Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Getting Started with ArcGIS
Expand your knowledge of geospatial concepts through instructor-led, web courses, MOOCs, training seminars and a number of learning platforms. As a UC San Diego affiliate, you have access to a number of training resources through UC San Diego's license agreement.
Learn ArcGIS provides hundreds hands-on tutorials and exercises to teach GIS. These activities showcase the unlimited ways GIS can be applied to the big problems of today. Create and explore cloud-based, interactive maps that turn spatial data into vibrant and meaningful information. Learn about deforestation, climate change, urban development, natural disasters, businesses, and so much more. New resources are constantly being added and are for users at various skill levels.
GIS and Python
Geo Python (Univ. Helsinki course 1)
The Geo-Python course teaches you the basic concepts of programming using the Python programming language in a format that is easy to learn and understand (no previous programming experience required). Each lesson is a tutorial with specific topic(s) where the aim is to gain skills and understanding how to solve common data-related tasks using Python programming (see schedule & learning goals). Course is organized by the Department of Geosciences and Geography at the University of Helsinki.
Automating GIS Processes with Python (Univ. Helsinki course 2)
Automating GIS-processes -course from the University of Helsinki teaches you how to do different GIS-related tasks in Python programming language. Each lesson is a tutorial with specific topic(s) where the aim is to learn how to solve common GIS-related problems and tasks using Python tools. Lessons use publicly avilable data and assumes that you know the basics of Python programming. If Python is not familiar to you, we recommend to start with our earlier course that focuses on learning the basics of Python from geo-python.github.io.
Earth Data Science Courses & Workshops
Earth Data Science Courses & Workshops that are taught as a part of the professional Certificate and Masters program in Earth Data Analytics offered by Earth Lab at the University of Colorado - Boulder. These are free, self-paced courses online. You will also find tutorials using R, Git, and others.
More GIS Tutorials on the Web
ESRI Support Center Home
This should be one of your first resources when stuck on an ArcGIS task or looking for a specialized tool for geoprocessing.
Random GIS Hacks / Tips
Distance in Kilometers from degrees-minutes-seconds
This nice site has a calculator where you can determine the distance in kilometers between two points with DMS information.
Methods for Downloading OpenStreetMap Data
There are several ways to access and download Open Street Map data, but many of these methods can be difficult to use due to their limited functionality or complexity. This article reviews multiple methods for downloading OSM data and evaluate them alongside the QuickOSM plugin for QGIS. [Cartographic Perspectives, NO 95, 2020; DOI: 10.14714/CP95.1633]
Working with Zip Codes
The Trouble with Zip Codes: Solutions for Data Analysis and Mapping
ZIP Codes are commonly used for summarizing address data, as it’s easy to do and most Americans are familiar with them. However, there are a number of challenges associated with using ZIP Codes as a unit of analysis that most people are unaware of (until they start using them). This post summarize these challenges and provides some solutions.
ZIP Code > Census Tracts from UCF Libraries
A libguide that provides resources about Zip Codes and reasons why census tracts should be used over zip codes for analysis.
UCSD Specific Tutorials
Geocoding with ArcGIS Enterprise
Steps required to connect to ArcGIS Enterprise (AGE) and conduct a geocoding task. You can geocode data using the AGE web browser, or connect to the AGE server through the ArcGIS Pro software. You must have an account inside ArcGIS Enterprise to use this server address
NearMap Imagery Access
UC San Diego has access to Nearmap imagery through the San Diego Imagery Consortium. Access the imagery through ArcGIS Pro, ArcGIS Online, or through an API key.
StoryMaps and Groups for Instructors
Information to assist instructors in managing some of the logistics when using StoryMaps for institucional purposes. These settings can also be applied to research groups or other groups who wish to collaboration.
Esri StoryMaps combine interactive maps with text, photos, video and sound to create interactive experiences to communicate your story to others. A UCSD ArcGIS Online Organization account is required to create a StoryMap. StoryMaps published to the public can be viewed by anyone.
Explore Stories (New)
A collection of StoryMaps created by others using the NEW template. Gather ideas and see what's possible.
Blog for all things StoryMaps
Find out new things with StoryMaps.
The Anatomy of a Story: Overview Guide
A detailed guide of the different components of a StoryMap. This is a good overview guide.
Nine Steps to Great Storytelling
Here's a handful of tried-and-true techniques that will make your so-so story start to really resonate with your audience. Some of these are universal storytelling principles; others are more particular to story maps.
What's New in StoryMaps (March 2021)
A blog about what’s new in ArcGIS StoryMaps. A great resource to see the latest features in action. Be sure to check out some of past What's New blogs for other great tips.
Quick tips for mastering the ArcGIS StoryMaps builder
A list of short, simple tips will help you get the most out of the story builder, especially when it comes to smaller features you may have overlooked.
Adding Navigation Bar to StoryMap
StoryMap navigation provides the ability to add a table of contents or bookmark links that let readers jump to different parts of a story. Scroll to this section to learn more and watch a brief video.
Supercharge your stories with map actions
Map actions allow you to enrich your stories with optional map interactions. Map actions are configurable toggle buttons that you can add to any sidecar slide that contains a web map or web scene. When readers select a map action, the appearance of the map changes.
Embedding TimelineJS in a StoryMap (applies to other embed content)
Instructions on how to embed a TimelineJS component in a StoryMap using an Embed block. These steps can be used to embed almost any content into a StoryMap
Release notes - StoryMaps
ArcGIS StoryMaps is regularly updated with new features, enhancements, bug fixes, and performance improvements. These release notes list the updates for each ArcGIS StoryMaps release with the most recent update shown first.
Survey123 for ArcGIS is a complete, form-centric solution for creating, sharing and analyzing surveys. Use it to create smart forms with skip logic, defaults, and support for multiple languages. Collect data via web or mobile devices, even when disconnected from the Internet. Analyze results quickly, and upload data securely for further analysis.
Basic Steps for Creating Survey123 (Desktop and Browser)
Provides the basic steps for creating a Survey123 in either the desktop tool called Connect or the browser-based form. Toggle between the two using the options at the top.
Learn Lessons -- Survey123
A collection of lessons from Learn ArcGIS that are real-world lessons for learning Survey123. Includes getting started, designing one in multiple languages and more.
GeoNet Survey 123
The GeoNet Survey123 group is where you can find the latest information on Survey123 for ArcGIS, ask questions, and participate in discussions.
Youtube Survey123 video playlist tutorials
A collection of short videos for creating surveys and incorporating advanced functionality into your own survey. Updated frequently with new videos.