Skip to Main Content
The Library

LTEN 245: 18th and 19th Century Print Cultures: Finding Articles

Finding an Article from a Citation

Use Citation Linker to find articles, books, and other materials at UCSD or UC wide. 

Google Scholar

Google Scholar

Add UCe-links to Google Scholar by clicking on the Menu icon on scholar.google.com. Then open Settings and then Library Links. Search for "University of California, San Diego" , select it, and then click Save. 

Scholarly Articles

Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature (ABELL)
 

MLA International Bibliography 

The primary database of citations to journal articles, monographs, book chapters, and dissertations in the fields of non-Classical
literatures and folklore. Important source for linguistics and non-technical aspects of theater & film. Ca. 1890 - present.

 

Academic Search Complete 
Multidisciplinary database that indexes and abstracts articles in more than 10,900 journals and other publications in English, Spanish, German, French, Italian and Portuguese; full-text is available for over 5300 journals.

 

C19: The Nineteenth Century Index 

A crucial bibliographical megasite for information about books, periodicals, newspapers, and archives from the Nineteenth Century, particularly from Britain and North America.

 

Project Muse: Scholarly Journals Online 

Search by subject or browse full text of scholarly journals in the arts and humanities, social sciences and mathematics. Coverage begins 1995 or later, depending on the publication.

 

Periodicals Index Online 
1665-2000. Index to 16 million articles from 4,700 North American and European scholarly journals in arts, humanities, social sciences; 30 percent non-English language.

 

JSTOR 
Search by subject or browse full text of more than 2000 titles, predominantly scholarly journals in social sciences, humanities, and sciences, to their earliest issues. Many titles extend as far back as late 19th or early 20th centuries; most recent 3-5 years often not included.

Directories

MLA Directory of Periodicals

This directory provides information ABOUT the journals indexed in the MLA International Bibliography. Use this to find a journal devoted to a specific topic.

Name of editor(s), publisher, submission policies, subscription price, whether it is peer-reviewed or not, frequency of publication, and what kinds of articles they are interested in publishing are included.