SIO 139 - Research in Marine Biology: Encyclopedias & Handbooks

Comprehensive overview of biodiversity (including marine diversity), the services it provides, and the measures to protect it. Major themes among the 400+ articles: evolution of biodiversity, systems for classifying and defining biodiversity, ecological patterns and theories of biodiversity, and an assessment of contemporary patterns and trends in biodiversity.

This comprehensive resource is a good place to start your research on all aspects of oceanography or marine sciences. The 3rd edition, for 2019, includes authoritative information arranged in 6 volumes covering marine biogeochemistry, marine life, ocean dynamics, seafloor processes, technology & instrumentation, and human impact in areas such as pollution and climate change.

This encyclopedia, know as eLS for short, is an easy to search, up-to-date collection of articles by scientists and scientific historians in the fields of biochemistry and physiology, cell biology, ecology, genetics, microbiology, molecular biology and virology.

The Encyclopedia of Earth (EoE) is an electronic reference about the Earth, its natural environments, and their interaction with society. The EoE is a free, expert-reviewed collection of content contributed by scholars, professionals, educators, practitioners and other experts. EOE content is mainly articles on topics, places, and biographies, plus international reports, brief definitions, and some eBooks, videos, and sound files. Topics covered range from biological diversity of living organisms, atmospheric sciences, biogeochemistry, oceanography, ecology, forestry, fisheries, marine biology, agriculture, aquaculture, to environmental engineering, environmental economics, and environmental sociology.

This collection has over 500 marine and aquatic science full text handbooks. Easy to browse and search topics and each book can be downloaded as PDF or read online. These books cover a variety of topics such as aquaculture, biology & ecology of many sea creatures, fish physiology, marine ecosystems, fisheries, and marine toxicology.

This books is described as "a one-of-a-kind examination of oceans that offers important perspectives for researchers, practitioners, and academics in all marine-related fields." It addresses such topics as the role of oceans in the origin of life, tidal bore, thermal effects, ecosystem services, marine creatures, and nutraceutical and pharmaceutical resources. Also included is information on the origin of volcanic eruptions, earthquakes, tsunamis, internal waves and tidal bores.

This book covers conservation issues pertinent to major groups of marine organisms, such as sharks, marine turtles, seabirds and marine mammals; plus key habitats, from estuaries, wetlands and coral reefs to the deep sea; and from local and regional to international initiatives in marine conservation. A great resource for students and researchers that pays appropriate attention to the underlying marine biology and oceanography and how human activities impact marine ecosystems.

This book deals with biodiversity, habitat diversity, structures and food webs in various oceans of the world. It covers pelagic and benthic ecosystems, coral reefs and seagrass beds, and hydrothermal vents & ridges. With chapters dedicated to phytoplankton biodiversity, and coral ecosystems.

Describes the ‘marine microbiome’ and its uses in biotechnology. Reviews marine microbial diversity and their habitats

This book is described as "the most trusted reference for marine mammal conservation medicine and for marine mammal medical facilities around the world." It was written by around 100 contributors who are recognized globally as leaders in their respective fields. This third edition is viewed as the essential guide for all practitioners involved with marine mammals including veterinarians, technicians, biological researchers, students, managers, keepers, curators, and trainers. The 45 chapters cover a wide variety of topics such as pathology, infectious diseases, anesthesia, surgery, husbandry, health assessment, species-specific medicine, and global health concerns such as strandings, oil spills, and entanglements of marine mammals. The book guides the reader through the veterinary care of cetaceans, pinnipeds, manatees, sea otters, and polar bears.