Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Constitution Day at UC San Diego
In 2004, the U.S. Congress established September 17 as Constitution Day, to commemorate and celebrate the and signing of the Constitution on September 17, 1787, at the Constitutional Convention in Philadelphia.
One provision of the new law was that colleges and universities around the country should offer educational resources to better understand the Constitution as a founding document of the U.S. political and social order.
Constitution Day at UC
Go to the collection of resources put together by the statewide office of the University of California
Additional Research Tools
World Constitutions Illustrated
Includes the current constitution of every country in the world in its original language and at least one English translation.
CQ Press Electronic Library This link opens in a new window
Find reporting, analysis on Congressional issues in the news and coverage of the status of bills, votes and amendments, floor and committee activity, and backroom maneuvering. Includes:
CQ Researcher Plus Archive
Political Handbook of the World
Politics in America
Supreme Court Yearbook
Voting and Elections Collection
United States Constitution on the Web
Activities and Classroom Resources
Constitution Center - Constitution Day
Includes an all-day webcast, a copy of the naturalization test and a "which founding father are you?" quiz.
Department of Defense Constitution Day and Citizenship Day Website & Course
Includes Justice Sandra Day O'Connor, Associate Justice (Ret.) of the U.S. Supreme Court, speaking to all Defense Department personnel on Constitution Day and Citizenship Day and interactive exercises/online course.
Government, Law & Politics Lesson Plan Resources from the Library of Congress
Teacher-created, classroom-tested lesson plans using primary sources from the Library of Congress. Covers the Constitution, Bill of Rights, and Declaration of Independence.
Teaching With Documents: Observing Constitution Day from the National Archives
The National Archives and Records Administration celebrates this important day in our nation's history by presenting the following activities, lesson plans, and information.
New York Times American Democracy Project - Constitution Day Planning Guide
Includes programming and planning ideas, and links to web tools and resources aimed at a variety of audiences.
Celebrate Constitution Day from Scholastic
Info is geared primarily for K-12, but includes games and interviews.
Constitution Day from the US Courts
Includes videos, podcasts, and other resources on jury service and the Constitutional guarantee of trial by jury.