All of the titles in this list (and more) can be found in the UCSD library catalog, UC Library Search. You can search there to find all the reference works UCSD owns. The majority of the books listed here are electronic. For information on how to access electronic materials remotely, click here.
Encyclopedias and Handbooks
Comprehensive Structural Integrity
Online 10 volume set covers interactions between mechanics/materials and structural integrity: fracture mechanics, fatigue, environmental degradation, numerical methods, failure mechanisms, and nano-technology, and more.
This handbook provides mechanical and manufacturing engineers, designers, draftsmen, machine toolmakers, machinists and students with a broad range of basic and advanced materials.
Encyclopedia of Materials: Science and Technology
Comphrensive encyclopedia (2,200+ articles) covering all aspects of materials science. Searchable, browsable, and each article is accompanied by a bibliography.
Handbook of Civil Engineering Calculations
This handbook presents a comprehensive collection of civil engineering calculation procedures useful to practicing civil engineers, surveyors, structural designers, drafters, candidates for professional engineering licenses, and students.
The Civil Engineering Handbook
This handbook provides a comprehensive reference work and resource book covering the broad spectrum of civil engineering, written with the practicing civil engineer in mind.
CRC Handbook of Structural Engineering
The CRC Handbook of Structural Engineering provides advanced students and practicing engineers with a useful reference to gain knowledge from and seek solutions to a broad spectrum of structural engineering problems.
Oxford English Dictionary
Online version of the Concise OED.
ASTM Dictionary of Engineering Science & Technology
General S&E terms, as well as definitions of all terms used in ASTM standards and documents.
Dictionary of Weights, Measures and Units
Online from Oxford Reference.