Brandwatch, formerly Crimson Hexagon, is a web-based library of social media posts (updated in real-time) and social media analysis software platform. Posts can be searched using keywords and then either downloaded for off-line analysis with third party tools or analyzed using Brandwatch's data visualizations.
UC San Diego subscribes to Brandwatch (Crimson Hexagon) for “Scholarly and Educational Purposes” – which includes teaching, research, and institutional needs.
Read This First
UC San Diego-affiliated users of Brandwatch (Crimson Hexagon) may
- use, reproduce, distribute, perform, and display
- research methodology
- summary data
- Consumer Research (fomerly Forsight) reports
in connection only with
- conference presentations
- future research
Ownership of data
- Online content (e.g. blogs, forum posts, etc.) created by third parties that are collected by the Consumer Research (ForSight) Platform, including the raw data, is the property of the original author or source site.
- Brandwatch (Crimson Hexagon) exclusively owns all rights, title and interest in and to all summary data provided on the Consumer Research (ForSight) platform.
- UC San Diego users exclusively own all right, title and interest in any of their own original works of authorship based on the Brandwatch (Crimson Hexagon) summary data or Consumer Research (ForSight) Reports.
- A user’s Consumer Research (ForSight) Reports, summary data, and/or raw data may be similar or identical to those produced for or by any user if Queries (Monitors) are initiated within the relevant time period utilizing similar or identical parameters.
In all cases, users of reports, analyses, output or other materials or information generated or produced by the Brandwatch (Crimson Hexagon) Consumer Research (ForSight) Platform are expected to provide proper citation: "Source: Brandwatch" or “Source: Crimson Hexagon.”
Users agree that they
- will not redistribute or create derivative works of Twitter Data.
Brandwatch (Crimson Hexagon) may immediately terminate UC San Diego’s access to and continued retention of Twitter Content in the event that any UC San Diego user is
- using the Twitter Content in a manner that is otherwise harmful to the Content, Twitter or Twitter’s users.
- will not access the Consumer Research (ForSight) Platform or API in order to
- build a competitive product or service or copy any features, functions or graphics of the Consumer Research (ForSight) Platform.
- modify, decompile, disassemble, reverse engineer, translate or otherwise attempt to derive the source code or the underlying ideas, algorithms, structure or organizational form of the Consumer Research (ForSight) Platform.
- create derivative works based on the Consumer Research (ForSight) Platform.
- copy, frame or mirror any part or content of the Consumer Research (ForSight) Platform or Consumer Research (ForSight) Reports, other than copying or framing Consumer Research (ForSight) Reports onto UC San Diego intranets or otherwise for UC San Diego internal business purposes and/or individual users’ scholarly and educational purposes.
- remove or alter any proprietary notices or marks on the Consumer Research (ForSight) Platform, API, Consumer Research (ForSight) Reports, summary data or raw data.
- will not use any Klout Data (in aggregate form or otherwise)
- in connection with any online advertising network, advertising exchange, or data broker, even if the subject of such Klout Data consents to such use
- for targeting ads to users, nor provide it in any cookies, pixels, or other common online advertising technologies
- except as expressly authorized, copy, disclose, rent, lease, sell, transfer, distribute, assign, sublicense, disassemble, reverse engineer or decompile (except to the limited extent expressly authorized by applicable statutory law), modify or alter any Klout Data.
- Note: Klout data is no longer available, but may be included in legacy datasets.
To request an account, please send an email from your UC San Diego email address with a short (paragraph) description of your research project to Annelise Sklar. We will then contact you to discuss your specific needs and set up your account. Due to limited capacity, we cannot guarantee that all researchers will be granted immediate access to the service. We can currently only offer Brandwatch accounts to users with a UC San Diego email address.
Queries (formerly Monitors)
Though all UC San Diego faculty, staff, and students are eligible for Brandwatch (Crimson Hexagon) accounts, our subscription only has 56 queries (simultaneous searches) for all users to share.
Please be considerate of your fellow users.
- Please use the following naming convention: Initials – (NAME OF MONITOR) – Keep until (DATE FILE CAN BE REMOVED)
For example, AYS – Geisel - Keep until 1/31/16
- Delete your queries once you are done with them so that they can be available for other users.
