents includes: "Refugee and Asylum Resources"

UN Office of the High Commissioner for Human Rights

Useful Tabs:
Issues By Theme (find migration)
Human Rights By Country

The "Regions," "Topics," and "Reports" tabs are all good places to start

Amnesty International: Countries

Information on Human Rights Issues By Country

Freedom House

The Reports, Regions, and News tabs are all good places to start