Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The Book of the States by Since 1933, CSG has served as a resource for state leaders and a catalyst for innovation and excellence in state governance. The Book of the States has been the reference tool of choice since 1935, providing relevant, accurate and timely information, answers and comparisons for all 56 states, commonwealths and territories of the United States.
Call Number: Research Assistance Desk, Geisel Floor2 West JK2403 .B724
Publication Date: 1935-
National Survey of State Laws This link opens in a new window
Database version of Rich Leiter's National Survey of State Laws. Provides an overall view of some of the most sought-after and controversial legal topics in the United States. Users are able to make basic state-by-state comparisons of current state laws. The new 7th edition, along with the 6th and 5th editions, are included in database format, which also allows users to compare the same laws as they existed in 2005, 2008 and 2015
Subject Compilations of State Laws This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive source for identifying articles, books, government documents, loose-leaf services, court opinions and Internet sites that compare state laws on hundreds of subjects
HeinOnline This link opens in a new window
Full text of law reviews/legal periodicals plus primary sources such as the Code of Federal Regulations; Federal Register; Foreign Relations of the United States (FRUS); Treaties and Agreements Library; United States Code; U.S. Attorney General Opinions; U.S. Congressional Documents; U.S. Federal Agency Documents, Decisions, and Appeals; U.S. Federal Legislative History Library; U.S. Statutes at Large; State Session Laws Library; State Statutes: A Historical Archive; World Constitutions Illustrated; World Treaty Library. Includes additional databases: National Survey of State Laws; Subject Compilations of State Laws; Immigration Law & Policy in the U.S.; Indigenous Peoples of the Americas: History, Culture & Law; Women and the Law (Peggy); Religion and the Law;
LLMC Digital This link opens in a new window
LLMC is a non-profit cooperative of libraries dedicated to preserving and making accessible legal titles and government documents. Includes the Statutes at Large and US federal, US state, and foreign legislative, executive, and judicial materials.
Bill, legislator, and committee tracker with bulk downloads and API. A product of the Sunlight Foundation.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Nexis Uni contains thousands of full-text sources including newspapers, wires, transcripts, newsletters, magazines, trade journals; also industry news, company information, law reviews, court decisions, statutes. Coverage dates vary. International and U.S. sources. (Previously called Lexis Nexis Academic).
To track bills (back to 1990) in Nexis Uni:
1. Go to advanced search
2. Choose the legal tab
3. Scroll down and choose Statutes and Legislation
4. Choose US Bill Tracking
5. Search by keyword. To find enacted legislation, change the search box field to Bill Activity Status and use the keyword: signed
6. Choose a date range, probably a calendar year. (Nexis Uni will not return more than 10,000 results)
7. If your are looking at particular states, start typing in the name of a state in the source box and then choose the source that appears
8. Click search
Westlaw Campus Research This link opens in a new window
Full text access to federal and state court cases, laws and regulations; law reviews, legal periodicals, and encyclopedias; European Union legal documents; and legal guides. Also includes some news sources.
Guides to State Laws and Government Information