Skip to main content

California State Government Information: Collection Info

Guide to California State Government publications and information sources

New CA Government Publications in the Social Sciences and Humanities Library

Loading

Collection Profile

The California state government information collection supports educational, research, and service programs throughout UC San Diego and the community at large. As a Complete Depository Library (defined in California Government Code Section 14905), the library receives on deposit one copy of each state publication, which is defined under Government Code Section 14902 as "any document, compilation, journal, law, resolution, Blue Book, statute, code, register, pamphlet, list, book, report, memorandum, hearing, legislative bill, leaflet, order, regulation, directory, periodical or magazine issued by the state, the Legislature, constitutional officers, or any department, commission or other agency thereof or prepared for the state by private individual or organization and issued in print, and 'print' is defined to include all forms of duplicating other than by the use of carbon paper. The publications of the University of California, however, and intraoffice or interoffice publications and forms shall not be included."

The California Documents collection is housed on the second floor of the Social Sciences and Humanities Library and organized by CALDOC number. There is also a small California Documents Reference section, also organized by CALDOC number, housed in the Social Sciences and Humanites reference collection.
Select titles may be housed outside of the California Documents collection, especially if they were not received through the state depository program, and are scattered throughout the collection.

See the full collection profile.