- Librarians may contact you about deleting your queries if all monitors are in use and additional users have research needs. The Library reserves the right to delete old queries as deemed necessary.
Our Brandwatch subscription currently includes historic data back to 2010.
Queries returning extremely high mention volumes will be automatically sampled. To determine which queries are sampled, Brandwatch looks at the daily volume of conversation for the 30 days prior to query creation. If five or more days have a daily volume greater than 30,000 mentions, the query is sampled. If less than five days have a daily volume above 30,000 mentions, no sampling will be applied.
Data sources (For the most up to date lists and descriptions, check the General Coverage page)
- Twitter: As a "Twitter Official Partner" Brandwatch ingests and stores the entire Twitter firehose, providing access to all public tweets, retweets and replies, plus promoted tweets. Crimson Hexagon included full Twitter Firehose (all public tweets) through a direct partnership with Twitter beginning July 2010. Twitter content via the Gardenhose from July 2009.
- Reddit: Provides access to full Reddit data for all active sub-Reddits from 13 November 2019, retrieved in near real-time. Brandwatch provides access to ~85% of the top sub-Reddits prior to 13 November 2019. Starting 19 January 2020, Brandwatch also collects the "Reddit Score" on all Reddit posts/comments going forward.
- Tumblr: Full Tumblr Firehose through a direct partnership with Tumblr back to Dec 2014, including text, photo and video mentions. These mentions will include timestamp, author handle and full text metadata.
- Tencent QQ: QQ news articles with comments are available dating to January 9, 2018. The Brandwatch library consists of the news articles that attracted the largest volume of conversation, i.e. only the articles that have comments.
- YouTube: Includes mentions dating to February 2012. Mentions include: comments text beneath YouTube videos (the majority of the data), video descriptions text, and metadata (author name, video title [available ~80% of the time], link to the video with deep links to comment.
- News: Includes coverage of popular news sites and many smaller local news sites, including: CNN, ABC, BuzzFeed, Guardian, Google News, Washington Post, MSN, Independent, The Times, BBC, Forbes, Daily Mail, ESPN, Metro, USA Today, Stuff.NZ, India Times, Stock Observer, Yahoo News, Fox News, NBC and more.
- Blogs: Covers millions of blogs, with data going back to 2010, including: WordPress, Medium, Blogger, Typepad, TMZ, IGN, Engaged, Business Wire, Mashable, Techcrunch, Kottke, Business Insider, Gizmodo, IMDB, LifeHacker, The Verge, Hardwarezone, TechRadar and more.
- Forums: Includes thousands of forums, with data going back to 2010, including: Yahoo Answers, Mumsnet, MyFitnessPal, Psychology Today, AVforums, Stack Overflow, Goodreads, Investopedia, GameSpot, FlyerTalk, Tianya, Naver, MacRumors, MoneySaving Expert, Market Watch, GlassDoor, The Student Room, Steam Community and more.
- Reviews: Brandwatch collects around 70M reviews per month from a range of review sites including Google Reviews, Review Centre, Reviews.io, eBay, CNET, Amazon, TrustPilot and more, using our third-party data providers.
- BW Web Crawled
- Pages: Search for content on specific Facebook pages (not user profiles)
- Use Channels to track Facebook pages, gathering data from one source.
- Legacy Instagram: Instagram data collected by Brandwatch before Facebook restricted access to this data in December 2018. Please be aware that by selecting this inactive content source, you will likely see a volume drop for any analysis of a date range that is after December 11th 2018.
- Hashtags: Instagram data can be queried by hashtag after authenticating with an Instagram Business Account. A query can track up to 30 hashtags.
- Use Channels to track Instagram pages and profiles, gathering data from one source. Requires authentication with an Instagram Business Account.
- VK Keywords: Russian online social media and social networking service. (Requires additional setup.)
Brandwatch (Crimson Hexagon) has an API that connects to a monitor you’ve already run in the Consumer Research (ForSight) planform.
More info (https://developers.brandwatch.com/)